We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn Express. The rooms are nice, staff members were helpful, and the breakfast was good. It is a pretty good location. The Biltmore is about a 10-minute drive; those wanting to be closer to the Biltmore and downtown area may wish to choose a place closer to that part of town. We did not try the pool or the exercise room. There is a small mall practically across the street, which was very emply people-wise but it had a decent selection of stores for its size.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AGeorgiaReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    195
    55
    16
    8
See reviews for
151
183
9
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2008

I booked this hotel after reading the reviews and I was very happy with my decision. I had never stayed at a Holiday Inn Express before so I wasn’t sure what to expect. I stayed 2 nights and paid $94 for Sunday night and $81 for Monday night. I thought this was a little high but it was spring break and every place else I checked was way over $100 per night. The lobby and eating area is very, very nice. The breakfast was great and had a lot more items then what I expected. The room is your basic hotel room. Bed was great and I really liked the idea of no bedspread, just the blanket in between 2 sheets. After reading articles about how dirty and how many germs are found on hotel comforters and bedspreads I think Holiday Inn has an excellent solution for that problem. It’s great having a soft and a firm pillow on the bed so you have a choice. The bathroom was spotless and the towels were big and fluffy. The carpet looked like it could use a cleaning but otherwise everything was very clean. I really liked that the windows actually could be opened. This hotel is across from the Biltmore Square mall but don’t waste your time going there. It’s mostly empty stores and the Dillards is just a clearance center and not really a store. You can find a bargain if you enjoy looking through racks and racks of stuff.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank TS9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
513 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2008

I had changed my hotel from the Comfort Suites to this property after reading Trip Advisor reviews panning the Comfort and extolling the HI Express. It lived up to this evaluation as it was clean, affordable, at the end of the freeway ramp, and had a nice breakfast.

  • Liked — All aspects of a hotel of this genre.
  • Disliked — A little tricky to find the driveway.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sliphorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2008

Pretty much the same as any other Holiday Inn Express; good room with a comfortable bed, clean and pretty quiet. We were in Asheville in the Biltmore's offseason, which may explain the very good price we got. We booked a normal King room for my wife's parents and the Whirlpool King Room for ourselves. Both rooms had a good bed, TV, fridge, and microwave. Our room had a balcony with a view of a Mall (which was nice, we could pick out a place for dinner from our room). The whirlpool tub was basically a soaking tub with jets (someday we'll find a real two-person tub somewhere we stay!), but we only payed $5 more anyway and the extra space was nice. We used the indoor hot-tub, which was nice and fairly clean.

Location was good, close to shopping, food, and the Biltmore. The roads in Asheville are confusing (make sure you get East and West right, because the major road numbers you intersect are the same either direction!) but that isn't the hotel's fault. The sign can be a bit easy to miss, as it is mixed in with three other hotels right around it.

  • Liked — Price, overall quality
  • Disliked — Fingerprints on the microwave (My wife is picky)
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank demigrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2008

Although the hotel has been recently renovated and the physical facility is great, it's tough to overlook the negative attitude that seems to permeate the staff.

We booked the hotel through the Biltmore's website, and assumed (incorrectly) that the hotel would have a similar style of gracious hospitality that we've always enjoyed at the Biltmore. We were not expecting anything more than a budget, business-oriented hotel, but from the moment we arrived, we felt as though we were bothering the staff with our very presence.

When we requested a room change (king bed vs. two doubles), the front desk clerk made it clear that he couldn't change the room, since the Biltmore had made the reservation. When we inquired if it involved a price difference (which we were willing to pay), or the hotel was full, he said "no, it's just not possible". After going in circles with him, and not getting a real answer, he changed our room, but made it clear that he didn't like two people in our party of four.

As part of our Biltmore package, we were to pick up Biltmore materials at the hotel. When we inquired about those materials, we were told they were not at the hotel, he couldn't help us, and that we should talk to the people at the Biltmore estate.

During breakfast the next morning, which was inedible, we got to listen to the two breakfast attendants commiserate about the added work they had to do, unwrapping some new equipment that had been sent, while making it clear that there were maintenance people who should do that.

The icing on the cake came at checkout, with the same desk clerk (Scott). As one of our party approached the desk to checkout, the phone rang. Scott said to another clerk, "Perfect timing...you have to take him," loudly enough for us all to hear.

Fortunately the desk staff at the Biltmore estate were outstanding, and handled our ticketing issues very quickly, and with dozens of apologies. They confirmed that the materials had been sent to the hotel the morning prior to our arrival.

  • Liked — The renovated facility
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Timandfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2008

Hotel was great. Very clean. Staff extremely nice. Room clean and comfortable. Shower head and water pressure excellent. Great Stay and we will be back.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Remote for TV
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crash0473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2008

This hotel was pleasant and a great value for the area. It definitely is well managed. I choose this hotel because of the great rate and amenities. It was very clean, recently renovated and had a continental breakfast included. The room was quiet, no outside noise at all. It had 2 queen beds, which is great since most of the hotels around Asheville offer 2 double beds. I liked the fact that they did not use "bedspreads", but rather a blanket between 2 very nice quality sheets. The bed and pillows, all fairly new, were the most comfortable I've ever had in a hotel, including 4 & 5 star hotels on 2 continents. The bathroom was large with high quality accessories, plenty of towels and granite countertops. The room also had a refrigerator. The breakfast was good, with ample seating. They also had 2 large flatscreen TV's while breakfasting. Hardboiled eggs, toast, bagels, muffins, cereals, fresh fruit selection, Oatmeal & various other options. All for a nightly price of $67.00. I booked my reservation through the Priority Club online site. It was only a 10 minute ride to downtown and the Biltmore estate. I will stay here everytime I am visiting Asheville. Also, they offer delicious cookies at the front desk every afternoon/evening.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank CATRNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - I-26 Biltmore Area
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Asheville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Asheville
Address: 1 Wedgefield Drive, Asheville, NC 28806-2225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Asheville
#21 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Asheville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you re coming to Asheville for business or just for pleasure, relax in our warmly decorated hotel conveniently located to all of Asheville s major interstates, area attractions and just minutes from downtown. Relax at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in our large atrium lobby with a cozy fireplace or enjoy our Jacuzzi spa after working out in our fitness center, outside track or outdoor pool. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites offers a complimentary Hot continental breakfast in the morning and freshly baked cookies and beverage in the afternoon. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites we offer a variety of packages for groups to the individual traveler including the Biltmore Estate, NC Arboretum, Blue Ridge Parkway, Chimney Rock Park plus golf, white water rafting and downtown shopping adventures. Catch up for work or pleasure at our two complimentary 24 hour business centers with printers or bring your laptop and take advantage of our free high speed wireless internet access. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is an excellent choice for your next meeting. Our meeting room can accommodate up to 36 people and we have available A/V equipment and a variety of catering menus. Our hotel offerstour operator, group, AAA and Senior discounted rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall Hotel Asheville
Holiday Inn Asheville
Biltmore Square Mall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing