We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Hotel, Great Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Woonsocket

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Woonsocket
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woonsocket
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
539 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 588 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Very friendly staff at this very clean and accommodating hotel. Only major brand hotel in the 2nd largest city of Rhode Island. Convenient location to highways and city center. Quiet too, enjoyed my stay on the two visits i've taken to this city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruce p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    43
    21
    7
    10
See reviews for
42
24
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Traveled here for a quick weekend, holiday get away since I had never explored the Providence area before......which it is only about 15-20 min away from this location. I don't know about room prices since I was able to use Priority Club points to pay for the entire stay.

The hotel itself isn't exactly near anything in particular unless you are staying here for business for something like the CVS headquarters. There is a decent, old style diner behind the hotel and I would have loved to have tried it but breakfast at HIE is always great and free in the morning. Parking lot was ample and had a ton of spaces, it's always nice to keep an eye on your wheels from the room which I had a view of.

We were able to check in 20 minutes after the allowable time of 3:00. I wanted to get there early to have a full day of adventure. The lady was extremely pleasant at the front desk and answered any questions we had about the area and our room.

Problems did begin immediately upon entering the room, however. The first was that the TV wasn't working. No biggie, the cleaning people had knocked out the cable wire. I looked myself at all the plugs and they seemed fine so I couldn't fix it myself, the maintenance guy was in our room 10 minutes after I called the front desk to take a look at it and it took him all of 30 sec to actually fix the problem.

Then, upon pulling back the sheets....we discovered a bunch of tiny, curly hairs all over the sheets, GROSS! Of course it's bothersome and a hassle, but the front desk immediately gave us another room right next door and we had the keys and moved all of our belongings within minutes. I understand issues can arise at a hotel and the stars for how the situation is handled at the time more than the cleanliness of the rooms themselves. Besides, there were zero issues with our new room so A+ to the front desk staff for accommodating our issues so quickly.

The breakfast in the morning was on par with all of the other HIE I have stayed at. Three different types of juice, coffee, milk, make your own pancakes, eggs, bacon, bagels, croissants, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, the list goes on and on. I actually tend to stay at Priority Club locations BECAUSE of the amazing breakfast, so kudos to them. We ate by the warm fireplace too, which was a better touch than I could have ever asked for.

Four stars for being courteous, prompt and accommodating all at the same time, it's a decent location off the beaten path.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JDMEGARG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel following a concert at Gillette Stadium and it was a great value. The beds were comfortable, it was very clean. There was a decent continental breakfast with coffee, juice, yogurt, pancakes and other pastries. The staff was very nice.
The only complaint I have is that I could smell smoke in our non smoking room and the walls are so thin that our noisy neighbor woke us all up talking at 7AM. We had gotten in at 2AM and 7 was much too early. Other than that it was not too bad.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenL511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woonsocket, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear KarenL511,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness and breakfast.

However, We’re sorry about the smell of cigarette in your room and for the noise during your stay. I understand the discomfort this caused you. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great staff, very friendly and accommodating! Surprised room did not have a refrigerator as most Holiday Inn Express Hotels do. My kids enjoyed the pool although the smell of chemicals used to treat the pool seemed a bit strong.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDG62365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland Center, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Booked a nonsmoking room as far from smoking as we could get.
Got a room in a hallway with smoking rooms. Stank of stale smoke and chemicals. Blocked room with towel - room still stank. Could not breathe and our throats were sore. Told by one receptionist that there were no other rooms; they were booked. We checked out without staying overnight. When we checked out, other receptionist said "oh, we gave other rooms, she (other receptionist) shouldn't have said that." We left. Oh and there was an awful hum in the pipes that carried throughout the building. Could not spend any time in the bathroom because of the sound!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWainer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woonsocket, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear MWainer12,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. I apologize you were assigned near smoking rooms and was disturbed by the humming sound of pipes that pass through your bathroom. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. Rest assured that your feedback will be reviewed by our team and we will take actions accordingly.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We took a roadtrip north to see Jimmy Buffett at Comcast Center (aka Great Woods) in nearby Mansfield, Mass. Very easy drive to Mansfield and this hotel doesn't jack up their prices like some others do depending on nearby events. Breakfast was decent, including some fresh fruit. Very clean hotel and the staff was always very friendly. We had an issue with the air conditioning upon check-in (it was almost 100 degrees in New England, go figure!). Things break, no big deal. We were moved to another room with no hassle whatsoever. They handled it great. I believe the front desk person was named Priscilla, she was incredibly friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. One surprising thing is that they still have smoking rooms. I'm sure they would do better if the entire hotel was non-smoking, plus easier to clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDTraveler088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Clean well appointed rooms, with a good breakfast. Service was good and people were very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jundanj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woonsocket
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence/Smithfield
4.0 mi away
Courtyard Providence Lincoln
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Franklin
Hampton Inn Franklin
#1 of 3 in Franklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
All Seasons Inn & Suites
All Seasons Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Smithfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Smithfield - Providence
7.1 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Franklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Woonsocket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Woonsocket

Property: Holiday Inn Express Woonsocket
Address: 194 Fortin Dr, Woonsocket, RI 02895-6117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Woonsocket
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Woonsocket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Woonsocket 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Providence- Woonsocket. At the heart of the Blackstone River Valley National Heritage Corridor, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Conference Center is perfectly suited to serve both the corporate and leisure traveler. Our 88 guest rooms and suites offer all the latest in hotel amenities to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Work out in our fitness center and relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool, after a great night's sleep, start your day off right and enjoy our complimentary Smart Start Breakfast Bar. If a meeting or special event is on your mind, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Conference Center offers 4000 square feet of flexible meeting space to satisfy your every need. Only 11 miles Northwest of Providence, 8 miles from Bryant University, and 1 mile from Highland Industrial Park, where CVS, Hanna Instruments, Retail Store Systems, Alesis Numark and Ikon Office Solutions are located. Our central location in New England conveniently serves the year round traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Woonsocket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Woonsocket Hotel Woonsocket
Holiday Inn Woonsocket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing