We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice Hotel and Staff”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I travel a lot in the state of North Carolina for business purposes and I have stayed at this hotel for quite some time in Asheville. This hotel is very nice and and the staff is exceptional. Management team is very friendly as well. Rooms are very clean and the location is great as well. Hotel is very clean and fresh. Home away from home for the past 4 weeks!!! I will definelty come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    346
    89
    21
    17
See reviews for
454
549
49
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had an excellent stay at this hotel. The room was comfortable and clean. The only issue we had was a noisy air conditioning unit.

Nice to return to the hotel after sightseeing and have access to a hot drink and a cookie. Breakfast was also good with a broad selection of items available, mainly cold , but a couple of hot items. Staff were constantly replenishing food items and keeping the breakfasting area tidy.

Front desk staff were very helpful both with helping us with directions to the Blue Ridge Parkway and with suggestions for dinner. We also made use of the shuttle on two occasions and this was driven by two friendly and informative members of staff.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 57LouLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Room was nice, pool and hot tub were just right, breakfast was usual fare but fresh and plenty of it to accommodate all the guests. The only drawback to the weekend was my iPad kept losing connectivity in the room. If I walked down the hall toward the lobby it returned. I finally discovered the secret was not to away from the windows in our room and connectivity wasn't lost. All the staff were very friendly and greeted you wherever and whenever they encountered you in the hotel.

Room Tip: We got the room closest to the pool as we asked for a walk in shower. We thought it might be noisy b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ohio
Level Contributor
167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hampton is our hotel of choice and this one is fine. What stands out is the quality of the team. Every single member speaks to you and seems to do whatever it takes to please. We spent 3 nights in late September and the stay could not have been better. Our only problem was a funky TV which was replaced promptly while we were out along with an apology note from the maintenance person! I know this attitude comes from the top and I credit Andrea for her visibility and attention to detail. Well Done.

Room Tip: Avoid the pool area unless you're into pools. Try to get an upper floor room facing the front b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

First off I would like to say that the room in this hotel was quite nice so I did not find anything disappointing here. What I was disappointed in was the fact that we had travelled from overseas, there were 3 of us ladies travelling together and I had taken the time to email the hotel beforehand to check that they had a rollaway bed in the room of 2 queen beds - they emailed back that they would do their best to accommodate us.

When we turned up at the hotel in the evening the gentleman on the front desk (Reggie) was answering a rate enquiry on the phone meanwhile rolling his eyes - I did not think this was particularly professional. When he finished his phone call and attended to me, he informed me that there were no rollaway beds. I mentioned that we had emailed the hotel several months earlier to find out if they could accommodate us as we were staying 2 nights and needed 3 beds. I tried to find out if they could find a rollaway bed for the 2nd night as we had been told there were none available the first night, but they could not even tell us that so we went to the room and we discussed this amongst ourselves and decided that we would rather go to a Hotel that could provide either a sofa bed or a rollaway. Apparently even though this hotel is quite large, if you need a rollaway you need to know they only have 3!

We easily found a great hotel within 10 minutes that was quite a bit cheaper and yes it did have the 3 beds - which was great!

I don't like to give up my points as I'm a Hilton Gold Member but obviously it doesn't mean a thing at this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCoon, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I am terribly sorry that you were disappointed with our front desk team. As you can see from other reviews we take great pride in providing extraordinary service to our guests and I sincerely apologize that we failed during your visit. I agree that eye rolling is very unprofessional and I will absolutely address that with our team. I also apologize that we did not have a roll away available for you. We do our best to accommodate guest requests. I understand that Reggie called our sister property, Homewood Suites, and was able to get you a room with two beds and a rollaway and you chose to find other accommodations. Thank you again for your feedback. We will use it to improve our service and will try to find other resolutions for this issue in the future. Please let me know if you are coming back to our area and I will be happy to book your reservations personally.

Sincerely,

Andrea Coon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

There were a lot of choices of hotels in Asheville. I chose this one based on all the positive Tripadvisor reviews. And am so glad I did! We stayed here for 3 nights and were always greeted with a smile and friendliness by everyone who worked there. We were at the front desk at least once a day asking for directions to one place or another and they always had a pre-printed note with the directions to that place on one side and directions on how to return to the hotel on the other. So helpful! Needless to say, by the time we left our car was littered with all those notes.

The rooms were super clean, the beds very comfortable, and everything seemed recently renovated. We found the room very quiet even though we were very close to the elevator. As stated by other reviewers, the hotel is on a hill off the road so we didn't hear much street noise. Tunnel Road is a major road in Asheville so you are close to everything. One thing to note - sometimes it was hard to see the Hampton Inn sign. I always felt like I saw it at the last minute and was turning in rather suddenly. I seemed to see the Courtyard sign more easily because it was lower (you turn in the same place for both hotels).

The breakfast had lots of choices and 2 people working the breakfast area. There were many choices for seating. Coffee and tea/hot chocolate was always available in the lobby at any time and it was nice to bring a cup up to the room in the afternoon or evening. In the afternoon there were cookies at the check-in desk.

Downtown is just a 5 minute drive. We did not take advantage of the Hampton Inn shuttle but drove ourselves. Parking on the street is metered but there are quite a few parking garages and we usually took advantage of those. The garages are free for the first hour, then $1 an hour. We thought that was reasonable.

If you're trying to decide where to stay when in Asheville, make up your mind and stay here. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGNY53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
168 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on our recent visit to Asheville. It is in a convenient location about a 5 minute drive to downtown. We asked for a room on the top floor at the end of the hall (we are light sleepers) and they honored our request. We liked that the thermostat went down to 60 degrees as we like a cold room when we sleep. The room was quiet, clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable and they provide a lighter weight blanket in case you don't want the comforter. Many breakfast choices including hot items. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbfues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
1.4 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#21 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
1.9 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road

Property: Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
Address: 204 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Asheville
#2 Business Hotel in Asheville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to wonderful and rare Asheville we're eager to have you stay with us at the Hampton Inn® Asheville-I-240 Tunnel Rd. We are perfectly and conveniently nestled amongst all of Asheville's most popular attractions, including the world famous Biltmore Estate and winery, historic downtown Asheville, and America's most scenic byway--the Blue Ridge Parkway. Once you've arrived at our hotel, you'll enjoy a lot of great amenities waiting for you in your room, including free high-speed internet access in every guest room, handy lap desks, and 32" HD flat-screen televisions. Our recently renovated Perfect Mix Lobby is a perfect marriage of vibrantly blended colors, creating a perfect space to mingle with friends, watch the big game on the oversized HD flat-screen television, or finish up the day's business on plush sofas or the communal table. Our guests also enjoy our complimentary On the House™ hot breakfast, featuring a variety of hot breakfast items and fresh Belgian waffles. If you're looking for relaxation, splash down in our newly renovated indoor pool, melt the day's stress away in our whirlpool spa or maintain your healthy lifestyle in our state of the art fitness center featuring all new Precor® equipment. When you're ready for some rest, hunker down for the night in our comfiest amenity yet, our Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Come and experience for yourself the splendor of the Blue Ridge Mountains at the newly renovated Hampton Inn® Asheville-I-240 Tunnel Rd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tunnel Road Hotel Asheville
Hampton Inn Asheville Tunnel Rd
Asheville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing