We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality & comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Key West, FL
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great quality & comfort”
Reviewed June 6, 2006

My friend & I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend checking in on Sunday, checking out Tuesday. We booked this over the internet based on the reviews we read and were very impressed with the quality of the hotel. It is definitely more upscale than we had expected. Cherry wood (or the look of) furnishings and the beds are fantastic - part of a new campaign - Soft, luxurious bedding, firm mattresses, truly a pleasure to sleep in. Our room was on the 5th. (top) floor and had a good view of the mountains. The lobby was tastefully decorated and was where the good breakfast was served - fresh coffee, teas, juices, cereals, yoghurt, fruit, bagels. I would steer clear of the 'breakfast specials' which are microwaveable items and incude egg & waffle items - they look and taste synthetic. Staff are courteous and helpful. Free lobby internet access computer was a great help to us during our stay. The location of the hotel is an easy 5 minute drive into downtown Asheville. Tunnel Road is a busy road with lots of restaurants and other hotels all close to each other. However It is necessary to drive to them - it is not pedestrian-friendly. Regardless, it is a good location for access to downtown Asheville and the outer neighborhoods. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a better quality hotel.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Keys traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    359
    91
    21
    18
See reviews for
471
568
50
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Hills, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2006

We were Hampton Inn travelers for years, and have found accommodations acceptable, for the most part.

However, this one had problems with transferring long distance telephone calls to our room.

After several attempts to converse with the night clerk on this matter, we advised him that we would place the call from our room and deduct the charges from the room rate.

This apparently cleared up the problem and the call came through.

Next morning, I approached the manager to register my complaint and found the manager to be arrogant and beligerant on the subject.

Although we were not charged for the second day we stayed, I feel that this information needs to get out to the potential clients who might stay at this unit.

Perhaps you might want to verify if the night clerk can handle incoming telephone calls before you agree to stay there.

I have not received any apology from Hilton Hotels, franchise owner of Hampton Inns.

Be guided accordingly

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mrkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 18, 2005

We saw this hotel on Trip Advisor while we were planning our trip.
Hampton Inns have been very reliable in the past. The prices have been
raised since we last stayed at one, due to the hotel's move from a budget hotel to a more upscale resort. We received a fully furnished room that had been modernized and redone recently for $150 per night. The room had a nice bathroom, 2 comfortable queen-sized beds. The typical extras included cable TV, Coffee Maker, and plenty of cheap soap. A nice thing about the room was that it was very quiet during the day and the night.

That made sleeping much easier. The hotel has started a new marketing
campaign towards the younger generation with black and white pictures
that have quotes written all over them. For example, a coffee cup says
"Some like it hot", and and the elevator has "Smile" written in big
letters on the door. It adds an interesting atmosphere to the hotel.

The staff was cheery and helpful; the pool was clean, and the fitness center was adequate with about 5 different machines. The free continental breakfast was average, nothing special. Overall the hotel was clean and relatively modern.

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unicoi,TN
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2005

We stayed here for 5 days, all staff was very friendly but front desk was really great at changing our room upon arrival when we saw the pool rooms. They feature an indoor pool & hot tub with rooms which open right onto the pool deck. It was ideal for our situation, we had two of our children with us and could go right out of our room to the pool. These doors are locked at the closed times for the pool, probably to eliminate midnight dips, but also assures these rooms are quiet at night. The exercise room nice & everything in working order. Plenty of towels available.
The breakfast was very good for hotel breakfast food, several protein choices. Go early to avoid the crowds. We have stayed at several high end places in Asheville, this was the best for the money with children. Clean, roomy, friendly, location, location, location. One block from mall & surrounded by many varied restaurants, chains & different cusine.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank BlackberryFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2004

The Hampton Inn is typical for the chain. Being located on a hill makes for a quiet location. The staff is very friendly and the continental breakfast is good. Free internet connected computer in lobby, so I could check my email. Very family friendly . AAA discount. Very affordable. I felt safe. About 10-15 minutes to Biltmore. Lots of chain restaurants nearby.

Helpful?
20 Thank Alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
1.4 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,184 reviews
1.9 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road

Property: Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
Address: 204 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Asheville
#2 Family Hotel in Asheville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to wonderful and rare Asheville we're eager to have you stay with us at the Hampton Inn® Asheville-I-240 Tunnel Rd. We are perfectly and conveniently nestled amongst all of Asheville's most popular attractions, including the world famous Biltmore Estate and winery, historic downtown Asheville, and America's most scenic byway--the Blue Ridge Parkway. Once you've arrived at our hotel, you'll enjoy a lot of great amenities waiting for you in your room, including free high-speed internet access in every guest room, handy lap desks, and 32" HD flat-screen televisions. Our recently renovated Perfect Mix Lobby is a perfect marriage of vibrantly blended colors, creating a perfect space to mingle with friends, watch the big game on the oversized HD flat-screen television, or finish up the day's business on plush sofas or the communal table. Our guests also enjoy our complimentary On the House™ hot breakfast, featuring a variety of hot breakfast items and fresh Belgian waffles. If you're looking for relaxation, splash down in our newly renovated indoor pool, melt the day's stress away in our whirlpool spa or maintain your healthy lifestyle in our state of the art fitness center featuring all new Precor® equipment. When you're ready for some rest, hunker down for the night in our comfiest amenity yet, our Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Come and experience for yourself the splendor of the Blue Ridge Mountains at the newly renovated Hampton Inn® Asheville-I-240 Tunnel Rd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tunnel Road Hotel Asheville
Hampton Inn Asheville Tunnel Rd
Asheville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing