We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was pleasantly surprised.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sleep Inn West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn West
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
ny
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I was pleasantly surprised.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I picked this hotel because I saw that it received a Gold Award for excellence, which was well deserved. The hotel is spotless and the decor is very pleasing to the eye. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very clean. The beds are very comfortable...even the pillows!!
The staff are friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was very good (it even had sausage and the cutest eggs, i.e. the eggs looked like pancakes).
I would definitely return to this hotel when I am in the Ashville area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank defrancopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    290
    70
    23
    18
See reviews for
247
366
47
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel sits up on a little hill a little bit off I40 and because it s location it is very quiet. The staff was polite, courteous, and very helpful. Check-in was a breeze. The room was the standard Sleep Inn arrangement with no tub, just a large shower, but the room comes with the coffee maker, fridge, microwave. Several franchise restaurants are within walking distance if you don't mind trudging up the hill and watching for the traffic. The room was clean, well furnished, had a gorgeous view of the mountains, and the bed was comfy for a great night's sleep. Breakfast was the standard hot buffet with eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy, hard boiled eggs, cold cereal, instant oatmeal, baked goods, fresh fruit, do your own waffles and beverages.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights as a rest stop on the way to DC. The room was spotless. the bed comfortable, it had a nice flat screen TV, small fridge and coffee maker. They provided a nice breakfast in a clean eating area. We will stay here again when we visit around Thanksgiving. A bonus is that this Sleep Inn is located up on a hill so if there is any local flooding you have no problem!

Room Tip: Back rooms have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClamTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is a great location to stay when you are working in Asheville. It is away from the main roads and all the noise that comes with them. There is plenty of parking wiht wide parking slots. lighting in the parking area is very good. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. the property is well landscaped and eye appealing. The lobby and the rooms are clean and well furnished. Lighting in the rooms is pretty good also. Room has good desk and chair with desk lamp. Lamps all have outlets to plug in chargers, laptops and other electrical items. Walls also have a good supply of outlets. All great for the business traveler.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

The beds were so comfy. I think I pretty much closed my eyes and went into a coma. The rooms looked like they had never been used. My only complaint is that there was supposed to be bacon at the breakfast bar. Otherwise, good place to stay for not a lot of money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deargceann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

This was our first stay at a Sleep Inn but we will certainly make this our first choice for future trips. The hotel was clean and the bed very comfortable with a great breakfast. Helpful and cheerful staff made this stay perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia14009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

I stayed at the Sleep Inn along with my little soccer playing daughter as part of a tournament taking place nearby at Buncombe County Sports Complex. The hotel has a very convenient location just off the interstate (I-40). The surrounding area has many great restaurant choices and it is not too far from "downtown" Asheville. Sleep Inns are typically low cost and you usually get what you pay for. This one was $109 a night (about $40 more than it was worth).

My reservation was changed from two nights to one causing the desk to mistakenly cancel the entire stay. So when I arrived only smoking rooms were available. The hotel allowed me to go look at (sniff) the smoking offering before I decided to stay. I decided to stay. I wish I hadn't.

The room and most of its furnishing were very worn. There is a large flat-screen TV, but the bedding is nasty. The carpet is even worse (we played a guessing game called - "I wonder what color it was when it was new"). The A/C unit put out cold, stinky, stale-smoke smells all night long (keep in mind it was a smoking room). If you work on an asphalt crew or have no nose consider this hotel at maybe $49 or $59 a night. If not, consider yourself warned.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms should only be used by HARD CORE smokers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idbuythatforadollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepInnAGM, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn West, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and future guests. First of all, I apologize for all the problems you experienced during your stay. It is true that hotels in Asheville tend to have fluctuating prices, as this is a tourist town and busy weekends have higher demand, which causes higher prices. I am truly sorry you did not find our accommodations to be a good value.

There was a bit of confusion with the reservations for the soccer tournament weekend, with everyone calling to cancel and add nights in the days leading up to the tournament, and I apologize for the misunderstanding with your reservation. We do have some smoking rooms, and for non-smokers it can be uncomfortable to stay in one. Our first and second floors are entirely non-smoking. Also, we have just replaced all our bedding (literally, this week!) along with a number of other renovations (new paint, artwork, lobby furnishings) so that should no longer be an issue.

Again, I am sorry you were displeased but hope you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
6.4 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#33 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Asheville Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
9.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
Comfort Suites Outlet Center
#30 of 63 in Asheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn West

Property: Sleep Inn West
Address: 1918 Old Haywood Rd, Asheville, NC 28806-1132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#4 Business Hotel in Asheville
#10 Family Hotel in Asheville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn West is conveniently located off Smokey Park Highway, just minutes from the Biltmore Estate, Biltmore Village, the scenic Blue Ridge Parkway and historic downtown Asheville. This Asheville, NC hotel is also just minutes from the University of North Carolina at Asheville. A variety of restaurants, movie theaters, and shopping centers can be found in the surrounding area. The hotel is next door to IHOP, Applebees and Cracker Barrel restaurant. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like the on-site business center and access to copy and fax services. The meeting space can accommodate up to 20 people and is available for most business functions. All spacious guest rooms feature hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, oversized walk-in showers and cable television with free HBO. Non-smoking, handicap accessible and mountain-view rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn West Hotel Asheville
Sleep Inn Asheville
Asheville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing