We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely missing a woman's touch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pillsbury House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Woonsocket B&B and Inns
Pickering, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Definitely missing a woman's touch”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This very old property is obviously dear to Roger's heart. However, he has left the running mostly to hired help, who, whilst trying their best, will never bring the same spirit to the operation as a hands on proprietor. Dusty lampshades, crumpled sheets, and stained carpeting suggested a less than careful attention to cleanliness, whilst breakfast dishes comprised of bisquik fritata (oily) and dehydrated bacon crisps do not convey the accepted standard for B&B morning meals. The owner acknowledged that he depended more on business travellers, and at the very attractive promotional rate of $88, one cannot complain. I was most impressed with the abundance of genuine antique touches however, and cannot fault the very authentic decor, especially the amazing marquetry in the floors. A liitle spit and polish, and a home cooked meal, would turn this place into a gem.

Room Tip: Bring slippers - the foor carpet leaves a lot to be desired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RustyBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
17
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
los gatos, ca
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have never used bed & breakfast places before, but since I was traveling with my daughter, while looking at colleges, I decided to give it a try because I felt it was a little safer. When we arrived, we met another gentleman that stays regularly at the Pillsbury House. There was also another long term (3 months) boarder staying there, which I thought said a lot about the place. The one interesting thing is that the place is in a residential neighborhood.

We had a lovely room with a nice bathroom. We're from California and not used to the heat and humidity, so we were very glad to have the air conditioning. The only thing I've noticed, and this seems to be true in all 3 places we stayed in, is that the pillows were rather uncomfortable. I guess I like a softer, fluffier pillow, and I found everyone's pillows to be on the flat and dense side.

We loved the breakfast. We had some fresh corn muffins, vegetable fritatta, and bacon with fresh fruit and juice. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhflg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We spent two nights at The Pillsbury House. We chose it based on the reviews here and we weren't sorry. It's a basic B&B rather than a fancy one with a theme, and it's clear that it's owned by a single man. Lacks the touch of a woman who would decorate with flair rather than just utility. That said, it was very nice. Clean, comfortable, everything in good condition, quiet, easy to get to, and off-street parking. There are three rooms on the second floor and another one on the third which was being used as a long-term rental while we were there, for a young woman doing an internship in town. Chris was in charge, Roger was away on business, and she treated us like part of her (large, she's one of 8) family. We'll be back.

I should add--we had reservations three years ago to stay here. At the last minute we had a family emergency and had to cancel our trip. Roger was so nice, he didn't charge us anything and was really kind. For that alone I would return; this is a good location and very comfortable to boot.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were nice. All of the bathrooms--added long after the house was built--were funky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corvos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Why was I staying overnight in Woonsocket when I live in RI? A friend bid on the Pillsbury Inn and won. Cozy and very private room on the third floor. Roger was very informative and helpful in explaining the history of Woonsocket and the Inn. Had a great breakfast and enjoyed talking with the other guests. This B and B is a welcome attraction to the Woonsocket area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthie593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We wanted a single night stay while travelling. The Pillsbury offered a nice room, clean and comfortable with free WiFi.

We were the only guests on the night we stayed, and so was extremely quiet - and hence a good nights sleep. Roger made us very welcome, and Christine gave us a good breakfast in the morning. Although we did not use it, we were free to use the downstairs living rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_East_Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

The bed in the White Room was SO comfy. We didn't want to get up for breakfast. Glad we did though. Great food and hospitality! Kris and Roger made us feel so at home. Thanks for getting our vac off to a great start

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearnstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

We stayed at the Pilsbury House on our wedding night and the next night. We could not have asked for better service and the breakfast was WONDERFUL. Our room was absolutely gorgeous and unlike some B&Bs we have stayed in, it was as comfortable as it was lovely. We liked it so much that we bought a gift certificate for my in-laws!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woonsocket
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woonsocket
5.8 mi away
Courtyard Providence Lincoln
6.3 mi away
All Seasons Inn & Suites
All Seasons Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Smithfield
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence/Smithfield
7.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Franklin / Milford Area
19.9 mi away
NYLO Providence/Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pillsbury House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillsbury House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Pillsbury House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 341 Prospect St, Woonsocket, RI 02895-1947
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Woonsocket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Woonsocket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pillsbury House Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1875, this Victorian house in an historic district is truly a New England B & B. All private baths, great breakfast, off street parking, open year round, 24 hours. Quiet neighborhood. WiFi on the property. Restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pillsbury House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing