We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BUGS”
Review of Sleep Inn West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn West
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Found a bug as big as my little finger in the bed and manager did NOTHING!! Got just a oops sorry. Actually hav the GALL to tell me it was a cricket. I'm not stupid I know what a cricket looks like and this was NO CRICKET. Plus there is black mold in the shower
DON'T STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank South_2_North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnAGM, Front Desk Manager at Sleep Inn West, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2009

We apologize for your recent experience here at the Sleep Inn. Immediately after your checkout, the general manager carefully inspected your room but found no more bugs. We also contacted our pest control company, who inspected the room but found no evidence of any bug problem. A city health department representative also came the following day and we asked her to inspect your room, along with the random rooms she was required to inspect, and she also did not find any sign of a bug problem. We were therefore led to believe this was not indicative of a larger insect problem, and was an isolated incident.

However, we realize this must have been an unpleasant experience and we are truly sorry... but please be aware we did take immediate and thorough action to address your problem!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (956)
There are newer reviews for Sleep Inn West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

919 - 925 of 956 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2009

My husband & I stayed three nights at the Sleep Inn West on a nice get away vacation. The room was a good size, nice comfy king bed, clean as a whistle EVERYwhere, microwave & refrigerator in our room, great morning breakfast, helpful staff, lobby laptop and printer for checking our flights and boarding passes and all of this priced WAY better than anyone comparable. It is a bit out of the way and off the highway, but made for nice quiet nights. We had no complaints at all (but one suggestion to the staff: not everyone is a coffee drinkers; we thought it would have been nice to also put a few tea bags into the in-room coffee service tray). We would recommend and will probably stay again!! Loved Asheville!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JNP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnAGM, Front Desk Manager at Sleep Inn West, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2009

Thank you for your comments! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. I will relay your suggestion to put some tea bags in the coffee service trays to our general manager... hopefully we can implement it before your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

My friends and I have stayed at this hotel 4 times. The first 3 were great. Obviously, because we're repeat customers. I guess we've always been put on the top floor. This 4th time we were put on the 2nd floor. As soon as I got there it sounded like someone was jumping off the beds from the floor above us at 9pm. I had us moved immediately. We were moved to the 1st floor. The people above us didn't get home until 2 am and then all 3 or 4 of them took showers before going to bed. They were back up at 7 am jumping off the beds again. The same thing happened the next night. Needless to say, we didn't get a lot of sleep either night. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hughje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

I was staying at this hotel with a group of teens ona ski trip. After the first night. two of the girls in my room complained of a rash, itching at the insides of the elbows and on their legs. I thought about bedbugs but dismissed it as teens complaining. The next night, I was awakened at 3:40 with something biting on the top of my foot. It felt like a large mosquito bite. I immediately got up, dressed and reported this personally to the front dest. The attendant was nice but had never heard of bedbugs! So....I'm in the lobby now, reporting the bedbugs and waiting for morning when everyone in our group is up and moving around. I will NOT stay here another night, we'll see what happens. Beware, do NOT stay at Sleep Inn West, Asheville, NC!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smsalabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2008

Smoking rooms smelled terrible. Comforter on top of sheets smelled badly of smoke, obviously not washed. Carpets were stained. Cigarette burn in sheet. Bed was comfortable, staff was nice enough. Won't stay here again though.

Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Littlefootann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

Stayed one night at the Sleep Inn West. I was concerned about the construction which I learned about after we made our reservation, but we took a chance as it was last minute trip and there were no other options. Hotel is fine, clean and comfortable. We originally were assigned a room on the first floor away from the construction, but still facing it. We could faintly hear some noise and we were able to change our room to the other side of the hall. We could not hear a sound after we moved. Did not eat the breakfast, to many great places to eat downtown, but it looked ok. Staff friendly I would stay there again if nothing closer to downtown were available.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sak706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

This is a nice hotel with interior rooms and an elevator. Our room was clean, quiet and small. We stayed in the front part of the hotel. Many restaurants on the backside. There was a refrig/mirco that stuck out into the room. No table, no tub (shwr only). A sliding door to the toilet/shower area. We arrived late and ordered a pizza from Pizza Hut nearby. It came really fast! The A/C ran quietly, and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. The breakfast was typical with eggs, sausage and waffles. There is a computer available to use in the lobby. The staff was very helpful and friendly. An easy drive to the Biltmore Estate.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giggles48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#29 of 66 in Asheville
314 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road
5.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
#34 of 66 in Asheville
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn West

Address: 1918 Old Haywood Rd, Asheville, NC 28806-1132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#4 Business Hotel in Asheville
#10 Family Hotel in Asheville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $84 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn West is conveniently located off Smokey Park Highway, just minutes from the Biltmore Estate, Biltmore Village, the scenic Blue Ridge Parkway and historic downtown Asheville. This Asheville, NC hotel is also just minutes from the University of North Carolina at Asheville. A variety of restaurants, movie theaters, and shopping centers can be found in the surrounding area. The hotel is next door to IHOP, Applebees and Cracker Barrel restaurant. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like the on-site business center and access to copy and fax services. The meeting space can accommodate up to 20 people and is available for most business functions. All spacious guest rooms feature hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, oversized walk-in showers and cable television with free HBO. Non-smoking, handicap accessible and mountain-view rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn West Hotel Asheville
Sleep Inn Asheville
Asheville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing