We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”
Review of Haywood Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Haywood Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have been to Asheville several times but never stayed downtown. This hotel is in a perfect location. An easy walk for shopping , outdoor venders and activities and wonderful restaurants.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We slept great on very comfortable beds and we are picky about our mattresses. It was nice that the valet parking was not an extra cost. It was also easy to access our car when we did want to take it out. Our 2nd room over looked the busy street but we could see the sun rise and the mtns. in the distance... so pretty! There are just 33 rooms so half face an alley and half face the street. We had a couple problems with the toilet and room door keys not working one day but they were happy to help out and fix the problems quickly. We also didn't have a lot of control over the room temperature except for the fan. The windows are secured closed(FYI)...I am sure for safety. I would recommend this place to others because overall we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are big....but half have a street view and half an alley view. We loved our location!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCtraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
There are newer reviews for Haywood Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 755 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel has all the amenities, including a large room with huge 5-piece bath, TVs in bed and bath, and plenty of lounging room in which to enjoy the champagne provided at checkin and the truffles provided at turn-down. The hotel provides easy access to shopping as well as anything you could want to eat or drink, which can generally be found within a 3 minute walk. I have never provided a hotel review before, but when the checkout concluded with a doggie bag of granola bars and water for our trip home, I couldn't help myself.

The only downside may be for more rural people, the sounds of downtown may result in a loss of sleep. If you are used to peace and quiet, bring some ear plugs and enjoy this cool, old department store-turned-hotel. We will never consider staying anywhere else in Asheville.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winecrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have visited Asheville from Atlanta about 6-7 times. After staying at one of the most recognized Hotel Spas and another at a Resort facility we found the Haywood Park Hotel.

Like a new found jewel-- "smack dab" in the middle of town and with service and facilities that are outstanding. From the Front Desk to the enormous plush rooms, to special personalized dog treats if you bring your small pet--this place has no equal.

We have stayed in many 4-5 Star hotels all across the Country and in our mind--being a pet friendly hotel-- this is up in that five star class. So after the first two hotels we have stayed always at the Haywood since then-- as it's like home away from home.

Prices are reasonable for the accomodations, the location is perfect, the staff and ambience are superb, and they just renovated the hotel this past year so the oversize rooms and the whole hotel is even more spectacular.

If you are making a trip you must check out this jewel in downtown. Your pets will love you even more!

Rick--Atanta, Ga

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick111222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a getaway from the kids. We live in Hendersonville. Pulled up in my 93 Buick and asked them to be careful with my fine ride. The staff was professional, personable, and loved my car. This is a great place to stay, certainly in the thick of what Asheville has to offer. The building is beautiful and the rooms are clean, large, and luxurious. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iluvpubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

To celebrate our anniversary, my husband and I spent several days at Haywood Park Hotel. We got the Romance Package and loved walking in to the huge suite and finding roses and sparkling fruit juice and chocolates and a cheese and fruit plate. Having breakfast delivered to our room each morning while we lounged around in provided robes made us feel very special. The front desk folks were helpful and every staff member we encountered was friendly. The chocolate turn-down service each night gave us a lovely polish to each fun-filled day. Bottles of water and apples were always available at the front desk. We have stayed in many different hotel chain hotels and never received so much good care. Thank you for such a lovely place to have a special celebration!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lspoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed the Haywood Park Hotel immensely. The fun of staying in a boutique hotel is the context; in this case a renovated department store, originally the Bon Marche, then Ivey's. The hotel does well with the department store theme, right down to the elevator, which takes you to "children's wear." Much fun. Our room was very large, and although the furnishings were not extravagant, they were comfortable. If you were in an actual department store, in a very private changing room, the furniture theme would work, so we went with that. The service staff was very good; the porters were right on the dot with the valet car service, and the front desk was very helpful. The faucets in our room need a little work; they didn't shut off well. Just a little maintenance item. The turn down chocolates from The Chocolate Fetish were fabulous; they're not cheap mints--they are luscious truffles. Since the hand made chocolate shop is right next door, you can indulge away if you can't resist. The Haywood Park is close to everything in Asheville, including the drum circle on Fridays if that's your thing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MHeiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Great Hospitality. Rooms large and clean. In the middle of activities and shopping.
Staff was exceptional. Lobbys on each floor. Rooms were private and quiet. Our stay here was a wonderful experience. Highly recommend . Have stayed in Hotels all over USA and Europe and this ranks among the best.

Room Tip: Rooms on East and South have better views of Street activity
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 66 in Asheville
998 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haywood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haywood Park Hotel

Address: One Battery Park Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-2717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#3 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $288 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haywood Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its earliest days as a high-end department store, our location has been the center of Asheville’s social and cultural scene. Haywood Park puts you right in the heart of the Asheville experience — fabulous food, art, theater, live music, nightlife — all within footsteps. And when you’re finished with the dining, dancing, shopping and cheering, you’ll be pampered in rooms that are larger and more luxurious than any other in the area. If you want to truly immerse yourself in the hospitality, excitement and surprise that Asheville is famous for, there’s only one place to stay. Haywood Park Hotel. The Heart of Town.•33 luxuriously appointed, oversized suites ranging in size from 475 to 1,200 sq ft •A Historic Hotels of America property •Complimentary wireless Internet • Valet Parking (surcharge applies) •Bell service •Concierge services •Champagne at check-in •Nightly turndown service with handmade chocolates from The Chocolate Fetish® •Small gift upon departure •43″ HDTVs in each guestroom & 27″ flat panel TVs in each bathroom •Amenity closet in each suite with a wet bar, mini-refrigerator and Keurig® coffee maker •Fitness center •Business center •100% smoke-free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Haywood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haywood Park Asheville
Hotel Haywood Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing