We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, Quiet, and Restful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Asheville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
Ranked #21 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Quiet, and Restful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a good experience at this HIEX in Asheville. This was after an evening of performing music at the Candlelight Christmas Tour of Biltmore House. I really needed quiet, and a comfortable bed, and that is exactly what we got that night!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tromboneguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We understand our guests need for quiet, comfortable and clean rooms. These are the basics of a hotel. We also enjoy giving our guests great service and I feel our staff is very knowledgeable about the Asheville area. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon! Warmest regards, Ellen Pettigrew, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    193
    55
    16
    8
See reviews for
150
183
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

By no means luxurious, but with a last minute holiday booking in Asheville it was an easy option. Fairly convenient to downtown Asheville (about 20 mins) and the Biltmore Estate (also 20 mins). Nice lobby area with nice front desk staff member. The rooms are old and not particularly aesthetically appealing. The sheets appeared clean but the overlying blanket was dirty. The super weird thing was that the coffee maker was in the bathroom, next to the toilet, instead of in the bedroom area (the ideal place would have been above the fridge). Parking was easy. It was pretty quiet overall. The continental breakfast was ok. For $134 it was definitely overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbtravels35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. It is with great pleasure to announce our hotel's renovation starting next week. This will be a major renovation including all carpets, beds, furniture, TVs. etc. Please come back to see the newly refreshed hotel! Warmest regards, Ellen Pettigrew, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

My wife and I decided to stay at this Holiday Inn Express for our one-year anniversary and we were very pleased with the accomodations. Various members of the staff were pleasant and easy to work with. They fulfilled a floor request with no problem, and we were greeted with a smile and a warm welcome.

The Continental Breakfast was absolutely wonderful. I agree with others who think that your cinnamon rolls are fantastic.

The hotel was in a wonderful location, just minutes from the Biltmore House and from downtown Asheville. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will likely stay at this property if we are back in Asheville. Thanks so much!

Room Tip: Odd-numbered rooms will have the better view, but even-numbered rooms were more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
I agree our cinnamon rolls are the best! Thank you for your great review and we hope to see you soon. Warmest regards, Ellen Pettigrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was out first Holiday Inn Express visit and we both were impressed. Check-in was a breeze and the staff was very friendly, especially, the late night desk clerk, Charles. The place was so clean, it was like staying at a brand new hotel. Price was well within boundaries of this market area and we felt like we got the best bang for our buck. After this visit, we will make a point at staying at another Holiday Inn Express. Did I mention the staff being friendly and professional?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AugWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you so much for such a great review! Our hotel staff is very caring, knowledgeable and gives first class service. We have a wonderful location and we take pride in our hotel. Please come back again and again! Warmest regards, Ellen Pettigrew, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

When I booked I requested 2 queen beds. When my husband, teenage daughter and myself walked into the room it was a king. Manager told us since we booked through third party, Hotwire, that we couldn't be guaranteed what we would get. However, he understood our need for comfort and after a 10 minute wait, he accommodated us with a nice room with 2 queen beds. The toiletries are Bath and Body Works, shower is terrific and there's a microwave and frig. Great value, walk to ALL...supermarket and good chain restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Our hotel always takes that extra step to accommodate our guests. Most third party bookings do not guarantee bed type and that doesn't work sometimes. I am glad you had a wonderful time at our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Warmest regards, Ellen Pettigrew, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waretown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Super great location, pretty much a 10 minute drive or less to wherever you need to go. Super clean hotel, super spotless room. Great size room, large bathroom. Very comfy bed. The breakfast area was spotless and so convenient! Food was great! There was a soda and ice machine near the elevator on our floor. Staff was very friendly & accommodating. They even have pre-printed directions to the Biltmore that they are more than happy to give you! I will stay here again and definitely recommend this hotel to friends & family!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Biki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Our hotel does have a great location and our staff really takes pride in our hotel also. Since there is so much to do in Asheville please come back soon! We are looking forward to your return. Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Once ad at this very nice hotel. We were only there 2 nights, and were treated excellent.
The room was clean, they were very flexible with check in and checking out. We will always look there first when visiting Aseville

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bean51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your great review! Our staff takes great care to accommodate our guests. We hope you enjoyed Asheville and come back soon! Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - I-26 Biltmore Area
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Asheville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Asheville
Address: 1 Wedgefield Drive, Asheville, NC 28806-2225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Asheville
#21 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Asheville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you re coming to Asheville for business or just for pleasure, relax in our warmly decorated hotel conveniently located to all of Asheville s major interstates, area attractions and just minutes from downtown. Relax at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in our large atrium lobby with a cozy fireplace or enjoy our Jacuzzi spa after working out in our fitness center, outside track or outdoor pool. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites offers a complimentary Hot continental breakfast in the morning and freshly baked cookies and beverage in the afternoon. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites we offer a variety of packages for groups to the individual traveler including the Biltmore Estate, NC Arboretum, Blue Ridge Parkway, Chimney Rock Park plus golf, white water rafting and downtown shopping adventures. Catch up for work or pleasure at our two complimentary 24 hour business centers with printers or bring your laptop and take advantage of our free high speed wireless internet access. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is an excellent choice for your next meeting. Our meeting room can accommodate up to 36 people and we have available A/V equipment and a variety of catering menus. Our hotel offerstour operator, group, AAA and Senior discounted rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall Hotel Asheville
Holiday Inn Asheville
Biltmore Square Mall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing