We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Long Holiday Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Long Holiday Motel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Other reviews nailed it. Friendly , easy to find, very clean and warm hospitality. And if you are so inclined, you can walk to the river and fish. Super value and very comfortable place. Proprietor is also very accommodating.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 94 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

I loved the place. So clean, and the owners so friendy. Nice things you don't find in an average motel - very nice sheets and towels, cute decorations, nice chairs outside, beautiful flowers on the porch. However some glaring defects that can't be ignored no matter how nice the above: the plumbing and walls are thin so you hear all the adjoining flushes/ showers all night and the neighbors' TVs blaring. Plus no hair dryer in the room (who packs them anymore?). But I did like the place a lot. Really want to give 5 stars. I guess those are the things you give up for the great price.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sharibari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed at this motel in 2011 and this year 2012 as well. The rooms are always very clean and the staff is very friendly. For those of you that are fisherman/woman the motel is right across the street from excellent fishing spot on the river. The motel is very dog friendly for those who like to travel with them. Some of the amenities that your chains have are missing, but the value exceeds the inconvenience to keep this motel up to it's high standards. Quaint and homey feeling to say the least and I would highly recommend this motel to anyone stay in the Gunnison area.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pokieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This motel has been nicely redone. I loved the colors of the room and bathroom. However the bed was very uncomfortable and the AC very loud. Also the towels were not white but a lovely shade of avocado which though nice to look at, the face wash I use has peroxide in it and I'm afraid there was some bleaching of the hand towel. The owner is great and super cheerful and provides cookies and coffee in the office starting at 6am! Super clean motel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyclingduo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed one night here on our way to Cortez, Colorado. We had ample time on this return visit to the delightful mountain town of Gunnison, so after a brief tour of the area, we returned to our room with food and wine, taking advantage of the chairs outside our room and splendid weather to enjoy the view of the Hartman Rocks Recreation Area. The Gunnison River flows beautifully just 20 yards or so away (though not visible from the motel), and a bike/hike trail passes in front of the motel, following the river and heading toward Hartman Rocks. One could bicycle from the motel to Hartman Rocks, which is a gorgeous area. (http://www.blm.gov/co/st/en/fo/gfo/recreation_information/hike-info/hike-trails/hartman.html) The other reviewers here accurately describe this motel. Nothing fancy here, but If you're looking for value and clean, basic comfort, the Long Holiday Motel will serve you well.

Room Tip: We selected a two-bed room and found it to be comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1frontranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had selected this little motel due to very good reviews on TripAdvisor. We arrived in this town much earlier than anticipated, but the delightful owner said, no problem. She was just wonderful and takes such pride in her motel. We had an end room with two beds. There is also a little bar with two stools. All of this and the headboards were handcarved. No white sheets here. Wonderful new sage colored sheets and seemingly new towels. The place was exceptionally clean and the price was much less than other nearby places. Our schedule got changed a little, and we could only stay one night. We picked up some picnic food and drove about 15 minutes away to the Blue Mesa lake and picnicked. If ever through this area again, I most definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunalei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

When traveling through small towns in the U.S. I will try when possible to seek out small roadside motels to stay, I suppose it's the thoughts of time past that draws me. That, and the fact I would love to own one myself at a point in my life. I passed on the generic chains and after reading other Tripadvisor reviews settled on the Long Holiday Motel. I was perfectly pleased!! Our host and owner was amazing and friendly and you can tell she has great pride in the Motel she has lovingly restored. From the historic sign to very clean and well appointed rooms.

Comfortable beds, newly updated bathrooms where all functions perfectly as you would expect. In fact, so clean these rooms are better maintained than most modern U.S. chains.

Please stay, relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank teek4100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gunnison hotels
3.1 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Gunnison
167 reviews
1 mi away
Water Wheel Inn
Water Wheel Inn
#11 of 12 in Gunnison
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Gunnison
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison
0.5 mi away
The Alpine Inn
The Alpine Inn
#6 of 12 in Gunnison
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Holiday Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Holiday Motel

Address: 1198 W US Highway 50, Gunnison, CO 81230
Location: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Gunnison
Price Range: $66 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Long Holiday Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home and relax at our Inn with a personal touch and created with your comfort in mind. Affordable and newly remodeled rooms with brand new beds, showers and AC. Each room is beautifully appointed and includes refrigerators, microwaves, Cable-TV, and phones. Sweet table and fresh coffee is always waiting for you in the morning... Come visit us and enjoy the scenery! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Long Holiday Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Holiday Hotel Gunnison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing