We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW~ What a collection!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gunnison Pioneer Museum

Gunnison Pioneer Museum
Ranked #7 of 39 things to do in Gunnison
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Parker, CO
Level Contributor
467 reviews
205 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“WOW~ What a collection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I spent an unexpected 2 hours here....having just stopped to stretch my legs from a long drive. There are several buildings that have been moved here along with a steam train, a WWII tank, and various historical articles. You can visit all of the buildings or just the ones that interest you.

They have obviously collected articles from all over the area and documented them with local information. I was REALLY impressed with the WWII displays.... didn't even get into the huge building with the old cars..........

Well worth a visit!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTvlerParker_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    14
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwood, NJ
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Very Fine Collection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This museum has several buildings with an extensive collection of everything imaginable from the 1800's on. Although the focus was (as expected) on the Gunnison area, the memorabilia, arifacts, clothing, tools,etc. represent a point in time that anyone from anywhere can relate to, particularly baby boomers and on, who used and/or are familiar with the items. The automobile collection was impressive and more than one would expect for a local museum. The archive of old newspapers in binders was extensive and well organized. One could pull one of them out that represents a particular point in time, or sit for hours and hours perusing over the material. One young man was researching his family history, and making progress. The volunteers in charge were courteous and presented visitors with a guidebook, although the exhibits were well marked.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LyndaNorwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
158 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This museum was better than we expected. Unfortunately, we thought it would be lame, so we didn't go until 1 hour before it closed. There is so much to see we could have easily spent 2-3 hours here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mogulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Museum and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We took the kids and went to this museum and loved it. The staff as so friendly and this place is amazing with I believe 21 buildings on the property to look through including a small church and school house. It was such a wonderful place to go well worth it if your in Gunnison.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

This place is well worth the time and small admission fee. Amazing diverse collection of large and small items. Amazing museum that is in the middle of Colorado. A real gem. We wish we could have spent more time there. This is not a tourist rap money maker but rather some great folks who are committed to preserving the areas' history.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank none141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gunnison Pioneer Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gunnison Pioneer Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing