We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Tomichi Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Tomichi Village
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Certificate of Excellence
Vail, Colorado
1 review
“Pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was a last minute micro-vacation and we found the Inn at Tomichi Village online. It looked cute on the website, but I tempered my expectations because all such properties look nice online. What we found was that the property was as represented online...perhaps better. Wonderful friendly service, great amenities, and the movie night out on the grass around a campfire was perfect. The comfortable beds with down comforters made the sleeping easy. This place is simple, not opulent, but they do everything necessary to make you comfortable. I am glad I found this gem.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VailTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    80
    24
    4
    5
See reviews for
99
127
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This property is ranked first in Gunnsion by TripAdvisor which we kind of use as a bible for booking rooms. However in this case, I have to rate it "Terrible". We stayed last night Sept. 16th, 2013 on a fishing trip. After fishing all day we checked into our room, it was very hot, my wife turn turned the thermostat down. When we returned late from dinner the room was still at a sauna-like so I turned the thermostat to off, we opened the windows and went to bed. The room never cooled, I rechecked the thermostat several times the heating units stayed on and kept the room below about 80 degrees. We spent a miserable night. In the morning I told the clerk who responded by "sending maintenance right away". Sure enough, the thermostat was not functioning and the heating units would not shut off. When we checked out the hotel offered to do... nothing. When we asked to talk to the manager, we were told to give our number and they would call us. Later that morning the clerk, not the manager, called to say the manager said that we should have called to change rooms and we would get a $15 credit? Sorry, terrible customer service results in a terrible review.

Room Tip: Based upon Customer Service - I'd stay away.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank stevenmorleyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The remodeled property is very nicely located a couple miles east of Gunnison. Our king bed was very comfortable and room was very clean. The only drawbacks with the room was the lighting over the sink (very bad for putting on makeup), the hairdryer cord wouldn't reach very far to get the left side of the head and the heater/cooler was located high on the wall and difficult to reach the dials. The room was quiet, lobby very updated and welcome and the grounds excellent with outside bbq and fireplace for customers. Nice enclosed pool and hot tub. Breakfast is in what was once a restaurant and so so with waffle maker, biscuits and gravy, not so good and the usual cereal pastries etc. It was a nice stay and we were there for 3 nights.

Room Tip: May want to request a queen bed room which has windows out both directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Looking for a room for one night in the Gunnison area we found The Inn. The room had a king bed, a comfy leather chair and a desk. The western decor was fitting with the area. The staff was very helpful. There was a pool, a fitness room and a BBQ grill available. The goodie bag hit the spot after driving a few hundred miles!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MASScouple2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LightHouse Cove Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Rooms were renovated as of July 2013. Large, well decorated and clean rooms. We could not have been more pleased....we'll definitely be coming back. Best value, best room we have found on our Colorado vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We checked in online and immediately received a personal e-mail from the Paige at the front desk. She was extremely friendly and helpful. A little extra for the dog but they allow pets! We had stayed here before during ski season and enjoyed a basic hotel but clean with great service. Now they gave it a huge facelift. All remodeled! Even better! Last time I left some ski gear and they collected it and mailed it right away. I didn't expect that at all. I your coming to gunnison say here for a quiet nice friendly stay. Ski season they package with cheap lift tix for Crested Butte. Which also rocks. Dinner at Garlic Mikes was fantastic but Gunnison has a bunch of good restaurants. Have fun!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Friscosushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest usa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for one Sat. night because of the good reviews and they are well deserved. This property has been thoroughly remodeled and the room was clean and comfortable although a bit small. There were a lot of families staying here and everyone was enjoying the pool and the large outdoor area. They have a fire pit and adarondack chairs and we enjoyed them after a day of driving. Breakfast was typical of those included with the stay. The staff was friendly and even called our room to be sure everything was satisfactory. There is a new Holiday In Express right down the road so they do have some competition., but this is a much friendlier atmosphere than the typical hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gunnison
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Gunnison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Gunnison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gunnison
Quality Inn Gunnison
#9 of 12 in Gunnison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Alpine Inn
The Alpine Inn
#6 of 12 in Gunnison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Tomichi Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tomichi Village

Property: The Inn at Tomichi Village
Address: 41883 Hwy 50 East, Gunnison, CO 81230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gunnison
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gunnison
#3 Business Hotel in Gunnison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Tomichi Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BALANCE...Everyone is looking for this in their life and you might be surprised when you find it at The Inn at Tomichi Village. Fancy rooms...Not really, but from our simple exterior you will be surprised by the tastefully appointed furnishings, the luxurious bedding, the large flat screen TVs, and extra outlets and data ports, in case you're not lucky enough to be able to unplug while you're with us. You'll be far enough out of town to enjoy the beauty and tranquility of your surroundings, but close enough to civilization in case you get an urge for a vanilla latte with soy! But there are so many reasons not to leave the property, once you are here. You can wake up to our delicious, complimentary hot breakfast. At the end of your day, unwind in the atrium enclosed pool and hot tub offering panoramic views of the areas. Sit out and relax in our beautiful, tree lined courtyard where we host outdoor movie nights on weekend nights during the summer season. You need another reason not to get back into your car? Well, you can dine right on property at Gunnison's newest restaurant, Blue Mesa Grill, featuring coastal inspired seafood dishes, fresh sushi, mouthwatering steaks and in-house ground burgers. The carefully selected wine list will provide you with the perfect compliment to your meal. Our newly renovated dining area is spacious enough to host meetings and social events for up to 100 guests. Let us coordinate all your event planning requirements and ensure you receive outstanding service from your first contact through the end of your event. We look forward to seeing you at The Inn at Tomichi Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn at Tomichi Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affordable Inns @ Tomichi Village Hotel Gunnison
Tomichi Village Gunnison
Best Western Gunnison
Tomichi Village Hotel Gunnison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing