We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay”
Review of The Alpine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alpine Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

My husband and I found this gem in Gunnison, Colorado while on a recent road trip. The location was convenient -- fairly close to good restaurants, grocery store, the downtown area of Gunnison, gas stations, and the main road through town. We only stayed one night and were able to obtain a room without a reservation with no problems, and at a decent price. The rooms were simple, rather bare bones, but clean, through some of the bath towels looked a bit worse for wear. The bed was comfortable and the Air/Heating unit worked well. The locale was quiet and we slept very well. We did not take advantage of the free breakfast. The front desk area and eating areas were clean and we loved the lodge-like decor. Overall a comfortable and clean place to stay. Not ritzy, but then neither was the price! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    69
    18
    11
    6
See reviews for
54
82
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nicollet, Minnesota
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

This quiet, well kept hotel on the edge of town offered us a nice room at a reasonable rate with great smelling sheets. But most of all they were caring, helpful and understood the idea of hospitality. Breakfast included waffles, fruit and great coffee. Overall, since we were stranded with car trouble, this hotel was the best part of the trip.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theguysm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanan Dam, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We(our family) have been staying at Alpine Inn for the last 7 years (at the end of July) and my husband and his hunting buddies have been staying at this hotel for over 16 years (end of October, first of November),we have all enjoyed the comfort, the price, the hospitality of it's owners, and workers, and it's cleansliness. We enjoy the pool, hottub, and internet capabilities. The breakfast is a bit small, but hey we don't seem to have a problem filling our bellies. Were happy, and until otherwise we will continue our stay with Alpine Inn. :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campmesa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Travelling with family of two small children for a month on business. We found the Alpine Inn comfortable, immaculate, and the staff were incredibly friendly. We have no complaints and would recommend this hotel to anyone. The Inn has a small but very clean and up-to-date pool and hot tub. Lobby is very comfortable and looks recently remodeled. Rooms were spacious and up-to-date. Housekeeping staff are some of the best I've encountered and do a great job.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rosad4110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2010

The room was comfortable and clean. The frontdesk (owners?) were pleasant. The one thing that did sour our experience was the hot tub (that's why I've given this hotel the low cleanliness rating). We got in and noticed a strong mildew smell....It was disgusting. We immediately got out and returned to our rooms to shower.

We weren't very impressed by the breakfast either...It also bordered on being slightly disgusting. The cream cheese for the bagels was available only from a large tub open for all to use (which really grossed me out, bleah!)

I suppose for the price (and barring that you don't go into the hottub and don't eat the breakfast), then this may be an ok hotel to stay at. However, I definitely would've stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nala_ebis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We found the Alpine Inn to be very clean with an exceptional staff that is eager to please. A reasonable price for a very nice stay. It is two levels with no elevator, which could be a problem for some. An average continental breakfast. Easy access, easy parking, very soundproof from room to room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judgebeekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

When I stopped in to ask about price, a guest told me that this was the best motel in town. I think she might have been right. I had a newly-remodeled room with a fridge and microwave for a price less than what was listed by AAA. The owner was very friendly and gave me a great recommendation for dinner. I was delighted with the whole experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drivinexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gunnison hotels
3.1 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 12 in Gunnison
149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Gunnison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison
1.0 mi away
Water Wheel Inn
Water Wheel Inn
#11 of 12 in Gunnison
88 reviews
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 12 in Gunnison
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alpine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alpine Inn

Property: The Alpine Inn
Address: 1011 Rio Grande Rd (Hwy 50), Gunnison, CO 81230 (Formerly Gunnison Ramada Limited)
Location: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Alpine Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Alpine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alpine Hotel Gunnison
Alpine Hotel Gunnison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing