We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great museum”

Gunnison Pioneer Museum
Ranked #9 of 40 things to do in Gunnison
Attraction details
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
163 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great museum”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This museum was better than we expected. Unfortunately, we thought it would be lame, so we didn't go until 1 hour before it closed. There is so much to see we could have easily spent 2-3 hours here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mogulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    15
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Museum and Staff”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We took the kids and went to this museum and loved it. The staff as so friendly and this place is amazing with I believe 21 buildings on the property to look through including a small church and school house. It was such a wonderful place to go well worth it if your in Gunnison.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!!!!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This place is well worth the time and small admission fee. Amazing diverse collection of large and small items. Amazing museum that is in the middle of Colorado. A real gem. We wish we could have spent more time there. This is not a tourist rap money maker but rather some great folks who are committed to preserving the areas' history.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank none141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, CO
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You won't believe what's behind the train.”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have lived in Gunnison for the last 7 years and just now got around to visiting the Pioneer Museum, and I have to say WOW! The amount of Colorado history, mixed with true-grit American history is amazing. I could have spent twice as much time and still not been able to enjoy it all. The arrowhead collection is massive and the old western gun display would make even the Pawn Star crew go crazy. I would say if you go through Gunnison on a vacation and miss visiting the Pioneer Museum, you may have missed the best part of your vacation!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank GunnyWhitewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captiva Island, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Amazing Museum!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We lived in the area for many years, before finally visiting the museum. Since then, we have taken many of our visitors. They have an amazing collection of so many things. Our favorite is the arrowhead and Indian artifacts in the main building. Plan to spend a couple of hours browsing through the many separate buildings.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Grayjay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gunnison Pioneer Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gunnison Pioneer Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing