We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special boutique hotel in Asheville”
Review of Haywood Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haywood Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
grand rapids, Michigan usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very special boutique hotel in Asheville”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Trying to decide where to stay in Asheville seems to always revolve around the Biltmore and what accommodations are close to it. But this special place is in the middle of downtown amid cultural art galleries, restaurants, historic buildings, boutiques, gardens, etc. It was a most lovely place to stay with large rooms, a central, comfortable, well appointed lounge on each floor, and champagne awaiting you at the front desk as the friendly staff help you to check in. Whenever I book a room I try to find out when the venue was lasted updated and this was recently completed with nice linens, a single serve coffee machine, current colors, and a TV in the bathroom. Try it, and I know you will like it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weatheringhts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    123
    34
    21
    18
See reviews for
114
428
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bantam, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

long drive, too much snow, warm, hospitable, relaxing; close to town and shopping; pretty community. hotel is an old department store, and the history is preserved. wished there had been more places to eat--without a reservation, no restaurant would seat us, on a Sat. nite, at 7:30. but the hotel was lovely.

Room Tip: jacuzzi bathtub, marble bathroom huge!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I hate to write this because I would like to keep this to myself. But, to be fair I have to say it is a great place to stay downtown. Service was warm & friendly by all staff. Room was large & comfortable. Location is absolutely perfect. Please don't tell anyone else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Haywood Park Hotel in Asheville, and it was a great choice. The location is phenomenal. You are across the street from the cares and shops on Wall Street, around the corner from Malaprops Bookstore, and within a 5 minute walk of all the great restaurants and shops downtown. Valet parking is complimentary, so getting in and out for trips to Grove Park, the Biltmore, etc. is easy. Our room was huge, and the bathroom with separate tub and shower (with dual jets) was great.

Best of all, the service at the hotel was impeccable. From the glass of champagne you receive at check in, the staff is friendly, attentive, and caring. You get the sense that they are all personally invested in the quality of your stay. A case in point: I started coming down with a nasty cold midway through our stay. Ed at the front desk sent extra hot apple ciders for the Keurig coffee maker in our room and offered to have someone go to a local drug store to get more Tylenol or cold medicine. Good luck finding that sort of attentive, caring service at 99% of hotels out there.

We were very impressed with the Haywood Park, and would return for another stay without hesitation. It's a real gem in Asheville.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fllglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our four night stay was all the comfort and more that we expected from this property, the staff was warm and friendly from the moment we arrived until our departure. If your time in Asheville is limited and you want a luxury hotel base to walk nearly everywhere, choose The Haywood Park Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great place to stay, right in the heart of Asheville. It's small and quite luxurious, though not outrageously expensive. A good value. Service was excellent. Glass of champagne at check in is a nice touch. Big rooms. You can walk to everything. Great for a getaway night on the town in Asheville.

Room Tip: splurge for the bigger room and enjoy the garden tub and big separate shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Haywood Park Hotel for 5 nights during the Holidays. My family of 5 was extremely comfortable in our VERY LARGE 2 queen room. Our room was clean, had a large sitting area and a big bathroom (with a TV in it). All of the staff were super nice, especially Terri from the front desk. There are so many cool restaurants around the hotel for breakfast, we ate at a different one every day. For Dinner, all the good restaurants and pubs are in walking distance from the Hotel...No driving needed!! If you do need your Car, the staff will bring it to the front within minutes from the free valet parking.
We will be going back to Asheville soon and staying at The Haywood Park Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haywood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haywood Park Hotel

Property: Haywood Park Hotel
Address: One Battery Park Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-2717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#3 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haywood Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its earliest days as a high-end department store, our location has been the center of Asheville’s social and cultural scene. Haywood Park puts you right in the heart of the Asheville experience — fabulous food, art, theater, live music, nightlife — all within footsteps. And when you’re finished with the dining, dancing, shopping and cheering, you’ll be pampered in rooms that are larger and more luxurious than any other in the area. If you want to truly immerse yourself in the hospitality, excitement and surprise that Asheville is famous for, there’s only one place to stay. Haywood Park Hotel. The Heart of Town.•33 luxuriously appointed, oversized suites ranging in size from 475 to 1,200 sq ft •A Historic Hotels of America property •Complimentary wireless Internet • Valet Parking (surcharge applies) •Bell service •Concierge services •Champagne at check-in •Nightly turndown service with handmade chocolates from The Chocolate Fetish® •Small gift upon departure •43″ HDTVs in each guestroom & 27″ flat panel TVs in each bathroom •Amenity closet in each suite with a wet bar, mini-refrigerator and Keurig® coffee maker •Fitness center •Business center •100% smoke-free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Haywood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haywood Park Asheville
Hotel Haywood Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing