We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK--needs updating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Water Wheel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Water Wheel Inn
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OK--needs updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

First, there is no water wheel at the Water Wheel Inn. There are a couple of "ponds" that seemed more like mosquito breeding grounds (although I didn't notice a great deal of mosquito activity). There was no wifi in the room. The balcony of the room had ratty, torn astro-turf and no chairs. Breakfast was too sweet Safeway muffins (still in their plastic containers) and make your own toast and coffee with powered creamer. OK unless you expect more. The room itself was clean and not remarkable but serviceable.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Silentnoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    30
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
25
32
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

A good old standby for Gunny. needs an update. The wifi signal was very weak!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antonitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Although this place sounds good on paper, we were dismayed with our stay. We drove to Gunnison, Colorado for an overnight to enjoy the Cattlemen's Days and didn't get to our room till early evening. Although they advertise 'free wii-fi' in every room there wasn't any in our room. When calling the office, we were told we'd have to come to the office as the signal wasn't strong enough to reach our room. The worst disappointment was the following morning when we looked forward to the 'hot breakfast with biscuits and gravy, belgium waffles, etc.'....which turned out to be cold donuts and coffee. We would not stay here again do to the false advertising!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

Loved the open fields by to take your dogs. Very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travlnjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milliken, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

We given a room titled the excutive suite. What we found was a room that would not even what a standard room would be at most motels. The carpet was dirty and torn. Toilet seat was loose and the bolts stripped. Furniture looked like it was picked up at a garage sale. I have stayed in many excutive suites and this one was not up to that standard. For the price we paid, we would have been better off at a chain motel. The one bright spot was how nice the front desk people were

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jma1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

This hotel was amazing. We stayed in the queen executive suite and it was like staying at home with family. Every day, there was chopped wood under our stairs and the hotel staff was knowledgeable and went beyond our expectations giving us advice and maps of everywhere we could possibly want to go. Even though it was Christmas, everyone treated us like we were their family and the owner, Jim, was a joy to speak with. Quincy, the manager was super friendly and even sent me the gift card I accidentally left behind. Kelly was wonderfully helpful and provided us with so much information for skiing and entertainment, by head was spinning with delight. This is the ONLY place I would stay in Gunnison. It is affordable and by far, the best place I've ever been!

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sunshinesimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

Friendly staff and excellent value. Room was clean and spacious. Great parking outside room with nice grounds around motel. Golf course fairways right behind property. Walk next door to good restaurant. Continential breakfast starts early in the comfortable lobby. We will return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OurView09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gunnison hotels
4.1 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 12 in Gunnison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Gunnison
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#3 of 12 in Gunnison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Alpine Inn
The Alpine Inn
#6 of 12 in Gunnison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water Wheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water Wheel Inn

Property: Water Wheel Inn
Address: 37478 US Highway 50, PO Box 882, Gunnison, CO 81230-9743
Location: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Dos Rios Golf Course, the Water Wheel Inn is located just west of town on Highway 50. Make yourself at home in one of our 52 large rooms and enjoy our hot tubs after spending the day exploring the Gunnison Valley. Get your day off to a great start with our hearty breakfast that includes belgian waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit, pastries and biscuits and gravy. If you need to work during your stay, we offer free WiFi throughout the grounds and a business center in the lobby. Come and stay at the Water Wheel Inn and enjoy our peaceful surroundings, friendly staff, and the beautiful landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Water Wheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Wheel Hotel Gunnison
Water Wheel Gunnison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing