We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern hospitality at its finest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Holland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Southern hospitality at its finest”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

It was my pleasure to stay at this stylish, newly renovated hotel last week following
my son's graduation from Warren Wilson College with an MFA in writing.The pleasing decor and cleanliness of the hotel itself, plus the warmth and kindness extended by the competant staff, combined to make my stay an experience that greatly exceeded my expectations.
I will stay at this hotal again, when I return to Asheville.
As a former teacher, I give this hotel and staff an A+.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dee Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshevilleHamptonGM2, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Congratulations on your sons graduation. That is a great accomplishment! Thank you so much for writing such a beautiful review. I can see where your son gets his talent in writing :-)
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to share your compliments with the team.
We hope that you will come stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,

Andrea Coon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    350
    90
    21
    17
See reviews for
461
557
50
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The hotel was very impressive physically but the extension of compassion from the staff was
overwhelming. I was in town receiving surgery and received more than I could have ever expected. To my surprise there was a get well card waiting for me in my room when checked in. It was signed by all the staff. It is the little things in life that are much more meaningful than the grandiose. That kind gesture will be everlasting to me. You have an awesome team.
Thank you Andrea, Josh, Billie, Kayla, Brenda,Brad,Mason,Barbara, Paula,Tracy, TR and Bo.You have friends in myself and my family. A positive attitude in life is free thanks for passing it on. J Cain

Room Tip: Just experience it for yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshevilleHamptonGM2, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review. It was our pleasure to serve you while you were having surgery in Asheville. We hope that your time with us was restful and healing. I will be sure to share your kind words with my team. I am sure that it will make their day as it has made mine. We hope that you are well soon and that we will be able to serve you again!

Sincerely,

Andrea Coon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Billie and staff went above and beyond expectations! Great job and we will stay here again

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bfm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshevilleHamptonGM2, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. It is always great to hear feedback from our guests. Thank you for your warm compliments of Billie and the rest of our team. I will be sure they are recognized. Thank you for being our guest! We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Asheville!

Sincerely,

Andrea Coon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I've stayed here regularly over the last three years, and it's always been a great place to stay. The recent renovations have only improved the experience. With the renovation, the breakfast has transitioned to the better breakfast that many Hampton's are now offering (fresh waffles always, then something different each morning in a buffet-type server (for instance, scrambled eggs, smoked sausage slices, bagel toppers, etc)

I had one of the renovated rooms this last stay, and they have a nice and bit larger than normal mini-fridge in each room, along with a microwave and flat screen TV. Plenty of easy to access electrical plugs.

Location is very convenient to downtown and the interstate. It's just a little bit less convenient to the Biltmore, but nothing in Asheville is really far from the Biltmore. (I should clarify a bit about convenience -- you're about four - six minutes to downtown, and probably ten - twelve minutes to front gate of the Biltmore, so it's not a big deal).

What else? It's near a big mall if you are looking for that, there's a grocery story within four blocks, if you are looking for that, and a fair number of chain restaurants (Chili's, Carraba's, etc. nearby)

One thing to note on this hotel -- I've stayed here all times of year -- there are times of the year when you can get in this hotel for less than $100, and other times when you'll pay closer to $200, just depending on the season. Just fyi.

Also - - note that most folks visiting this hotel don't realize that there are two elevators - -one at each end of the building. Something to remember when it's busy.

Room Tip: If you pick a room on the front side of the hotel, it has a really nice view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bamarockmtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshevilleHamptonGM2, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you so much for being our guest during your recent trip to Asheville. We appreciate you being a frequent guest. Thank you for providing such warm feedback on our renovations. I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast, new rooms and micro-fridges. We are very excited about the upgrades and love to hear that our guests are enjoying them as well. We are grateful that you took the time to write a review and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Andrea Coon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Hampton Inn on Tunnel Road while visiting our daughter at Christmas. Just as we checked in, the person at the front desk learned that there would be renovation in progress in the area around our room during our stay. On the following day the housekeeping staff moved our belongings to a newly renovated room on another floor, and we never heard any noise due to the construction. The staff, both front desk and housekeeping, was friendlier and more helpful than any that we have encountered elsewhere, and we were often greeted by name as we passed through the lobby. Our room was kept clean, and everything in it worked properly. The microwave, refrigerator, and free wireless internet all came in handy. The complimentary hot breakfast was above average, the only downside being the powdered eggs used to make the scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshevilleHamptonGM2, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a warm review of our hotel and staff. I am thrilled that we were able to move you to anewly renovated room. We truly strive to make sure that each guest has a memorable experience at our hotel and I am so glad that we hit the mark during your stay. I will be sure to share your compliments and feedback with our team. Thank you for being our guest! We hope to have the opportunity to serve you on your next trip to Asheville.

Sincerely,

Andrea Coon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stay at Hampton Inn's consistently and this hotel continued to meet my expectations. Despite the renovations going on, the hotel was clean, refreshing, and offered a beautiful new exercise room, indoor swimming pool/whirlpool. The front desk staff (Miss Laura and others) were extremely friendly, collegial, and helpful. There was a wonderful maintenance woman who made sure the temperature was comfortable while I was exercising. As always, the breakfast was scrumptious and the wireless internet is free. The location is convenient to 240.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peditox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshevilleHamptonGM2, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for being our guest during your trip to Asheville and for being a loyal Hampton traveler. We appreciate your feedback and compliments. I will be sure to recognize Laura and Tammy (maintenance) for their exceptional service. We hope that you will stay with us again soon so that you can experience our newly renovated rooms. I am sure that you will love them as much as we do! We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Andrea Coon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2011

My wife and I took her 87 year old mother and her 83 year old niece to visit her 90 year old sister. We chose Hampton Inn because we have stayed there frequently while traveling and have never been disappointed. It is always clean and the rates are reasonable. We were concerned about the logistics of getting our elderly family members who use walkers and canes in and out of the dining area at breakfast. We needn't worry. Josh, one of the breakfast staff, went well beyond what was required to make sure we found seats and had all that we needed for a pleasant meal. He brought food and amenities and even offered to fix their waffles. The amazing thing is that no prompt was required, and I witnessed him doing the same for several other patrons. With service like that we will continue to frequent Hampton Inns as we travel. Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshevilleHamptonGM2, General Manager at Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review for our hotel. Thank you for sharing your feedback about Josh. I will be sure that I share your compliments with him. He is a shining example of exceptional customer service and I am grateful to have him on my team. We hope that you will visit us again soon so that we can show off our newly renovated rooms! Thank you for being our guest!

Sincerely,

Andrea Coon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 65 in Asheville
1,168 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road

Property: Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
Address: 204 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Asheville
#2 Family Hotel in Asheville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to wonderful and rare Asheville we're eager to have you stay with us at the Hampton Inn® Asheville-I-240 Tunnel Rd. We are perfectly and conveniently nestled amongst all of Asheville's most popular attractions, including the world famous Biltmore Estate and winery, historic downtown Asheville, and America's most scenic byway--the Blue Ridge Parkway. Once you've arrived at our hotel, you'll enjoy a lot of great amenities waiting for you in your room, including free high-speed internet access in every guest room, handy lap desks, and 32" HD flat-screen televisions. Our recently renovated Perfect Mix Lobby is a perfect marriage of vibrantly blended colors, creating a perfect space to mingle with friends, watch the big game on the oversized HD flat-screen television, or finish up the day's business on plush sofas or the communal table. Our guests also enjoy our complimentary On the House™ hot breakfast, featuring a variety of hot breakfast items and fresh Belgian waffles. If you're looking for relaxation, splash down in our newly renovated indoor pool, melt the day's stress away in our whirlpool spa or maintain your healthy lifestyle in our state of the art fitness center featuring all new Precor® equipment. When you're ready for some rest, hunker down for the night in our comfiest amenity yet, our Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Come and experience for yourself the splendor of the Blue Ridge Mountains at the newly renovated Hampton Inn® Asheville-I-240 Tunnel Rd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tunnel Road Hotel Asheville
Hampton Inn Asheville Tunnel Rd
Asheville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing