We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place, Clean, Quiet, Priced Right and a Nice Breakfast, too!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sleep Inn West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn West
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, MO by way of KSA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place, Clean, Quiet, Priced Right and a Nice Breakfast, too!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

My husband & I stayed three nights at the Sleep Inn West on a nice get away vacation. The room was a good size, nice comfy king bed, clean as a whistle EVERYwhere, microwave & refrigerator in our room, great morning breakfast, helpful staff, lobby laptop and printer for checking our flights and boarding passes and all of this priced WAY better than anyone comparable. It is a bit out of the way and off the highway, but made for nice quiet nights. We had no complaints at all (but one suggestion to the staff: not everyone is a coffee drinkers; we thought it would have been nice to also put a few tea bags into the in-room coffee service tray). We would recommend and will probably stay again!! Loved Asheville!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnAGM, Front Desk Manager at Sleep Inn West, responded to this review, August 22, 2009
Thank you for your comments! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. I will relay your suggestion to put some tea bags in the coffee service trays to our general manager... hopefully we can implement it before your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    290
    70
    23
    18
See reviews for
247
366
47
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
charleston, sc
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2009

My friends and I have stayed at this hotel 4 times. The first 3 were great. Obviously, because we're repeat customers. I guess we've always been put on the top floor. This 4th time we were put on the 2nd floor. As soon as I got there it sounded like someone was jumping off the beds from the floor above us at 9pm. I had us moved immediately. We were moved to the 1st floor. The people above us didn't get home until 2 am and then all 3 or 4 of them took showers before going to bed. They were back up at 7 am jumping off the beds again. The same thing happened the next night. Needless to say, we didn't get a lot of sleep either night. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hughje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabamagirl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2009

I was staying at this hotel with a group of teens ona ski trip. After the first night. two of the girls in my room complained of a rash, itching at the insides of the elbows and on their legs. I thought about bedbugs but dismissed it as teens complaining. The next night, I was awakened at 3:40 with something biting on the top of my foot. It felt like a large mosquito bite. I immediately got up, dressed and reported this personally to the front dest. The attendant was nice but had never heard of bedbugs! So....I'm in the lobby now, reporting the bedbugs and waiting for morning when everyone in our group is up and moving around. I will NOT stay here another night, we'll see what happens. Beware, do NOT stay at Sleep Inn West, Asheville, NC!!!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — bedbugs!
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smsalabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2008

Smoking rooms smelled terrible. Comforter on top of sheets smelled badly of smoke, obviously not washed. Carpets were stained. Cigarette burn in sheet. Bed was comfortable, staff was nice enough. Won't stay here again though.

Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlefootann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2008

Stayed one night at the Sleep Inn West. I was concerned about the construction which I learned about after we made our reservation, but we took a chance as it was last minute trip and there were no other options. Hotel is fine, clean and comfortable. We originally were assigned a room on the first floor away from the construction, but still facing it. We could faintly hear some noise and we were able to change our room to the other side of the hall. We could not hear a sound after we moved. Did not eat the breakfast, to many great places to eat downtown, but it looked ok. Staff friendly I would stay there again if nothing closer to downtown were available.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sak706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2008

This is a nice hotel with interior rooms and an elevator. Our room was clean, quiet and small. We stayed in the front part of the hotel. Many restaurants on the backside. There was a refrig/mirco that stuck out into the room. No table, no tub (shwr only). A sliding door to the toilet/shower area. We arrived late and ordered a pizza from Pizza Hut nearby. It came really fast! The A/C ran quietly, and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. The breakfast was typical with eggs, sausage and waffles. There is a computer available to use in the lobby. The staff was very helpful and friendly. An easy drive to the Biltmore Estate.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giggles48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

Tuesday, August 4th, my husband and I arrive at a Sleep Inn in Asheville, NC lead by a coupon we found in 2 different booklets from the North Carolina Welcome Center for $55.99 for 1-4 people (but it's just the 2 of us), for walk-ins, a 1 night stay, Sun-Thurs. We get there and due to "lack of availability", we are told the coupon will not be accepted, and the basic rate is $67.99. Then we get our pick of several types of rooms. That was just silly, there weren't that many cars in the parking lot, and it was the middle of the week in the hottest month of a year marked with high gas prices. My ordinarily not spineless husband is tired of driving, so he goes for the bait and switch. I think that is ridiculous. They are NOT crowded, the girl behind the counter was embarrassed to deliver the phrase that the coupon will not be honored due to, etc., and she blushed when she said it and did not make eye contact with me. What Baloney! There are lots of other motels in the area, don't go to the Sleep Inn.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MrsAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnAGM, Manager at Sleep Inn West, responded to this review, July 5, 2009
Please be aware that coupons in local travel coupon books are usually "based on availability" which means that whether or not they are accepted on a given day depends on how full the hotel is projected to be. On days when the hotel is expected to sell out, managers have the right to deny the "based on availability" coupons, as availability is low.

On the date this guest reported staying at our hotel, we were indeed sold out. The arrival list from that date shows that we had over 50 arrivals checking in on 8/4/08, which explains the parking lot being nearly empty when the guest arrived... most of the guests had either not yet checked in or were out on the town.

We sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
6.4 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#33 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Asheville Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
9.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
#30 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn West

Property: Sleep Inn West
Address: 1918 Old Haywood Rd, Asheville, NC 28806-1132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#4 Business Hotel in Asheville
#10 Family Hotel in Asheville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn West is conveniently located off Smokey Park Highway, just minutes from the Biltmore Estate, Biltmore Village, the scenic Blue Ridge Parkway and historic downtown Asheville. This Asheville, NC hotel is also just minutes from the University of North Carolina at Asheville. A variety of restaurants, movie theaters, and shopping centers can be found in the surrounding area. The hotel is next door to IHOP, Applebees and Cracker Barrel restaurant. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like the on-site business center and access to copy and fax services. The meeting space can accommodate up to 20 people and is available for most business functions. All spacious guest rooms feature hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, oversized walk-in showers and cable television with free HBO. Non-smoking, handicap accessible and mountain-view rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn West Hotel Asheville
Sleep Inn Asheville
Asheville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing