We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Service and Accomodations”
Review of Water Wheel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Water Wheel Inn
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
“Exceptional Service and Accomodations”
Reviewed April 7, 2008

12 members of the LRMC went on an ice fishing trip and were lucky enough to discover the Water Wheel Inn in Gunnison, Colorado. The Inn, owned and operated by Dr. Jim Valenzuela and abley assisted by Quincy Severson provided over the top service and the accomodations were large and clean.
All the staff were very helful and courteous. The Inn just west of Gunnison on a major highway was very conveniently located for fishing Blue Mesa Reservoir and downtown Gunnison.

Our group goes on a 4 to 6 day fishing trip every month of the year and therefore experience various levels of service and accomodations. In our opinion the Water Wheel Inn along with the management and staff rate at the top of the list. They provided a breakfast which was included in the price of the rooms, which were very reasonable, and went out of their way to make each of us feel welcome. We are making this an annual destination from now on. John Starke [--]

  • Liked — Large clean rooms with microwave and refrigerator
  • Disliked — no downside really
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JohnS1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    30
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
25
32
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2008

The friendliest place I have ever stayed. We came for a
ski/winter vaction to Crested Butte , Co.

The Water Wheel Inn in Gunnison is only 20 minutes away.
Their winter rates saved us 80% of what Crested Butte
accommodations would have charged.

I have stayed here both in summer and winter and plan
to stay again this summer. You won't find any friendlier
or more helpful staff anywhere. They even let me
go into one of their vacant rooms to watch a Football
bowl game so I could let my family watch what they
wanted in our room. (But, don't tell anybody.)

Thanks again Water Wheel. Hope to see you for
the Dos in August.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank nobogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2008

Great location for Skiing at Crested Butte with a beautiful 30 minute drive up the mountain to the resort. Excellent, huge, spotless rooms and a very friendly staff. Close to 2 excellent restaurants (Garlic Mikes and the Trough, which is next door. Good breakfast and free hot chocolate while the office is open. I can't believe the rates at this place. Truly an very enjoyable stay. I have found a new ski destination hotel in Colorado.

  • Liked — price and cleanliness
  • Disliked — N.A.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtnfifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
early,texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2007

We were so pleased with this find. The room was nice and big. Loved the sink in the bathroom and also outside the bathroom. This made getting ready so much easier. We stayed in a room overlooking the golf course. If you have time I also recommend you getting a massage while you are there. They do it in a room right off the main lobby. They were so friendly and I couldn't be more pleased.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank txblondie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2007

Surprised and very happy. Big, clean rooms and the hot tub was big & clean too. Staff was very nice. The only thing was that it was 2 miles west of town, but still a short & easy drive into town. There are two restaurants nearby though, if you do not prefer to eat in town.

  • Liked — Staff and the Hot Tub
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Calan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2006

I Loved the peaceful surroundings. The staff was very friendly and accomodating.

Jim Valenzuela (owner) was most gracious and makes sure everyone enjoys their visit.

The room were very comfortable, clean and roomy.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Gunnison area.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank D.Cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2006

As the last review stated, this motel is in a great location, with beautiful grounds. We too were looking onto the golf course and the room was quiet and very clean. Staff were helpful and friendly. The only disappointing thing was the breakfast. Nobody was restocking the empty trays, and other guests as well as ourselves had to ask several times for basic things such as milk, orange juice and bread to be brought out. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJM48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gunnison hotels
4.1 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Gunnison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Gunnison
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#3 of 12 in Gunnison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.0 mi away
Long Holiday Motel
Long Holiday Motel
#10 of 12 in Gunnison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water Wheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Wheel Inn

Property: Water Wheel Inn
Address: 37478 US Highway 50, PO Box 882, Gunnison, CO 81230-9743
Location: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Water Wheel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Dos Rios Golf Course, the Water Wheel Inn is located just west of town on Highway 50. Make yourself at home in one of our 52 large rooms and enjoy our hot tubs after spending the day exploring the Gunnison Valley. Get your day off to a great start with our hearty breakfast that includes belgian waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit, pastries and biscuits and gravy. If you need to work during your stay, we offer free WiFi throughout the grounds and a business center in the lobby. Come and stay at the Water Wheel Inn and enjoy our peaceful surroundings, friendly staff, and the beautiful landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Water Wheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Wheel Hotel Gunnison
Water Wheel Gunnison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing