We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Too Small”
Review of Sleep Inn West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn West
Ranked #16 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    300
    72
    23
    18
See reviews for
255
380
47
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
446 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Make no mistake you get a great stay here. Rooms were nice and clean, staff was nice, plenty of parking, and food nearby. Breakfast was good and typical Choice Hotels with waffles but they also had eggs and sausage. Only downside was they closed the stairs at night because apparently it makes noise when people stay under the steps (must of been a full house).

Room Tip: Dont get the room under the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhatPatW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnAGM, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn West, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for your review, Pat. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us, and we especially appreciate that you took the time to write a review about your stay. We greet you with a smile here and always have a clean room in the evening and a hot breakfast in the morning. There is one room under the stairs, and because of that we close the stairs between the first and second floors from 10PM to 8AM if the room is occupied. The stairs at the ends of the hall and the elevator remain operational.

Thanks, again!
-Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
226 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I picked this hotel because of Trip Advisor recommendations and it did not disappoint. The front desk staff was very friendly and we were assigned a room with a mountain view because of our Choice Privileges status. The room was spacious. It was very clean and the bed enabled a good nights rest. With advance purchase it was a good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navybng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnAGM, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn West, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
First and foremost on behalf of the whole team at Sleep Inn West, I’d thank you for your service to our country.

Secondly, we’d like to say thanks for taking the time out of your day to write a review of your positive experience at our property. We love our Choice Privileges members and upgrade them to Mountain View rooms whenever possible. We also encourage everyone to join because it is FREE and it gives guests access to the Advance Purchase rate that you booked for your recent stay. Choice members rack up benefits points with every stay in a Choice Hotel (Sleep Inn, Comfort Inn/Suites, Quality Inn, Clarion, Econolodge, etc). We are glad that you were pleased with the quality of our customer service and the cleanliness of the room. Please come back and see us when you are next in Asheville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

i book a room for a few day with my company i wanted to get to wendys for dinner the person behind the counter ryan was very helpfull he gave me a ride an even droped me back off at the motel he went out of his way to take care of me no one has ever done that for me in all the hotel/motels i've been in i wanted to let you know that ya'll need more people like that if you did i would be back more i want to thank you an him for the way he treated me so cool! thxs again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gilbert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnAGM, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn West, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and had a positive stay at the hotel. We believe that we provide top best quality customer service that far surpasses what one would expect out of a hotel with such low rates. Please come back and see if when you come to beautiful Asheville again (on business or on personal vacation). Myself, Ryan and the whole Sleep Inn team will be glad to see you.
-Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel room layout was just like the pictures on the website. The staff was awesome and I asked for a late check out for 12 o'clock and Ryan said how about 12:30. That's what I call excellent customer service. I will recommend this hotel to friends and stay here again when I visit Asheville again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnAGM, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn West, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks Chris,

We are so grateful that you would take the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor! We are glad that our rooms lived up to our advertisements and that our customer service exceeded expectations. We would love to have you back (remind us of your review when you book!) and are proud to have your recommendation.

Thanks again,
-Josh, Front Desk Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was our first pleasure trip to Asheville in order to visit The Biltmore Estate. The owner is a hands-on manager who runs a tight ship. The hotel has been updated, is clean, and the bed was comfortable, although the pillows could have been a little larger. The staff is well- trained, most courteous, and helpful. The breakfast buffet offers a wide variety of choices not normally found in a mid-priced chain hotel. The owner offered excellent tips for our Biltmore visit including watching the videos, renting the audio tour units, and touring the basement. Beyond this, we received a $25 restaurant gift card and a bottle of Biltmore White Zin. Our hotel experience far and away exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnAGM, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn West, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks Bob!

We appreciate that you took time out of your day to write a review about you stay with us! Our GM, Henry Patel, is a great guy who does a wonderful job training our staff to provide top quality customer service and the cleanest rooms in town.

We are glad we could be a part of your Asheville/Biltmore experience! Give us a shout next time you come to Asheville!

Thanks again,

-Josh, Front Desk Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here on Sept 2nd and really liked the room I had. Everything was up to date/new, clean, no unpleasant odors, nice flat screen TV, ref, etc. The bed was nice and comfortable with plenty of pillows. As for the rate I can't comment on as I was staying on a 'roomsaver' coupon. Overall I would definitely stay here again when I pass thru.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 538David_M538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnAGM, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn West, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
David,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review about how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We are glad you found everything in the room to your liking, and that you got a great rate through a coupon. All TRIPADVISOR users can get access super low rates like you got (Sunday through Thursday) by calling the hotel directly and using the phrase "funtrip."

Give us a holler when you come back through town.

Thanks,
-Josh, Front Desk Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
6.8 mi away
Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#26 of 65 in Asheville
295 reviews
9.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn West

Property: Sleep Inn West
Address: 1918 Old Haywood Rd, Asheville, NC 28806-1132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#4 Business Hotel in Asheville
#10 Family Hotel in Asheville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn West is conveniently located off Smokey Park Highway, just minutes from the Biltmore Estate, Biltmore Village, the scenic Blue Ridge Parkway and historic downtown Asheville. This Asheville, NC hotel is also just minutes from the University of North Carolina at Asheville. A variety of restaurants, movie theaters, and shopping centers can be found in the surrounding area. The hotel is next door to IHOP, Applebees and Cracker Barrel restaurant. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like the on-site business center and access to copy and fax services. The meeting space can accommodate up to 20 people and is available for most business functions. All spacious guest rooms feature hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, oversized walk-in showers and cable television with free HBO. Non-smoking, handicap accessible and mountain-view rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn West Hotel Asheville
Sleep Inn Asheville
Asheville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing