We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We loved this place. Having never been to Asheville, we were kind of in the dark when booking a place that would be close enough to the city but also affordable. We hit the nail on the head with this Hampton Inn! The staff were incredibly friendly and knowledgable. Whenever we asked for and directions, they had them already printed out . Our rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfast selections were great...from biscuits and gravy to waffles; a far cry from some we have had with dry muffins and cold cereal! Even when there was an issue with our bill, they made sure that the customer came first! If we ever get back to Asheville, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,245 - 1,251 of 1,535 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean. The breakfast in the morning was ok just to get started but don't expect a whole lot from the eggs & meat. If a waffle & fruit is ok then it works. Safe area. We didn't use the indoor pool but it looked fine. While it is close to downtown they do offer free shuttle service until 9:30pm. The bed was very comfortable with 4 pillows in the King.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

By far, THE friendliest Hampton Inn I've ever stayed at. The staff was great from check in to check out with what seemed like genuine enthusiasm (either that or they are really good at acting :) There are the usual amenities, but the bonus for me was that they had a shuttle available for anywhere within 5 miles of the hotel- so we didn't have to worry about driving downtown for traffic OR parking. It was within walking distance to multiple restaurants and a mall. I'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: request an upper floor room for better views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cass20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great value, very nice room. Very clean and comfortable. Used the shuttle service to be taken downtown for the evening, instead of our car. This was very helpful. We were treated very nice during our stay by the staff. Overall an excellent experience!! We will definitely stay here again when we are in town or passing through.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Calvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We try to stay at Hampton Inns a lot of the time, as they are consistently good. This one does not disappoint. It's in a great central location for exploring Asheville and all it's sights including, of course, the Biltmore Estate. There is always the free warm breakfast and free parking and free Internet. Our double queen room is quite roomy and has a fridge and microwave. AND, this is the first hotel room we've had with so many lights! Usually, hotel rooms are poorly lit. There are other amenities that we're not using, including workout room, pool, etc. Our room seems nice and quiet; beds and pillows very comfortable. We would definitely come back to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiBowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a 4-night midweek stay at this Hampton Inn and were very pleased. The hotel has been recently refurbished and is clean, attractive and comfortable. It sits off the highway, up a hill, and is surrounded by trees and pretty landscaping.
It is about a 15 minute drive to the Biltmore Estate and to downtown Asheville. Although we used our own car to drive to Biltmore we did take advantage of the hotel's shuttle service to go downtown and out to dinner in the evenings. This was a nice benefit for us, as it allowed us to avoid traffic and parking issues. The only thing to remember is that they would like at least 30 minutes notice when you want to go somewhere or return. This was never a problem for us and we enjoyed visiting with the staff who shuttled us to and fro. (Be sure to check with the hotel as to the hours that the shuttle is available....on our visit it was from 8a.m. to 9:30pm)
The indoor pool/jacuzi area is spacious and very pretty with comfortable chairs. We made use of this area, as well as the adjacent outdoor patio. This was a great place to relax and unwind after a long drive to Ashville.
Just a short drive down Tunnel Road there are many of the usual chain restaurants. There is also an Italian (chain) restaurant right behind the hotel, about a one or two minute walk so no need to get back in the car.
We found the complimentary breakfast to offer a good variety of items and it was more than adequate for our needs. If you are in a hurry they also provide a to-go snack bag with a muffin, bottle of water, breakfast bar, apple and some mints. There was always hot coffee and hot water for tea or cocoa provided. It was nice to come back after dinner and enjoy a cup of coffee along with the complimentary fresh cookies.
Every staff member with whom we interacted was friendly and helpful. They answered all our questions and concerns and certainly enhanced our visit. We felt that we received very good value and would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blytheIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

For just a few dollars more per night than other nearby hotels, we enjoyed a two-room suite. The room as well as the public areas were exceptionally clean and well kept. The staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. Breakfast offered numerous hot and cold choices and my wife, who has Celiac Disease, found items she could safely eat. Lots of nearby restaurant choices as well as a grocery store if you'd rather cook in the suite. Easy five-minute drive into downtown Asheville. I would highly recommend this property without hesitation!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - I-26 Biltmore Area
1.9 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
1.4 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#24 of 66 in Asheville
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road

Address: 204 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Asheville
#2 Family Hotel in Asheville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $135 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to wonderful and rare Asheville we're eager to have you stay with us at the Hampton Inn® Asheville-I-240 Tunnel Rd. We are perfectly and conveniently nestled amongst all of Asheville's most popular attractions, including the world famous Biltmore Estate and winery, historic downtown Asheville, and America's most scenic byway--the Blue Ridge Parkway. Once you've arrived at our hotel, you'll enjoy a lot of great amenities waiting for you in your room, including free high-speed internet access in every guest room, handy lap desks, and 32" HD flat-screen televisions. Our recently renovated Perfect Mix Lobby is a perfect marriage of vibrantly blended colors, creating a perfect space to mingle with friends, watch the big game on the oversized HD flat-screen television, or finish up the day's business on plush sofas or the communal table. Our guests also enjoy our complimentary On the House™ hot breakfast, featuring a variety of hot breakfast items and fresh Belgian waffles. If you're looking for relaxation, splash down in our newly renovated indoor pool, melt the day's stress away in our whirlpool spa or maintain your healthy lifestyle in our state of the art fitness center featuring all new Precor® equipment. When you're ready for some rest, hunker down for the night in our comfiest amenity yet, our Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Come and experience for yourself the splendor of the Blue Ridge Mountains at the newly renovated Hampton Inn® Asheville-I-240 Tunnel Rd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tunnel Road Hotel Asheville
Hampton Inn Asheville Tunnel Rd
Asheville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing