We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR ONLY CHOICE IN ASHEVILLE”
Review of Sleep Inn West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn West
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We have been coming here for years and as Kathy B said, "It's our home away from home."

If you are coming to Asheville to look at the leaves wait until early December after they all have fallen. Then you will be sure to get a room with no difficulty.

The hotel has had new furniture, TVs, and internet installed and it did a great job of sprucing up the rooms. Mr. Henry Patel, the owner/manager, is on site everyday and he does take care of business.

The ladies who tend the front desk are great. The 'breakfast lady' takes her job seriously and is a very nice person.

Ya know, it is just so easy to create a list of negatives for a hotel you don't like. It's harder to send a list of positives when you have absolutely no complaints.

All I can say is stay here. You'll like it. And, tell Henry the guy from Apex recommended this Sleep Inn.

Room Tip: If you are going to look at the leaves wait until early December after they have all fallen. Then y...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RivrSt_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (956)
There are newer reviews for Sleep Inn West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

827 - 833 of 956 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2011

My wife and daughter planned a two-day stay to look at collages in the area. I made the reservation with "Henry" who was pleasant and quite welcoming.

The hotel visit was a disaster. The walls were paper-thin and conversations in the adjacent rooms could be heard clearly. The heat/AC did not work properly and could not be adjusted. The light fixture was hanging off the ceiling with wires exposed. Finally, the shower leaked and there was water all over the floor.

After a very unpleasent night, my wife and daughter checked out, cutting their stay with the hotel to a single night. All of these problems were reported directly to the Hotel Manager who was apologetic. He indicated that we would not be charged for the visit.

A week later we discovered that we *were* charged for the visit. We contacted the hotel and spoke with the Hotel Manager. He indicated that because he did not maintain a written record of the issues and his agreement not to charge us, we would be charged for the stay. The Hotel Manager offered us a free night at the hotel instead. We explained that we would not stay at this hotel again.

Bottom line: we feel cheated, and the hotel experience was terrible. Avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnAGM, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn West, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

I am so sorry for the problems your experienced during your stay. We strive to make every guest's visit as pleasant as possible. Since, as you mentioned, we are unable to locate a written record of this situation, I am not sure exactly what happened. It is possible that the manager meant that he would not charge you for the remainder of the stay that was cancelled, although you were charged for the one night that you did stay. In any case, it is clear that some miscommunication occurred and I am sorry for that.

We would still like to offer you a future credit in the amount that was charged for your one night stay. Please call and speak with Henry Patel if you would like to accept this offer. Again, I apologize for the whole situation and hope you will give us another chance to accommodate you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The Sleep Inn West in Asheville, NC, is a really nice place. Staff was friendly and courteous. The property is about 13 years old, according to the manager, but has been largely redone earlier this year. Rooms were quite clean, well-equipped, well-lit. Wifi speed was acceptable, better than at many hotels. Breakfast was well above average for this kind of hotel. Apparently smoking is still permitted in some rooms, and there can be a slight "smokey smell" in the hallways at times. Just be sure to request a smoking or non-smoking room, as appropriate. The next time we go to Asheville, we will most likely look at this hotel first!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pfafftonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Every time my boyfriend and I take a trip to Asheville and plan on staying overnight, we choose the Sleep Inn West. The staff is friendly, the rate is reasonable, the rooms are clean and comfortable...We just love it! The new interior is so pretty and pleasant. We call the Sleep Inn West our 'home away from home'. No complaints from us! :)

Room Tip: Be sure too reserve a room or think or the time of year. We went to see the leaves colors changing...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed two nights to see Fall foliage. This hotel sits on a bluff and our room had a nice view of the colors on the surrounding hillsides. Our room was bright and well-decorated. They have a well-appointed breakfast. We would stay here again. We ate dinner at the Katz Cafe, just below the hotel, and would eat there again. Good food at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Second or third floors on back side of hotel
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AZ2FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed here 3 nights and had a pleasant stay. When we got home, there was a voicemail from the hotel manager telling us that we left the powercord for our laptop in the hotel room. When I called back, Mr. Patel was very nice and offered to send the cord to us that same day by Express Mail and we got the cord the next day. Thank heavens! We use that computer ALL the time!

The hotel was pleasant and clean, although the room was a little cramped with 2 double beds. The first floor looked to be recently remodeled with a nice breakfast area and a lounge. Good breakfast, reliable free WiFi, convenient to airport and all Interstates. The front desk staff were all very nice and very knowledgeable. And, of course, we really appreciated their extra assistance with the computer cord. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Very clean, recently remodeled. Very friendly employees who really want to help you. Good breakfast every morning. Quiet room. There was a pay washer and dryer right across from our room, which was nice so we could do a load of laundry. In a good location near several restaurants. Close to the highway, only minutes from the Biltmore and Blue Ridge Parkway. Very reasonable price.

Room Tip: We faced the restaurants and we did hear some noise from the car lot when we had the window open but...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
Comfort Inn Biltmore West
#28 of 66 in Asheville
314 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road
5.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village
#34 of 66 in Asheville
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn West

Address: 1918 Old Haywood Rd, Asheville, NC 28806-1132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#4 Business Hotel in Asheville
#10 Family Hotel in Asheville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $84 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn West is conveniently located off Smokey Park Highway, just minutes from the Biltmore Estate, Biltmore Village, the scenic Blue Ridge Parkway and historic downtown Asheville. This Asheville, NC hotel is also just minutes from the University of North Carolina at Asheville. A variety of restaurants, movie theaters, and shopping centers can be found in the surrounding area. The hotel is next door to IHOP, Applebees and Cracker Barrel restaurant. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like the on-site business center and access to copy and fax services. The meeting space can accommodate up to 20 people and is available for most business functions. All spacious guest rooms feature hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, oversized walk-in showers and cable television with free HBO. Non-smoking, handicap accessible and mountain-view rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn West Hotel Asheville
Sleep Inn Asheville
Asheville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing