We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest Hampton we've stayed in in quite some time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The nicest Hampton we've stayed in in quite some time”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel has recently been completely remodeled. The room was spotless, the new decor very modern. The bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was as we have come to expect at Hampton Inn. The hotel is conveniently located to all the sights and great restaurants of Asheville. We've stayed here many times before but now that the hotel is like brand new, we will definitely keep returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcpulsfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCoon, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a warm review for our hotel. We are so proud of our improvements and love to hear how much our guests love them too! Thank you for your loyalty. We can't wait to see you on your next trip to Asheville.

Sincerely,

Andrea Coon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    362
    92
    22
    18
See reviews for
475
573
51
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Every aspect of this hotel was first-rate. The desk staff was friendly and efficient. Employees have been well trained to provide quality service. (We loved meeting TJ and seeing how supportive the staff was of him.) We thought the hotel was brand new, but learned it has been there for a number of years. The rooms were spotless and had a decor that felt more upscale than many Hamptons. Beds were comfortable, AC/heating unit quiet. Plenty of fluffy, fresh-smelling towels. Restful location with no traffic noise. Breakfast was nice, and served in a pleasant room with adequate seating. There are many food choices close. It is not far from the Biltmore Mansion. Can't say enough about the value for the reasonable cost.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 91914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCoon, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you so much for writing such a warm review of our hotel. We strive to wow every guest who stays with us and our team will be thrilled to hear your review. Thank you for the compliments of our team, our breakfast and our location. I love to hear such positive feedback. I am so glad that you got to meet TJ while he was visiting with us. He is such an inspiration and we love having him be part of our team when he is in Asheville. We hope that your travels bring you back to Asheville soon. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Andrea Coon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piedmont of NC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Good quality Hampton Inn with usual amenities. Nice size suite. Adequate breakfast. Off tunnel road, so convenient to all the sights of asheville. Property was clean and up to date. Rooms were quiet. No complaints. Would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onamissionap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCoon, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate the compliments of our location and cleanliness. We take pride in providing a comfortable and enjoyable stay for all of our guests. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will be our guest on your next visit to the Asheville area.

Sincerely,

Andrea Coon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed two nights at this HI. Quiet/Safe location. Property is well cared for. Check in ok. Room clean. Housekeeper "Tony" did a fantastic job caring for the room. Beds comfortable and all linens fit properly, no lumpy comforter (not so the case in previous HI we visited). Towels good. Bathroom spotless. Breakfast above average, staff does a great job maintaining breakfast selection -hot and cold.
Only one elevator, but we experienced no long waits. We purchased Biltmore tickets at the hotel. Good move as this saved us having to wait in line at the Biltmore. For the most part front desk staff was pleasant and accomodating. Only one exception, guess he was having a bad day. We did not use the Inn's shuttle service. Bone Fish Grill is a great restaurant not far from the Hotel. We would return to this Hampton Inn property.

Room Tip: Room 408 Nice View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCoon, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your compliments with Tony and the rest of our team. Our housekeeping manager and her team take great pride in the cleanliness of the rooms. They will be thrilled to hear your compliments of their department. I apologize that you were not told that we have two elevators. We have one on each end of the building. This will be a great reminder for our front desk team. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Asheville!

Sincerely,

Andrea Coon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALEXANDRIA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was in Asheville at peak leaf peeping time, Western Carolina Craft Fair, College fall break and several weddings - so it was an expensive time to get a room at the Hampton Inn. These rooms were literally twice as much as usual and I had to shell out $300 to sleep in a standard Hampton room. The front desk staff was sincerely friendly, professional and courteous. They offered to check some other nearby hotels but it was a busy weekend so I went with HI. This property is in a great location across form a shopping mall and many restaurants. I got a comfortable non-smoking room with two clean and terrific queen beds, the duvets freshly laundered and covered with pillows. The room & bathroom were spotless, as was the entire hotel. The flat screen TV, wifi connection and free coffee and cookies in the lobby were all great. I used the pool, which was very attractive with blue and green chairs and chaise lounges around the room. There were lots of clean white towels stacked for the swimmers. The fitness room was standard with a treadmill and a TV, perhaps more but that was all I was interested in. Buffet breakfast included several hot options and healthy stuff like oatmeal and yogurt. No hard boiled eggs because the hotel manager doesn't like them! Except for the staggering price, this was very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PolyMorphMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCoon, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am so glad that you had a good experience with us - even if the rate was higher than expected. October is definitely one of the busiest months of the year for our area. Thank you so much for your compliments of our team and rooms. I really like the thoroughness of your review. It will be very helpful to other travelers. I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast. Hard boiled eggs are currently an optional item. The corporate office for our location has chosen not to serve them. I apologize if it was made to seem that it was based on my personal preference. We are given very strict guidelines by the brand on items served. Thank you so much for all of the great feedback! It is vital to our success! I hope that you will visit us again soon. Thank you for being our guest!

Sincerely,

Andrea Coon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The asst GM Robbie at the desk was the best! Our reservations were for the next night but she accommodated us immediately with a clean, nicely furnished room prior to 3:00 check in time. The pillows were comfy and the mattress a bit firm but to our liking. Complementary rides are available to downtown Asheville in a hotel van, so our driver, Reggie, took us to our appointed destination for a day of discovering. we found great shopping at the Mast General Store and restaurants with vegetarian menus and creative beverages. Be sure to visit Plant and LAB. across from Mast, we liked the value of a huge slice of cheese pizza and a cold drink for 5.99. Additional toppings were .50 each. When it was time to go back to the hotel, we called the hotel and Reggie was there to pick us up wherever we were. He was amazing! Thanks Reggie. Also, the continental breakfast bar was one of the best we've ever had. Two employees kept things clean and refreshed, kept the plates and coffee cups picked up and trash cans emptied, and they still had time to say good morning to the guests. They're worth tipping for their attention to detail too. We will stay there again. Accommodating tired, hungry travelers is a top priority at this hotel.

Room Tip: Modern furnishings, excellent service, friendly and knowledgeable staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila6851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCoon, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing such a warm review of our hotel. I am thrilled that you had such a great experience. Our guests are so important to us and I am glad we conveyed that during your stay. I am grateful to work with such a great group of people like Reggie and Robbie. I will be sure to share your compliments with them and the rest of our team. Thank you for being our guest! We hope to see you soon.


Sincerely,

Andrea Coon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby, kansas
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

All outstanding. This is a top notch facility. Staff is very accommodating and helpful. They even have a shuttle where they will take you downtown then pick you up. Included in room price. Speaking of room, clean, clean, clean. Have I said how helpful staff was?
The location s great to get around the entire Asheville area. Easy peasy. We stayed at other Hamtpton, Hilton's and this was by far the best, cleanest and best value. Bed was comfortable and I really appreciate the duvets being cleaned after each guest.

Room Tip: They are all good.sets back from road and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcbannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaCoon, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review for our hotel. I really appreciate your compliments on our cleanliness, beds, shuttle and location. I will share your kind words with our team. We love hearing such great feedback. Thank you again! We can't wait to see you on your next trip to Asheville!


Sincerely,

Andrea Coon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Asheville- Tunnel Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
1.4 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,197 reviews
1.9 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Biltmore / Asheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road

Property: Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
Address: 204 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Asheville
#2 Business Hotel in Asheville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to wonderful and rare Asheville we're eager to have you stay with us at the Hampton Inn® Asheville-I-240 Tunnel Rd. We are perfectly and conveniently nestled amongst all of Asheville's most popular attractions, including the world famous Biltmore Estate and winery, historic downtown Asheville, and America's most scenic byway--the Blue Ridge Parkway. Once you've arrived at our hotel, you'll enjoy a lot of great amenities waiting for you in your room, including free high-speed internet access in every guest room, handy lap desks, and 32" HD flat-screen televisions. Our recently renovated Perfect Mix Lobby is a perfect marriage of vibrantly blended colors, creating a perfect space to mingle with friends, watch the big game on the oversized HD flat-screen television, or finish up the day's business on plush sofas or the communal table. Our guests also enjoy our complimentary On the House™ hot breakfast, featuring a variety of hot breakfast items and fresh Belgian waffles. If you're looking for relaxation, splash down in our newly renovated indoor pool, melt the day's stress away in our whirlpool spa or maintain your healthy lifestyle in our state of the art fitness center featuring all new Precor® equipment. When you're ready for some rest, hunker down for the night in our comfiest amenity yet, our Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Come and experience for yourself the splendor of the Blue Ridge Mountains at the newly renovated Hampton Inn® Asheville-I-240 Tunnel Rd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tunnel Road Hotel Asheville
Hampton Inn Asheville Tunnel Rd
Asheville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing