We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Bang for your Buck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn West
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Bang for your Buck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Reserved the hotel last minute (en route to Asheville) and to my surprise turned out to be great. Really helpful staff throughout all the shirts (which is hard to find these days).

Rooms had a flat screen tv and came with a fridge. We stayed a couple nights so this came in handy. I saw complaints for it being a noisy hotel, but had no such problem. We did however get a smoking room instead of a non-smoking, which was frustrating at first, but they immediately offered us a new room. Also, one of the managers, Scott, was really helpful. He mapped out great places to get food and the best bars around downtown.

Overall, basic amenities, clean and extremely friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boby k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    257
    67
    23
    17
See reviews for
225
328
43
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I reserved this hotel approx. 3 weeks in advance. Reviews seemed good. Price was fair. We arrived late, 8:45 PM. Found construction at the hotel. Workers still working, butt cracks, and all. Dusty (which does no favors for allergies), no ice on our floor, no ice where we were told it would be. The only option given to us at check-in was to release us to find another hotel, at 9 PM, after a full day in the Smokey Mountain NP., I informed the night clerks and the acting Manager the next morning that there was no notice of construction when we made the reservation. I was a member of Choice Hotels, so they had my email and phone #. Even if they only recently planned the construction, which I doubt, they could have contacted us and given us a choice as to whether to book another hotel. I feel this was deceptive and we felt taken advantage of as customers. When I talked to the Manager on Duty, the next morning, at check- out, I was given all kind of excuses but no apology. After giving every opportunity for these clerks and Managers to mention ways to improve our inconvenience, I finally told the Manager on Duty, that I felt he should make an adjustment to the rate, to compensate for construction inconvenience. I have stayed at enough hotels to know that most hotels offer discounts at the time of booking to compensate for inconvenience. He knocked off $5, nice gesture, but not commensurate with the inconvenience and obviously insincere. Too little, too late. Wow wouldn't it be nice, if one had advance information, so you can make an informed decision. Business that treats customers like this one has, deserve no loyalty. I know every guest at this hotel had some degree of inconvenience, just as we did, and if they didn't inform the hotel management of their feelings, then they just allow businesses to continue to take advantage of their customers. If I had known at the time of booking, I would have had time to book another hotel, when I could get advanced reservation rates and when I had access to my computer and internet service. By the way, the rooms were nice, but when you have to run the air conditioner all night to try to push out construction dust and then eat with the dust the next morning, the nice rooms aren't enough.

Room Tip: Make businesses accountable. Don't allow them to take advantage of you and your hard earned mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickmhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of the good reviews and Biltmore House package deal. The package included a Biltmore bottle of wine, 2 day passes to Biltmore estate, one nights stay, and a $25 gift card to Cracker Barrel. Biltmore is definitely an experience! There were 2 highschool track and field teams staying over. They and other patrons were noisy. We could hear them in the hall. We turned on the heating unit fan, it drowned out some of the noise. I recommend the hotel provides white noise makers for customers if they need one.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerzy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Wow, I am very sirprised by the quality of the room here. 1st I asked to check in early and all the other hotels around didn't have anything available. Then I came here and not only did I get the room I wanted, but a nice discount since I wasn't staying all night. Awesome. The rooms are very nicely decorated with flat screen tv and microwave, fridge, as well as a walk in shower. I'm sure it's on the 2 star level. But really impressed. They are undergoing some renovations in the lobby area but I can't really hear anything on the 3rd floor outside of the big lift moving around outside. Which is quite funny since I almost choose to go there and their would be some guy peeping in my window while I'm trying to make love.. lol

Room Tip: If your coming during the day and need quiet. Get one on the 3rd floor and away from the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This place looks brand new. Very clean rooms and very nice staff. They do everything they can to help you. I changed my reservation just to stay one more day in Asheville. They do serve a good variety of hot food during breakfast. Great job folks.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Two couples traveling with no reservations decided to stop for the night in Asheville. Based on reviews on TripAdvisor we decide to inquire about the availablity of 2 rooms. The price was very reasonable & we couldn't have been more pleased. The staff was friendly, rooms very clean, well decorated & a better than average continental breakfast included. Looked like it had recently been renovated & easy connection to Wi-Fi. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nesbitgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distant 'burbs of Chicago
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Nice place and nice rates. Our only gripe was a lack of good restaurants nearby. Not the closest place to the Biltmore Estate, but the quality and price made it worth the extra few minutes of driving.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GearheadJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Asheville Tunnel Road
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Biltmore Square Mall
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Asheville - Biltmore Square Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn West

Property: Sleep Inn West
Address: 1918 Old Haywood Rd, Asheville, NC 28806-1132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#4 Business Hotel in Asheville
#10 Family Hotel in Asheville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn West is conveniently located off Smokey Park Highway, just minutes from the Biltmore Estate, Biltmore Village, the scenic Blue Ridge Parkway and historic downtown Asheville. This Asheville, NC hotel is also just minutes from the University of North Carolina at Asheville. A variety of restaurants, movie theaters, and shopping centers can be found in the surrounding area. The hotel is next door to IHOP, Applebees and Cracker Barrel restaurant. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like the on-site business center and access to copy and fax services. The meeting space can accommodate up to 20 people and is available for most business functions. All spacious guest rooms feature hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, oversized walk-in showers and cable television with free HBO. Non-smoking, handicap accessible and mountain-view rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Sleep Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn West Hotel Asheville
Sleep Inn Asheville
Asheville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing