We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Clean & Courteous” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Asheville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Asheville
Ranked #21 of 62 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
mass
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Clean & Courteous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here for a full week, and it was very nice. The room was nice and roomy. The staff were attentive, and the location was ideal. Basic Hot Breakfast in the morning, and delicious cookies in the afternoon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bean51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We love good reviews.
Have a wonderful New Year!
Sincerely, Elleh Pettigrew, Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    185
    52
    16
    8
See reviews for
146
176
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was our second time staying at this location and for price, quality and location, it's great. Wish they had an indoor pool, but then again, with so much to do in the area, don't know when we'd find more than a half hour to use it!
Housekeeping needs to pay attention to cleaning BEHIND the door to the room in 518! You can see 1/4 inch of dust and dirt that doesn't get taken care of because they prop the door open when they clean. Was dissapointed that dirty cups and plates with dried up food weren't removed from the room the next day, and greeted us upon returning after 12 hours of siteseeing. I guess we should clean up after ourselves a little better.
The breakfast is awesome, and the lady with the tattoos does an incredable job keeping it all hot, clean and orderly. She should have a tip jar! We missed her Sunday morning, as the 2 young ladies working together needed guidance. Had to ask for tea bags, stirrers, sausage and plasticware. They were out of thier element and busy chatting in the back room most of the time.
On the whole, this is a great place and I have shared the location with several co-workers and friends to stay there. The access to the city, interstates and venues is great, and the price is acceptable. Beds are comfortable, but be advised, KING ROOMS are at the elevators! If you don't want to hear them, ask for another assignment! Parking lot is well lit for late arrival also. Enjoy!! We did, and will again in the future!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lexy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
I greatly appreciate return guests. They reaffirm that we have a great hotel.
Have a wonderful holiday and we are looking forward to seeing you soon!
Warmest regards, Ellen Pettigrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here this weekend. It was a holiday weekend so the area was very busy. All the hotels we checked were extremely overpriced or either had no availability. Not only was Holiday Inn Express in a great location, convenient to the downtown area and to Biltmore and the Blue Ridge Pkwy, it was reasonably priced. First of all, the agents at the front desk were so nice and helpful! We had a great room with a beautiful view and a small balcony. The room was very clean and modern. Beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. The breakfast bar had a lot to choose from with hot and cold items offered. We will most definitely stay here again when in the area!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor on the end (nearest the road) and I can't imagine we could have had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thood34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
All of us at the hotel love to hear great reviews. Thank you so much for your kind comments.
We look forward to your return visit. Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach
Level Contributor
285 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Attended a conference held here so had to stay at this hotel. It is next to a Fairfield Inn which I would have probably preferred. The staff was friendly here and helpful. However, the rooms all had the noisiest heating/cooling systems. Everytime it came on, it was as if a truck was being driving thru the room. Even the meeting room, we had to turn it off to hear the speakers and then it got very hot and stuffy. Aslo when they cleaned the room in which I was staying they left crumbs on the rug and that was not so nice. So I cleaned up myself. I mean it was ok experience but there are many other places to stay in Asheville that I would prefer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley0415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I understand you have many choices to stay when in Asheville. I am sorry your room wasnt cleaned as well as it should have been and I will be looking into that situation. I am glad you enjoyed other things at our hotel and in Asheville.
Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel was very clean, comfortable and the breakfasts were awesome! We were close to the interstate in Asheville, NC. which allowed us to drive to many destinations. Going out to eat, Blue Ridge Parkway, National Parks, Gem mines, and some Apple Farms. We visited a couple of Apple Orchards, Rode the Parkway, rode an elevator 23 stories to the top of mountain in a national park and slid down Sliding Natural Rock into a cold stream. Great place for anyone to stay and Ashville, NC is a place to experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bifflefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Great review! It is always wonderful to hear good things because we try very hard to maintain a high standard of excellence. We have a wonderful location being close to many area attractions.
Thank you again and we are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Warmest regards, Ellen Pettigrew, Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
435 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I've stayed in a number of Holiday Inn Express properties this year and this one needs some updating. It was clean, but the carpets were dingy and there were other items in need of repair. We were there on a Sunday morning and the breakfast area was mobbed. It was better on Monday but the food is almost identical each day and really not that good once you've had it on several occasions. The best part of the stay was the bed. It was super comfortable. Other than that I'd check into staying else were on a future visit to Asheville.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highdesertbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time for your review. We offer 7 choices in hot food but have over 35 items on the buffet. I agree it is somewhat limited in the hot item category. I am glad that your overall review was positive and we would appreciate a return visit.
Sincerely, Ellen Pettigrew, Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Hill, Kentucky
Level Contributor
220 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a good stay here, nice folks at the front desk, clean room, fair price for peak season. We would stay here again and I would recommend it to anyone. Close to the BRP and Biltmore but a little far from downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patiodadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejpettigrew, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Asheville, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We take pride in our employees. They go to great lengths to help our guests have an enjoyable stay. We are close to most attractions and very close to both I-26 and I-40.
Thank you for staying here and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Ellen Pettigrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn-Asheville Biltmore West
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - I-26 Biltmore Area
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Asheville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Asheville
Address: 1 Wedgefield Drive, Asheville, NC 28806-2225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Asheville
#21 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Asheville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you re coming to Asheville for business or just for pleasure, relax in our warmly decorated hotel conveniently located to all of Asheville s major interstates, area attractions and just minutes from downtown. Relax at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in our large atrium lobby with a cozy fireplace or enjoy our Jacuzzi spa after working out in our fitness center, outside track or outdoor pool. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites offers a complimentary Hot continental breakfast in the morning and freshly baked cookies and beverage in the afternoon. At the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites we offer a variety of packages for groups to the individual traveler including the Biltmore Estate, NC Arboretum, Blue Ridge Parkway, Chimney Rock Park plus golf, white water rafting and downtown shopping adventures. Catch up for work or pleasure at our two complimentary 24 hour business centers with printers or bring your laptop and take advantage of our free high speed wireless internet access. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is an excellent choice for your next meeting. Our meeting room can accommodate up to 36 people and we have available A/V equipment and a variety of catering menus. Our hotel offerstour operator, group, AAA and Senior discounted rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Asheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall Hotel Asheville
Holiday Inn Asheville
Biltmore Square Mall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing