We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Haywood Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haywood Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
East Northport, New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Steps away from top restaurants and in the midst of the Urban Trail! Extras include: free valet parking, champagne upon arrival, chocolates every night and a goody bag when you leave.

The building was formerly a department store and when you get off the elevator you hear things like,"Second floor, menswear."

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anneenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    126
    35
    23
    19
See reviews for
117
445
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
puerto rico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

we were curious to visit asheville, nc for the bele chere festival and wanted to stay close to the action, so booked two rooms in this hotel in the middle of everything. Since we arrived to the parking lot we were welcomed by a young man, Brian, who took our luggages to the lobby , where we were received with champagne. very quick and nice check in. and then, the rooms! big and modern, with jacuzzi tub and even a tv in the bathroom. they have two restaurants and other amenities, but we almost have all our food at the festival, at nigth the left very good truffes for us, and at check out a bag with granola and water, so much gestures, we loved everything about this hotel and their service and will booked a room again , by all means, if we return to asheville. good ambiance

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

What a great find! Perfect location -so close to everything. Love all the little extras- champagne at check-in, chocolates from Chocolate Fetish at night and even a gift bag in our car as we were leaving. Brian was our bellman and valet driver- so nice! He even emptied our soda cans out of the car that we had on our travels to Asheville. And he took our bottle of champagne we brought ourselves and put it on ice with a tray and 2 flutes and came right back to our room. Need an extra towel- they are there within minutes. The room was so clean and fresh smelling. I loved all the bath amenities from an English soap company you can't find in stores. Need to unwind-then relax in that huge spa tub which never seemed to run out of hot water! Building had a lot of history to it which made it interesting. Such a nice stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethK98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canastota, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and I were really impressed by this hotel on our recent vacation to the TN and NC area. The service was wonderful the room was superbly clean and there was all these great extras. Nice little touches to ensure the customer returns to them on their next visit to Asheville and we definitely will. The young man at the desk was super friendly and offered their free valet service with free parking. He even cleaned some of our trash from the car, a few cans and such since we had been on the road for the week. They offered a turn down service with chocolate truffles from The Chocolate Fetish too! As we checked out with the friendly hotel staff the next morning there was a little checkout bag they gave us with granola bars and water for the road! I just couldn't get over all the little touches that make a great experience. They really know how to please people here.
The hotel itself is an old department store which they keep very true to style. There are mannequins dressed in vintage garb and the elevator says things at each floor like 4th floor, women's clothing. The room was huge with a large comfy bed and the bathroom was also large with a giant bathtub as well. It's really a fantastic place and we loved every second of our stay. Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cattymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in the best part of downtown Asheville! I've never had a larger room without requesting a suite. The bathroom is superb -- deep jetted tub with a TV (not a bad perk during the Olympics two bathroom sinks with exceptional counter space and located within walking distance of most every great store, gallery, and restaurant in Asheville. One unusual attribute: the hotel is up-fitted from a former Ivey's department store. I grew up in North Carolina and Ivey's was really nice, but the period mannequins, elevator announcements locating us in the "Children's Department," and other former retail accoutrements felt overdone. Haywood -- please own your space: you've got your own great Asheville thing going on!

Room Tip: If you stay on the street side, expect a serenade from street buskers. Fans are available at the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2goChapelHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was my second trip to Bele Chere in downtown Asheville and my first stay at The Haywood which was fabulous. The hotel is in the middle of all things downtown and with character deluxe too numerous to give away; customer and husky friendly, large clean room and bathroom with garden tub, separate shower, sink/vanity and flat screen, and separate sink/vantiy, Keurig with wet bar/fridge, great view onto Haywood Street celebration. The Solace Restaurant connected to the hotel has an incredible roasted red pepper/roasted corn soup and our favorite bartenders made a speciality cocktail of muddled watermelon and Grey Goose upon request; all of the appetizers sampled were well prepared and tasty. I am looking forward to my next visit and a trip into the past; indeed, "Beautiful living".

Room Tip: Room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Booked by prices described on their website. Prices changed after I booked but they did not deliver on $100 worth of services promised. When I questioned they offered no assistance and three months after it is still unresolved.

The front desk is charming but management of the property does not educate their staff and lack the customer service when it is really needed. As a person who has never made it a point to critique hotels, I will take every opportunity to advise people to stay elsewhere.

Asheville offers plenty mid range hotels that are newer, have more amenities, and provide quality customer service to ensure you feel like you are on vacation, while on your vacation.

Room Tip: Book at the Indigo and skip the smoke and mirrors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aliandjaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenHaywoodPark, Director of Sales at Haywood Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
While we value all guest feedback, it is unfortunate that you still believe you did not get what you paid for despite our supporting evidence to the contrary. The package as you describe was posted on our website from October 27, 2011 until April 3, 2012. On April 4, 2012, it was changed and the $100 worth of services you refer to was removed from the package, and our website and booking system were updated accordingly. Then on April 9, 2012, you made your reservation with us for April 14-April 15, 2012. It is true that at one point the package included the items you describe. However, prior to you making your reservation, the package was changed and those items were removed.

When you stayed with us we explained that the package you reserved changed several days prior to you actually booking your reservation. Therefore, it was likely you may have seen the amenities you thought you were getting on our website prior to booking. However, by the time you made your reservation the package had changed and you received exactly what you paid for and exactly what was displayed on our website at the time of booking. Due to the fact you were dissatisfied and felt your expectations were not met, as a gesture of goodwill we credited your stay $50. Our good faith effort did not satisfy you and you initiated a chargeback with your credit card company to be refunded for items you were never charged for to begin with.

At that point, we supplied your credit card company with our web coding records showing exactly when the package you reserved was changed, as referenced above. Based on statements you made in your dispute, they were aware that you had made your reservation on April 9, 2012, after the changes had been made to the package on our website. Taking all the evidence into consideration, they found in our favor.

We are sorry that you were confused on the package offerings at the time of booking but we met our obligations as outlined on our website and provided exactly what you were charged for. You claim you were charged for items that you were never billed for in the first place and then wanted a refund for those items that you were not charged for. Services were rendered exactly as described on our website at the time of booking. Despite the fact that there was no wrong doing on our part, we made an attempt to make the situation right with you but to no avail.

Now that the credit card company has found in our favor, you still feel that you did not receive what was represented on our website at the time of booking and want to slander us on TripAdvisor. Ultimately, we are disappointed that we were not able to satisfy you but at this point there is nothing left for us to do except share our side of the story. We hope that travelers will see our many other positive reviews, as well as this reply, and realize that your review is not accurate or indicative of the guest service experience we strive to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 66 in Asheville
976 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haywood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haywood Park Hotel

Property: Haywood Park Hotel
Address: One Battery Park Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-2717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Asheville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haywood Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its earliest days as a high-end department store, our location has been the center of Asheville’s social and cultural scene. Haywood Park puts you right in the heart of the Asheville experience — fabulous food, art, theater, live music, nightlife — all within footsteps. And when you’re finished with the dining, dancing, shopping and cheering, you’ll be pampered in rooms that are larger and more luxurious than any other in the area. If you want to truly immerse yourself in the hospitality, excitement and surprise that Asheville is famous for, there’s only one place to stay. Haywood Park Hotel. The Heart of Town.•33 luxuriously appointed, oversized suites ranging in size from 475 to 1,200 sq ft •A Historic Hotels of America property •Complimentary wireless Internet • Valet Parking (surcharge applies) •Bell service •Concierge services •Champagne at check-in •Nightly turndown service with handmade chocolates from The Chocolate Fetish® •Small gift upon departure •43″ HDTVs in each guestroom & 27″ flat panel TVs in each bathroom •Amenity closet in each suite with a wet bar, mini-refrigerator and Keurig® coffee maker •Fitness center •Business center •100% smoke-free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Haywood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haywood Park Asheville
Hotel Haywood Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing