We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Accommodations in the Heart of Downtown Asheville”
Review of Haywood Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Haywood Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spacious Accommodations in the Heart of Downtown Asheville”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Haywood Park, converted from an old Ivey's Department Store, has large, comfortable rooms. This boutique hotel provides personalized, friendly service that makes the stay there a special pleasure. At the convergence of Battery Park, Wall Street, and Haywood, the location is close to many of the great restaurants in this remarkable foodie town. The glass of champagne on arrival is a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    128
    35
    23
    19
See reviews for
117
446
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our recent stay at the Haywood Park Hotel was excellent. Great service, beautiful rooms, very accommodating staff. It is in a great location, walkable to everything.
Asheville is great and this is a wonderful Hotel.

Room Tip: Room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joeb1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We are regular visitors to Asheville but this was our first stay at the Haywood. For the particular weekend, the Haywood was less expensive than where we normally stay. The room was huge and even though in the middle of town, it was very quiet. The bathroom has two separate rooms and had three sinks. The staff was friendly and the valet service for our car was very efficient. When you throw in the free breakfast, not offered at the other downtown hotels, it is even a better deal. Admittedly, most of the chain hotels in the Biltmore Village area and on the freeway are less expensive, but they are not as convenient and you have to deal with the downtown parking. If it is in your price range it is a great hotel. You will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at The Haywood for two nights this weekend. We decided to get away and walked into the hotel after we arrived in town. There was availability and we were offered a room on the 4th floor billed as "the New York view" along with a slight discount. Front desk staff was very pleasant and told us the room had no view as it was beside the condos next door. We really didn't care about that so we took it.
Room was ok, certainly spacious but was a little dank and damp smelling. Bed was fine but the kicker is the 7am wake up call from the trash trucks in the alley downstairs! At 7 am on Monday morning, it went on for what seemed like forever before the compacting and bursting of glass bottles stopped.
I was willing to overlook that once and did not mention it to the desk staff as I thought it would only be after the weekend "pick up". BUT NO!!! Again onTuesday morning, 7am, same thing!
I was really disappointed and wished I had been told I got New York street noise and trash pick up with that New York view.
I did decided to mention it to the desk staff (after we checked out) and told Ed about it. He apologized and went on to say he was surprised they were letting them in the alley and apparently folks were willing to pay a million dollars for the condos next door were willing to put up with it. Ok, but I didn't buy a condo….I paid for an upscale hotel room and wanted a good night's sleep and to not to be awakened.
He said to ask for a street view next time….so..if you are planning a trip to Asheville, the location is great but Aloft and Hotel Indigo seemed to be more "happening" places. We walked to both of them to check them out for our next stay. Nightlife and outside seating areas with cocktails. Made Haywood Park look stuffy and old.

Room Tip: According to Ed at the front desk, ask for a street view to avoid being awakened by trash collection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NCSandbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, ky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

If you are traveling to Asheville, there really is no better place to stay than the Haywood Park Hotel. The location is perfect, you literally walk out the front door and you are in the heart of everything. I researched many different places before booking and this hotel exceeded all expectations. The perks include free parking, free internet, truffles at turn down, champagne at check in and fruit throughout your stay. The staff is among the most friendly and helpful I have ever encountered and their restaurant is amazing. The rooms are gigantic and comfortable and the history associated with the hotel is simply charming. Additionally, the rate was lower than other hotel in the area that did not have the prime location or other perks. If I ever return to Asheville, the Haywood Park Hotel would be a highlight of the triip

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anodyne32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Asheville is one of our favorite places to go for a quick getaway, and normally, we tend to stay at one of the chain hotels on Tunnel Rd. This time, we opted to stay downtown, and I can't stress enough how delighted we were with the Haywood Park.

We were greeted by friendly, professional staff at the front desk, and possibly the hardest working valet I've ever met, Brian. We were offered champagne or a bottle of water upon arriving, and we took the elevator up to the 2nd floor. The room was spacious, absolutely immaculate, and every need we could have had was anticipated and met. It was quiet, relaxing, and it just made our weekend!

On a side note; the hallway to the atrium backs up to the back door of the Chocolate Fetish, another must-visit place in Asheville. The hotel is only a block away from the Grove Arcade and a quick pop around the corner put you at Tupelo Honey, one of the most popular breakfast places in Asheville, We had dinner reservations at Table, which was a 3 minute walk from the hotel's front door. Yes, it's more expensive than the chain hotels, but your towels are soft, the bubble baths in the spa tub are awesome, there are free chair massages during check in time from the Spa upstairs, and you don't have to try to find a parking place in downtown Asheville. It was romantic, relaxing and frankly, it's worth every penny. We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meribor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is great! It is a bit unique in that it used to be a department store, but don't worry, it has all the amenities you are looking for! The complimentary breakfast and starbucks is great (I recommend the bacon, egg, cheese bagel), but the location is right in the middle of downtown Asheville. The valet parking is nice as well. Would highly recommend and plan on staying again in the fall.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 66 in Asheville
978 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haywood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haywood Park Hotel

Property: Haywood Park Hotel
Address: One Battery Park Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-2717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#3 Family Hotel in Asheville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haywood Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its earliest days as a high-end department store, our location has been the center of Asheville’s social and cultural scene. Haywood Park puts you right in the heart of the Asheville experience — fabulous food, art, theater, live music, nightlife — all within footsteps. And when you’re finished with the dining, dancing, shopping and cheering, you’ll be pampered in rooms that are larger and more luxurious than any other in the area. If you want to truly immerse yourself in the hospitality, excitement and surprise that Asheville is famous for, there’s only one place to stay. Haywood Park Hotel. The Heart of Town.•33 luxuriously appointed, oversized suites ranging in size from 475 to 1,200 sq ft •A Historic Hotels of America property •Complimentary wireless Internet • Valet Parking (surcharge applies) •Bell service •Concierge services •Champagne at check-in •Nightly turndown service with handmade chocolates from The Chocolate Fetish® •Small gift upon departure •43″ HDTVs in each guestroom & 27″ flat panel TVs in each bathroom •Amenity closet in each suite with a wet bar, mini-refrigerator and Keurig® coffee maker •Fitness center •Business center •100% smoke-free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Haywood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haywood Park Asheville
Hotel Haywood Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing