We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay. Staff & rooms are super.”
Review of Sleep Inn West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn West
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was our second 3 night stay at this property. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and restful. It is close to good places to eat, shop and convenient for sight seeing. We highly recommend this motel to anyone wanting to visit Asheville and the surrounding areas. We will definitely stay here on future visits to Asheville.

Room Tip: The top floor facing the mountains is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (966)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

676 - 682 of 966 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

I thought this was a great hotel and would highly recommend it. It is about a 10 minute drive to both downtown and the Biltmore. We were very pleased with it's modern furniture, stylish rooms, and no gross, questionable floral cover over the bed. The bed also has a nice clean, white down comforter instead of those yellow blankets with hair on them. I saw no evidence in the room of the guest before us. Scott, at the front desk was helpful with tips (such as to call the hotel directly to get the best room rates) and worked nearly every shift in our 2 day stay. The hotel is elevated so half of the rooms offer a great mountain view that I enjoyed looking at while I drank my morning coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for Mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The motel was like new and clean. Staff was nice. We sat in the lobby and chatted with one of them one evening and she filled us in on Ashville, what restaurants to go to, etc. We had a king size bed but the room was tight. Ample but just enough room for the bed and desk. A nice big round shower but no tub. Typical motel but nice and clean, good bedding, good food. Breakfast was typical, eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, toast, muffins, danish, waffles, fruit and cereals, coffee, tea and juice. Bar was constantly being cleaned and restocked as needed. Very convenient to restaurants and a short drive to the Biltmore Mansion. A nice place to stay

Room Tip: Try to get 2 queen size beds. It gives you a bigger room and more space for things.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhirschberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here one night when we decided to stay an extra night in Asheville. Overall the hotel was nice, for what it is. The room was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The walls were a little thin and you could hear the tv and loud conversations in the next rooms. Fortunately, this did not prevent a good night's sleep. The continental breakfast was probably the best I have had at a cheap hotel. Sausage, eggs, biscuits, gravy. Very filling.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nade05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Don't get the disabled room under the elevator! No flat screen tv like advertised and beds were bouncy and squeaky!! Shower was good as it was larger because it was for disability. Not close to anything of interest .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Wow! This is our go to place in Asheville. I stayed here last summer on a trip with my mom and was impressed enough to book a stay this weekend with my partner. The decor, the quietness, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff all serve to make this THE place we will stay anytime we come to the Asheville area.

Vicky greeted us promptly upon our arrival and made us feel like very welcomed guests. Later, when we needed restaurant suggestions she willingly provided these (including phone numbers and addresses)-along with paper/pencil with which to record this info. Upon our return from dinner she inquired as to where we ate and our impression of the restaurant. Keep in mind this is over Memorial Day weekend in a fully booked establishment!

Upon checkout Scott was very professional and inquired as to our stay and plans. Upon hearing our plans for the day he generously providd us with a couple of bottles of water to keep us hydrated. NICE touch!

The room was VERY clean/spotless. The shower was PERFECT-temp, size, water spray, and so on...The breakfast buffet was good-what is expected from a chain, but hey we all know this!

There are some minor noise issues from room to room, but no worse than anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife & I took a road trip to Florida and decided to take a side trip on the way home. My daughter has spoken highly of Asheville, NC and we wanted to visit the Wheels Through Time museum about 30 miles away.
We arrived in W. Asheville and saw that the Sleep Inn is conveniently located just outside of downtown, offered a good value and looked nice & clean and modern.
Sometimes first impressions are misleading, but this one was everything we'd hoped for & more. From the moment we drove into the spacious, smooth and well lit parking lot we were impressed. The hotel is fresh & inviting and the staff are all friendly and super attentive.
The room we took, a single king, n/s, was nicer and better appointed than a Courtyard we stayed in while in Florida.
The room was spic & span, smelled fresh without any cover-up, included a mini-fridge, microwave, flat screen and excellent high speed wi-fi.
The adjoining bath had a sleek modern shower and the faucets and fittings were spotless high-end stainless.
The second day of our stay we experienced several downpours and t-storms. The room and windows were practically sound proof and we weren't bothered by the storms at all. The grounds are so well drained that as soon as the sun came out the puddles disappeared.
The included hot breakfast features eggs, biscuits, bacon, red-eye gravy, buns, fruit, cereal, bagels, toast... Plenty of hot coffee and tea, juice and accompaniments like butter, jellies, pancakes, etc. Breakfast is served in a spacious and comfortable dining hall located in the rear of the lobby.
There's also a nicely appointed and spotlessly clean gym off the lobby and coin laundry on the mezzanine floor.
Seriously, this hotel was a very welcome surprise and we'd definitely come back and stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suntourhank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#29 of 66 in Asheville
320 reviews
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
6.8 mi away
Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road
5.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
#33 of 66 in Asheville
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn West

Address: 1918 Old Haywood Rd, Asheville, NC 28806-1132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Asheville
#5 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#10 Family Hotel in Asheville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $83 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn West is conveniently located off Smokey Park Highway, just minutes from the Biltmore Estate, Biltmore Village, the scenic Blue Ridge Parkway and historic downtown Asheville. This Asheville, NC hotel is also just minutes from the University of North Carolina at Asheville. A variety of restaurants, movie theaters, and shopping centers can be found in the surrounding area. The hotel is next door to IHOP, Applebees and Cracker Barrel restaurant. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like the on-site business center and access to copy and fax services. The meeting space can accommodate up to 20 people and is available for most business functions. All spacious guest rooms feature hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, oversized walk-in showers and cable television with free HBO. Non-smoking, handicap accessible and mountain-view rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn West Hotel Asheville
Sleep Inn Asheville
Asheville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing