We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I were in Asheville for the Heritage Classic Ballroom competition and decided to stay at this location due its proximity to the Grove Park Inn (which was over $200 per night). We were very pleased with the room and services provided, and I usually pick Hampton as a first choice, not just because I am a Hilton Honors member, but because they always seem to deliver on their promises. We were very happy with the room, cleanliness, breakfast buffet, politeness of staff and the overall experience. Would definitely recommend this to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCoon, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review for our hotel. I appreciate your compliments of our cleanliness, breakfast and our team. I am grateful for your loyalty to Hampton and I am so glad that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your trip to Asheville. We hope to see you again soon!


Sincerely,
Andrea Coon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    333
    88
    19
    16
See reviews for
433
529
47
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Statesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I've been staying at this hotel on business for about 10 years. They did a major renovation a couple of years ago. The rooms are always exceptionally clean and the beds are very comfortable. The lobby area is very relaxing and comfortable as well. The hotel staff is very friendly. I can stay at hotel with a rate of $130 per night through my company and I always pick this one. While traveling with my boss who will only stay at Marriott properties, we stayed at the Fairfield in next door about a year ago (seperate rooms of course). The beds were uncomfortable and the rooms need renovating. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jashcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCoon, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I truly appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. I know there are a lot of choices in Asheville and I am grateful you choose us. Thank you for your compliments on our comfortable beds, cleanliness, lobby and especially our team. I will be sure to share your review in our team "huddle". Thank you again! We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Andrea Coon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was so excited to be able to stay at this Hampton Inn. The reviews I had read were great and I was especially excited about the indoor pool for my 8 year old and the spa for me! The front desk was lovely and everyone was so nice and eager to help. We went to our room on the 3rd floor and it was just beautiful. The bed was lush and I could have just gone to sleep then and there. We however, ventured to the pool and it was nicely heated and clean. The spa whicjh is close by was hot and bubbling just like I like it! There was a water cooler close by and lots of clean towels! We enjoyed the night with swimming and good TV! After our restful sleep, we had a delicious filling hot breakfast! Everything was just wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nursek40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCoon, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I am glad we had a room too! I love hearing from guests who find us on TripAdvisor. I am very grateful for your compliments of our team. I am so glad you took the time to enjoy the pool and spa. It is such a great space. Thank you for being our guest! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Andrea Coon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We always stayed at the Hampton Inn & then we had a very bad stay in Gatlinburg Hampton Inn & stopped using them. We saw this Inn had 5 stars so gave it a try. The Inn was very nice inside & out. The first thing to greet us was a try of cookies & several coffee pots. The lady at the desk was very nice. They made you fee welcome.
Our room was very clean & very nice. The Bed was confortable. The Refridge was hidden in side a piece of furniture. The selection of TV channels were very good. The breakfest was a nice selection of food & seemed fresh.
Right behind the resturant was our favorite resturant! We were able to walk there. The location was perfect. Just a few minutes from Downtown Ashville & The Bitmore. Two blocks down was a very nice mall. This trip was a get away for the wife & I that was much needed. We left at 4:30 AM & the lady at the counter got us two brown bags with breakfast items to take with us. That was a perfect ending to a perfect getaway. We will be back & after 10 years will start using Hampton Inn again.

Room Tip: The whole experience is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCoon, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a glowing review for our hotel. I really appreciate you giving us an opportunity to serve you after a poor experience with another Hampton. I am thrilled that you had such a great experience and that you will begin using Hamptons again. That is a huge compliment for us and we are honored to have your business. Thank you again! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Asheville!

Sincerely,
Andrea Coon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was really looking forward to this one. The hotel was beautifully decorated and I LOVED the cleanliness of the room. The bedding was super clean and white. The bathroom was perfect. The lobby was beautiful, and the people were friendly. I never got to use the pool because I was ill. That was one of the reasons I was so glad the bathroom was clean because I was sitting on the bathroom floor in front of the toilet for most of the night. :(
My suggestions: Be careful following the hotel directions that they give you to places in the area because the ones to UNCA were wrong. The breakfast hot food items were cold, and even after several people asking that they be warmed up, nothing was done about it. The woman told us to take our food to our rooms to warm it up. Also, the coffee at the breakfast room ran out, and people were told to get it from the lobby. They could use a better attendant for their breakfast and the stay would become perfect.

Room Tip: Get on the highest floor available for a great view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneAnn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCoon, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I really appreciate your compliments of our hotel, our cleanliness and our team. I am so sorry to hear that you were sick during your stay with us. I can only imagine how awful that must have been. We have corrected the error on the UNCA directions. Thank you so much for bringing the error to our attention. I cannot apologize enough about the unsatisfactory breakfast experience. I am shocked that one of our breakfast attendants would act in such an unacceptable way. I have addressed it with all of our breakfast team members but I would love to have more information so that I can address it with the team member specifically. We do stand behind our 100% Hampton guarantee and I would be happy to refund your nights stay. We focus on service and I apologize that our team member chose not to share that focus. Thank you so much for your feedback. It will help us to improve in the future. I hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Asheville.

Sincerely,


Andrea Coon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wytheville, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed one night, 2-22-13, and overall I enjoyed the experience. The room was thankfully quite, even when the air was on, and I didn't hear any other guests. Everything was very clean.

There were a few things that had been overlooked that made me think the $139.00 price was a bit steep. One, the mattress was pretty thin and didn't offer much support. Two, I was disappointed that the mattress was not sealed in a bag-it just had a standard mattress pad. Three, the shower drain was REALLY slow. All in all, a recently renovated hotel with a lot going for it, and I would probably stay there again, just not for $139.00.

Oh, and if the hotel is reading this, I personally think that your advertising about clean sheets, including post-it notes on the headboards notifying me that the sheets were clean, sends the wrong advertising message. I would expect clean sheets in a place like this, and would have never given it a second thought.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCoon, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I am very grateful of your compliments about the cleanliness. Due to Asheville being a destination area our rates do fluctuate depending on the season with weekend rates typically being higher than weekday rates. I am sorry to hear that you did not like our mattresses and that the tub drained slowly. I will definitely have our maintenance team look at the room you stayed in. The Hampton brand released the post it notes for hotel use in effort to advertise that the duvet covers and all bed linens are clean and fresh for each guest's arrival. There are still many hotel brands that do not wash their comforters and we want to assure our guests that we do. I am very grateful for your feedback. We will use it as a tool to improve our product and service. Thank you for being our guest. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you on your next trip to Asheville.

Sincerely,


Andrea Coon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We spent last weekend here for the 5th time and each stay has been more than we could ask for in a hotel. We have actually stayed at several other hotels which include the Grove Park Inn, Residences at Biltmore, Courtyard by Marriott located in the Asheville area which each of these are good establishments in their own right but the staff at Hampton Inn Tunnel Road is what makes our stay extra special. They go out of their way to make sure that all of their guests are comfortable and happy. The rooms are very clean as is the whole hotel and you can tell the staff takes pride in their work. They are genuine in their efforts to help in any way that they can including special request for breakfast items or providing the shuttle service!

Room Tip: prefer the double queen rooms but king size rooms are nice also
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBChipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCoon, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for being a loyal guest. I really appreciate your warm compliments of our hotel and especially our team. I am very proud to work with such a great group of people. We understand how important vacation time is and really try to create experiences for our guests. Thank you for posting so many great photos. They will help other travelers to see our place before booking. I am grateful for your loyalty and I hope you will stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,


Andrea Coon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
3.6 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
1.9 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
1.7 mi away
Haywood Park Hotel
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road

Property: Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
Address: 204 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Asheville
#2 Family Hotel in Asheville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to wonderful and rare Asheville we're eager to have you stay with us at the Hampton Inn® Asheville-I-240 Tunnel Rd. We are perfectly and conveniently nestled amongst all of Asheville's most popular attractions, including the world famous Biltmore Estate and winery, historic downtown Asheville, and America's most scenic byway--the Blue Ridge Parkway. Once you've arrived at our hotel, you'll enjoy a lot of great amenities waiting for you in your room, including free high-speed internet access in every guest room, handy lap desks, and 32" HD flat-screen televisions. Our recently renovated Perfect Mix Lobby is a perfect marriage of vibrantly blended colors, creating a perfect space to mingle with friends, watch the big game on the oversized HD flat-screen television, or finish up the day's business on plush sofas or the communal table. Our guests also enjoy our complimentary On the House™ hot breakfast, featuring a variety of hot breakfast items and fresh Belgian waffles. If you're looking for relaxation, splash down in our newly renovated indoor pool, melt the day's stress away in our whirlpool spa or maintain your healthy lifestyle in our state of the art fitness center featuring all new Precor® equipment. When you're ready for some rest, hunker down for the night in our comfiest amenity yet, our Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Come and experience for yourself the splendor of the Blue Ridge Mountains at the newly renovated Hampton Inn® Asheville-I-240 Tunnel Rd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tunnel Road Hotel Asheville
Hampton Inn Asheville Tunnel Rd
Asheville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing