We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Poormans Biltmore (in hospitality )”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

If home is where the heart is, you will absolutely love the accommodations and staff at the Hampton Inn off Tunnel Road. Friendly and prompt customer service is in balance with clean and spacious rooms. Situated well off the busy Tunnel Road, noise was nonexistent. As a launching pad to visiting the historic Biltmore, and downtown, the Hampton Inn is also strategically located within a short distance to dinning, shopping and a movie theater. I would like to especially acknowledge Ms Laura Francis and her crew on making our 23rd Wedding Anniversary very special. Management if you're reading this that young lady needs more responsibility, upward mobility!

Room Tip: Plan to park in the back. Parking in the front comes with a slight uphill climb combined with stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpparker19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCoon, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you so much for writing such a glowing review for our hotel. I am honored that you chose to stay with us for such a special occasion! I am thrilled that Laura and the team helped to make your anniversary special. Laura is a great leader and I feel very fortunate to have her on my team. I will be sure to share your review with her and the rest of the team. Thank you for being our guest. We hope to see you when your travels bring you back to Asheville!

Sincerely,

Andrea Coon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,323 - 1,329 of 1,559 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

The customer service was great and the rooms have been updated and are fresh and clean!
I stayed on the 5th floor, it was generally very quiet and the heating/cooling worked great, and no stale room odor!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCoon, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I appreciate your compliments of our team and our renovations. I am very proud of our improvements and how well our team takes care of the property and our guests. Thank you for being our guest! We hope to see you on your next trip to Asheville!

Sincerely,

Andrea Coon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

clean. great service. what more u need. stayed one night on way to Florida. will stay again. fresh new renovations. was a little out of the way and ashevile can be confusing driving but well worth the confusion.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naybob08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCoon, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you so much for writing such a nice review of our hotel. I really appreciate your compliments on our renovations. We are very proud of the improvements and love to hear feedback from our guests. I will be sure to share your kind words about our great service with our team. Thank you for being our guest! We hope to see you when your travels bring you back to Asheville.


Sincerely,

Andrea Coon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hampton Inn is located approximately 2 miles from the main downtown area of Ashville. The hotel does everything right to provide guest a comfortable stay. The staff is very friendly, good breakfast, clean room, nice hot tub and pool, and comfortable beds. What else can you ask for in a hotel. We will definitely stay here again! Everyone from the maids to the shuttle driver to the front desk were genuine and looking to provide great customer service. I especially thank Patrick who helped us at the front desk, and drove us to the shuttle to the downtown area helping us find good restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KillB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCoon, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for writing such a warm review of our hotel. I appreciate your compliments of our breakfast, cleanliness, pool, hot tub and beds. I agree that those are vital ingredients to a great experience. I also thank you for your compliments of Patrick and the rest of our team. I am very fortunate to work with such an outstanding group of people who really give 100% to our guests. I will be sure to share your review with them. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Andrea Coon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I am seeing in someone else's review that there was a shuttle to downtown. I didn't know that until after I left, unfortunately. The hotel is very convenient to downtown, shopping, The Biltmore House, movie theaters, restaurants, etc. The staff was more friendly than any I have seen in a while, in a way that felt genuine, not forced. There was nothing that they didn't want to help you with. Although, I found that to be true of all of Asheville. There was a cheery fire in the front lobby and several groupings of chairs/sofas. I always saw people "hanging out" in the lobby with friends when I passed through. Very cozy. The rooms were clean and up-to-date. Our room was at the end of the hall, and there is no "back entrance". We had to walk all the way down the hall from the front lobby every time. This helped keep it quiet, I suppose. The breakfast buffet was free, which was one of the reasons I chose a Hampton. However, I've had better fare at other Hampton Inns. The hot food was eggs and biscuits/gravy on Day 1-- both of which I threw away and got an English Muffin. Day 2 had eggs and sausage. The sausage was good (patty-style) and I had it with another English Muffin. They had fresh cut-up fruit, which was fine, but only had 3 grapes in the whole bowl (maybe some child picked them out). Selections of Juices, Teas, etc. were all fine.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCoon, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I really appreciate your kind words regarding our team. I am very proud to work with such a great group of people who truly want to take care of our guests. Thank you for your compliments of our lobby and rooms. I apologize that our breakfast didn't meet your expectations and I appreciate your feedback. I will share your review with our breakfast team and work with them to find ways to make improvements. We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Asheville!

Sincerely,

Andrea Coon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stay in lots of Hamptons, but this one stands out for its friendly service, convenient location and little extras. The shuttle to downtown Asheville is a big help, because that area can get very congested, with limited parking options. Just tell them when you want to go and when you want to be picked up - easy peasy. The front desk staff knows the area very well and had all sorts of suggestions based on our interests. The smell of the pine trees that surround the property is just one more bonus.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farewell18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCoon, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. I really appreciate your compliments of our team. I am proud of the team we have and I love to hear positive feedback from our guests. I am glad you took advantage of our free shuttle and had a great experience. I will be sure to share your review with our team in our next 'huddle'. Thank you for being our guest. We hope to see you again soon!


Sincerely,

Andrea Coon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We picked this hotel based on the tripadvisor rating and it didn't let us down. The room was very clean and comfortable. We stayed in a king room on the first floor. The young man at the front desk said that all of the first floor king rooms are accessible rooms. I like the way the shower is made in them. There is no tub, but we don't use one anyway--we just use the shower. He offered for the shuttle to take us downtown when we asked about how to get there. He even gave us a list of local restaurants and on the first page there is a list of the highest rated restaurants in the area by tripadvisor. We ended up at Texas Roadhouse. Yumm. This hotel is close to everything. The Biltmore House is only about 3 miles away, the Asheville mall is about 1 mile and downtown is only about a mile farther than the mall.
We only spent one night and when we got up the next day we didn't eat the breakfast--we were eager to get back home. We have stayed at many Hampton Inns before and a lot of the time we just grab a breakfast bag to go. There weren't any sitting on the counter so my husband asked about it. The girl up front said that they don't do that on weekends.She said that they had a couple behind the desk and asked if we wanted just one. He told her that we would take both of them since there were two of us. I am not sure if they are all this way(not doing the bag breakfast on the weekends) or just this one but it kind of made us feel awkward about it. The sign didn't say that it was only offered on weekends. That was our only negative about our stay. Everything else was great!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCoon, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I love hearing that you heard of us on TripAdvisor and I am thrilled that you had a great experience with us. All of our first floor kings do have great stand up shower stalls without tubs. A lot of our guests prefer these. We also have three rooms on the first floor that are accessible with roll-in showers. I am sorry if the gentleman at the desk misspoke. I also want to apologize if we in any way made you feel awkward about asking for a breakfast bag. As a brand, Hampton offers the on the run bags Monday through Friday but we almost always have some prepared on the weekends and I would never want our guests to feel uncomfortable asking us for anything. I appreciate you bringing it to my attention so that my team can see it from a different perspective. Thank you again for your time and your feedback. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you on your next visit to Asheville.


Sincerely,

Andrea Coon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - I-26 Biltmore Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
1.9 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
1.4 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#26 of 66 in Asheville
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road

Address: 204 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Asheville
#2 Family Hotel in Asheville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $107 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to wonderful and rare Asheville we're eager to have you stay with us at the Hampton Inn® Asheville-I-240 Tunnel Rd. We are perfectly and conveniently nestled amongst all of Asheville's most popular attractions, including the world famous Biltmore Estate and winery, historic downtown Asheville, and America's most scenic byway--the Blue Ridge Parkway. Once you've arrived at our hotel, you'll enjoy a lot of great amenities waiting for you in your room, including free high-speed internet access in every guest room, handy lap desks, and 32" HD flat-screen televisions. Our recently renovated Perfect Mix Lobby is a perfect marriage of vibrantly blended colors, creating a perfect space to mingle with friends, watch the big game on the oversized HD flat-screen television, or finish up the day's business on plush sofas or the communal table. Our guests also enjoy our complimentary On the House™ hot breakfast, featuring a variety of hot breakfast items and fresh Belgian waffles. If you're looking for relaxation, splash down in our newly renovated indoor pool, melt the day's stress away in our whirlpool spa or maintain your healthy lifestyle in our state of the art fitness center featuring all new Precor® equipment. When you're ready for some rest, hunker down for the night in our comfiest amenity yet, our Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Come and experience for yourself the splendor of the Blue Ridge Mountains at the newly renovated Hampton Inn® Asheville-I-240 Tunnel Rd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tunnel Road Hotel Asheville
Hampton Inn Asheville Tunnel Rd
Asheville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing