We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends in High Places”
Review of Water Wheel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Water Wheel Inn
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We have been regularly staying at the Water Wheel Inn in the beautiful mountain country of Gunnison, Colorado since 2010, and have come to love the shaded and watered beauty of the motel and its location. The majestic cottonwoods and the next-door golf course only add to the charm of the well-appointed, quiet setting. The rooms are always clean, spacious, and comfortable. The staff has consistently gone out of their way to make our visits stress-free and relaxing, and always check to ensure that all our needs are met. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank youngpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WheelColorado, Staff at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Youngpeck,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Water Wheel Inn! Our staff works extremely hard to make everyone's stay relaxing and fulfilling. We are very happy that you enjoyed yourself and we hope to see you again any time you are passing through the mountains!
Sincerely,
Water Wheel Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Water Wheel Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 94 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had the pleasure of spending 5 weeks at the Waterwheel Inn. Never have we been treated better. The staff was friendly and very helpful. They actually went out of their way to accommodate our wishes. We have already made our temporary reservation for next year. Highly recommend this motel to anyone. I guarantee you will be pleased with this choice!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank degreene1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WheelColorado, Staff at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Degreene1,

Thank you so much for reviewing us! We loved having you guys here and it was always pleasant to see you around the lobby. We look forward to seeing you next year!

Sincerely,
Water Wheel Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Decent room, clean sheets, and friendly staff. The front desk folks helped literally find a decent restaurant where we had the best steaks. Only complaint was smell of nicotine in nonsmoking room. Otherwise very nice stay

Room Tip: Ask the desk staff.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WheelColorado, Staff at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear Low_Daniel09,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Water Wheel Inn! We do our best to employ staff who are knowledgeable about the area, including where to eat. We apologize for the smell of nicotine in the rooms, as you were in a non-smoking room; we try to eliminate any odors that come from people wrongfully smoking in them. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Water Wheel Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

The Water Wheel Inn was a surprising find. The staff was courteous and helpful. The room was surprisingly spacious and comfortable. We had passed by this place on a couple of occasions and thought it might be a good place to try, and we were correct. Will definitely stay again next trip to Gunnison.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank dalebert54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WheelColorado, Staff at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Dalebert54,
Thank you so much for taking time to review us! We're so happy you enjoyed your visit here and we look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Water Wheel Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We always stay at the Water Wheel for our annual fishing trips...at least two or three times a year. The rooms are clean and the location is great. The only reason I didn't give it a five is that the lobby isn't open when we leave to go fishing...so no breakfast. Other than that it is fine.

Room Tip: Boat parking available.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heavyrescue97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WheelColorado, Staff at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Heavyrescue97,

We are so happy that you have made the Water Wheel Inn your place to stay while you fish. We're sorry that you haven't been able to get breakfast in the morning. Next time you stay, mention what time you'll be leaving to go fishing. We try our best to accommodate all our guests and our morning staff would be more than happy to open up breakfast a little earlier for you. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
The Water Wheel Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stay at the Water Wheel when we come to Gunnison to visit our son who wrestles for Western State Colorado University. It's an older hotel, but the rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly and accomodating.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank sasseesal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WheelColorado, Staff at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Saseesal,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Water Wheel Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The reason I gave this place a 2 is because it is so absolutely quiet, and that's the only reason. The AC did not work and by the middle of the night, the room was a bit swampy. After showering the next morning, I noticed bites all over my stomach, neck, forehead and ears. BEDBUGS!! Try wearing a motorcycle helmet with bedbug bites on your head and neck. I dug the last bug out of my shirt 100 miles down the road. At that point, all my clothes had to be washed and put in a hot dryer to ensure I didn't bring these hitch hikers to our next destination. My partner contacted the owner and he admitted to knowing that one of the service people there had been severely chewed up a week before....and they did nothing. This "annual" stop has stopped, I don't care what they do to remedy the problem.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. Even a tent would be a better alternative.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WheelColorado, Staff at Water Wheel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Steve,

Thank you so much for bringing this problem to our attention. We are very sorry that you had such an unfortunate experience during your stay here. We assure you that we are taking this problem very seriously. As you know, bed bugs have been known to hitchhike into many different kinds of places: luxury hotels, theaters, restaurants, homes, and at last, here. The Water Wheel Inn has no previous history of bed bugs. We are vigorously taking actions to ensure their complete eradication in the affected areas. In addition, we are taking measures to prevent their reoccurrence. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
The Water Wheel Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gunnison hotels
4.1 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Gunnison
162 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Gunnison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison
1.0 mi away
Long Holiday Motel
Long Holiday Motel
#10 of 12 in Gunnison
92 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Alpine Inn
The Alpine Inn
#6 of 12 in Gunnison
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water Wheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Wheel Inn

Address: 37478 US Highway 50, PO Box 882, Gunnison, CO 81230-9743
Location: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Price Range: $84 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Water Wheel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Dos Rios Golf Course, the Water Wheel Inn is located just west of town on Highway 50. Make yourself at home in one of our 52 large rooms and enjoy our hot tubs after spending the day exploring the Gunnison Valley. Get your day off to a great start with our hearty breakfast that includes belgian waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit, pastries and biscuits and gravy. If you need to work during your stay, we offer free WiFi throughout the grounds and a business center in the lobby. Come and stay at the Water Wheel Inn and enjoy our peaceful surroundings, friendly staff, and the beautiful landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Water Wheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Wheel Hotel Gunnison
Water Wheel Gunnison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing