We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Another Great Hampton”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed another great stay at a Hampton Inn. What I liked about this one is the pool and exercise area. It is a large glassed in area and has a real open feel. Nice. The breakfast is good too. Plenty of hot protein choices.

It only negative is being on the third floor on the front of the hotel. I have a lovely view of their air mechanics and exhaust vents. Not only is it an eyesore, it is also noisy. It is a large area. I'm guessing it runs the length of eight rooms. So to be on the safe side, request a different floor or to be in the "odd" numbered rooms which face the back.

I know there isn't much they can do for this problem, but to charge less for these rooms would be a start!

Room Tip: Do not accept the "even" numbered rooms on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCLowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    350
    90
    21
    17
See reviews for
461
557
50
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dobson, NC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while he attended a conference nearby. The room was immaculate, with a note about the bedspread being cleaned between guests. I've read about the bacteria found in hotel rooms and this was a nice touch. The room was equipped with a coffee maker, microwave and small refrigerator which is nice! The staff went out of their way to speak to me and make sure I was comfortable and happy. I made myself go to the workout area for my hour workout. It was small but equipped with stationary bike, elliptical, treadmill, mats and weights. I loved the treadmill, because I didn't need a doctorate to operate it. Also available was water, towels and big TV. The pool area was nice with a small indoor pool and hot tub. I can't wait to try it out! The breakfast bar was beautiful and comfortable, and the food was excellent, with Danish, waffles, fruit, cereal and hot foods. The lobby is nice with coffee and hot tea available 24 hours a day, plus chocolate chip cookies. This place us definitely worth a visit! It is the best Hampton Inn I've ever stayed in, by far! Give it a try!

Room Tip: Handicapped rooms are available, with two peepholes and a doorbell. Nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Very clean rooms and guest areas. The shuttle service was excellent to downtown. This saved us trying to find parking on the weekend. Breakfast had a nice selection and 24 hour coffee in the lobby. Close to the Blue Ridge Parkway. We will stay here again the next trip to Asheville.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had the most amazing stay at the Hampton Inn on Tunnel Rd this past week. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the rooms were amazing. Looks like the hotel has undergone a recent renovation. The rooms were super clean, furnishings new, coffee delicious (that's always important), beds SO comfortable and good selection for breakfast. The location is a plus also...about 5 minutes away from downtown, which is amazing! I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Asheville.

Room Tip: I believe that any room would be a great room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfrank15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Like the other reviewers, I agree this is a well-managed Hampton Inn. Our room was attractive and very comfortable. I like the fact the comforter/bed spread is washed between guests--it was white and immaculate. The staff was friendly and helpful. I also want to acknowledge the young man working in the breakfast area and thank him for his excellent service- for all the times he asked us if we needed anything and for the times he took our plates, and helped us. The breakfast was decent, there was a fair variety of hot items which changed daily. I stayed for 4 nights with 2 sisters and we all agreed we would stay there again when we return to Asheville.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casualtraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Highly appreciate the care that goes into everything the staff does at the Hampton on Tunnel rd. Rooms are very clean, bathrooms pretty. Lobby looks amazing. Breakfast was great, not a crumb on the floor. Staff is friendly and helpful with all your needs. I enjoyed the cookies at the end of the day. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This is not the same Hampton Inn experience I remember from times in the past. It honestly had the look and feel of a Hyatt Place. The decor, the room layout, the comfy beds and linens, the tile bathrooms were all seriously impressive. My teenage daughter and her friend really enjoyed the indoor pool.

I will say that the "hot breakfast" was a little disappointing. Granted, we were vacationing at the same time as everyone else and the kids from other families were running around like crazy and eating up all the sausage patties and eggs, the truth is that the service team had a hard time keeping up with the demand during peak hours. Seriously though, they need to change their coffee vendor. I have yet to have a good cup of coffee from Seattle's Best, so please change it out to something like good old fashioned Folgers. It tastes better than this stuff!

All in all though, it was a great hotel just off the highway so there was no road noise and very convenient to the highway access.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank vwbeetle72jellybeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 65 in Asheville
1,168 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road

Property: Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
Address: 204 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Asheville
#2 Family Hotel in Asheville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to wonderful and rare Asheville we're eager to have you stay with us at the Hampton Inn® Asheville-I-240 Tunnel Rd. We are perfectly and conveniently nestled amongst all of Asheville's most popular attractions, including the world famous Biltmore Estate and winery, historic downtown Asheville, and America's most scenic byway--the Blue Ridge Parkway. Once you've arrived at our hotel, you'll enjoy a lot of great amenities waiting for you in your room, including free high-speed internet access in every guest room, handy lap desks, and 32" HD flat-screen televisions. Our recently renovated Perfect Mix Lobby is a perfect marriage of vibrantly blended colors, creating a perfect space to mingle with friends, watch the big game on the oversized HD flat-screen television, or finish up the day's business on plush sofas or the communal table. Our guests also enjoy our complimentary On the House™ hot breakfast, featuring a variety of hot breakfast items and fresh Belgian waffles. If you're looking for relaxation, splash down in our newly renovated indoor pool, melt the day's stress away in our whirlpool spa or maintain your healthy lifestyle in our state of the art fitness center featuring all new Precor® equipment. When you're ready for some rest, hunker down for the night in our comfiest amenity yet, our Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Come and experience for yourself the splendor of the Blue Ridge Mountains at the newly renovated Hampton Inn® Asheville-I-240 Tunnel Rd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tunnel Road Hotel Asheville
Hampton Inn Asheville Tunnel Rd
Asheville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing