We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haywood Park Hotel and Bele Chere”
Review of Haywood Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Haywood Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Haywood Park Hotel and Bele Chere”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was my second trip to Bele Chere in downtown Asheville and my first stay at The Haywood which was fabulous. The hotel is in the middle of all things downtown and with character deluxe too numerous to give away; customer and husky friendly, large clean room and bathroom with garden tub, separate shower, sink/vanity and flat screen, and separate sink/vantiy, Keurig with wet bar/fridge, great view onto Haywood Street celebration. The Solace Restaurant connected to the hotel has an incredible roasted red pepper/roasted corn soup and our favorite bartenders made a speciality cocktail of muddled watermelon and Grey Goose upon request; all of the appetizers sampled were well prepared and tasty. I am looking forward to my next visit and a trip into the past; indeed, "Beautiful living".

Room Tip: Room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    124
    35
    22
    18
See reviews for
116
438
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Booked by prices described on their website. Prices changed after I booked but they did not deliver on $100 worth of services promised. When I questioned they offered no assistance and three months after it is still unresolved.

The front desk is charming but management of the property does not educate their staff and lack the customer service when it is really needed. As a person who has never made it a point to critique hotels, I will take every opportunity to advise people to stay elsewhere.

Asheville offers plenty mid range hotels that are newer, have more amenities, and provide quality customer service to ensure you feel like you are on vacation, while on your vacation.

Room Tip: Book at the Indigo and skip the smoke and mirrors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aliandjaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenHaywoodPark, Director of Sales at Haywood Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
While we value all guest feedback, it is unfortunate that you still believe you did not get what you paid for despite our supporting evidence to the contrary. The package as you describe was posted on our website from October 27, 2011 until April 3, 2012. On April 4, 2012, it was changed and the $100 worth of services you refer to was removed from the package, and our website and booking system were updated accordingly. Then on April 9, 2012, you made your reservation with us for April 14-April 15, 2012. It is true that at one point the package included the items you describe. However, prior to you making your reservation, the package was changed and those items were removed.

When you stayed with us we explained that the package you reserved changed several days prior to you actually booking your reservation. Therefore, it was likely you may have seen the amenities you thought you were getting on our website prior to booking. However, by the time you made your reservation the package had changed and you received exactly what you paid for and exactly what was displayed on our website at the time of booking. Due to the fact you were dissatisfied and felt your expectations were not met, as a gesture of goodwill we credited your stay $50. Our good faith effort did not satisfy you and you initiated a chargeback with your credit card company to be refunded for items you were never charged for to begin with.

At that point, we supplied your credit card company with our web coding records showing exactly when the package you reserved was changed, as referenced above. Based on statements you made in your dispute, they were aware that you had made your reservation on April 9, 2012, after the changes had been made to the package on our website. Taking all the evidence into consideration, they found in our favor.

We are sorry that you were confused on the package offerings at the time of booking but we met our obligations as outlined on our website and provided exactly what you were charged for. You claim you were charged for items that you were never billed for in the first place and then wanted a refund for those items that you were not charged for. Services were rendered exactly as described on our website at the time of booking. Despite the fact that there was no wrong doing on our part, we made an attempt to make the situation right with you but to no avail.

Now that the credit card company has found in our favor, you still feel that you did not receive what was represented on our website at the time of booking and want to slander us on TripAdvisor. Ultimately, we are disappointed that we were not able to satisfy you but at this point there is nothing left for us to do except share our side of the story. We hope that travelers will see our many other positive reviews, as well as this reply, and realize that your review is not accurate or indicative of the guest service experience we strive to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We often stay in chains where we have reward accounts, but decided the downtown location of this hotel would serve us better even though it cost more. We were so happy here. As others have mentioned, the staff throughout the hotel is exceptional . Our room was huge and very comfortable. It was great to walk to virtually everything we wanted to do while in Asheville except for the Biltmore and some food supplies, but those drives were easy. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpframe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
164 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is one of the most convenient hotels in Asheville! A little pricey, but very boutique hotel in Asheville! We stay every Bele Chere and love the location! It's above restaurants and bars and within walking distance to all the festivities and "uniqueness" of Asheville!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My wife and I found the Haywood Park Hotel to be a delightful, quiet, and well appointed hotel in the downtown area. A bit pricey, but worth it for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris37830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Haywood Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very pleased that you found your visit to be delightful and our hotel to be well appointed. Regarding our rates, we do monitor the rates of other area hotels and try to remain competitive with the other downtown hotels of our star class. Also, we feel that we offer some key elements, such as complimentary valet parking, champagne at arrival, turndown service with Chocolate Fetish truffles, small gift upon departure, extremely spacious suites and superb location in the heart of downtown, that add value to our rates. Many of our guests feel that it's these little extras that set Haywood Park apart. We're certainly glad you feel we're worth it and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Great location, welcoming, helpful staff; front desk clerk gave recommendations to two local restaurants which turned out to be terrific! Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has exceptional service and goes the extra mile to make everyone feel special. The rooms are huge, and complete with large bathrooms with dual (upper and lower) shower heads. We were given glasses of champagne at check in and had chocolate truffles waiting on our pillows at night. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joemoab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Haywood Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased that you appreciated our personalized service and spacious suites. Most of all though, we are delighted that we made you feel special. That is what we strive for with every guest. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 65 in Asheville
221 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 65 in Asheville
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haywood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haywood Park Hotel

Property: Haywood Park Hotel
Address: One Battery Park Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-2717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Asheville
#3 Family Hotel in Asheville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haywood Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its earliest days as a high-end department store, our location has been the center of Asheville’s social and cultural scene. Haywood Park puts you right in the heart of the Asheville experience — fabulous food, art, theater, live music, nightlife — all within footsteps. And when you’re finished with the dining, dancing, shopping and cheering, you’ll be pampered in rooms that are larger and more luxurious than any other in the area. If you want to truly immerse yourself in the hospitality, excitement and surprise that Asheville is famous for, there’s only one place to stay. Haywood Park Hotel. The Heart of Town.•33 luxuriously appointed, oversized suites ranging in size from 475 to 1,200 sq ft •A Historic Hotels of America property •Complimentary wireless Internet • Valet Parking (surcharge applies) •Bell service •Concierge services •Champagne at check-in •Nightly turndown service with handmade chocolates from The Chocolate Fetish® •Small gift upon departure •43″ HDTVs in each guestroom & 27″ flat panel TVs in each bathroom •Amenity closet in each suite with a wet bar, mini-refrigerator and Keurig® coffee maker •Fitness center •Business center •100% smoke-free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Haywood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haywood Park Asheville
Hotel Haywood Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing