We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Fast Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Cafe

W Cafe
Ranked #7 of 50 Restaurants in Gunnison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durant, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Fast Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

I had breakfast here 3 days in a row while on vacation. The service was always fast even though the place was packed every morning. Very good eating at a fair price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    59
    22
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“pancakes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stopped in Gunnison for Breakfast at the W Cafe because my husband remembered it from many years ago when he spent a year skiing Crested Butte. He said it was a family style breakfast and he was right. However, he failed to mention that the portion sizes were huge and the food was very good. We don't eat breakfast out often but he loves good, crispy hash browns and I love a good biscuit. Well the egg dishes and omelettes come with both (though you could choose home fries or toast or much more.) We both loved our choices but were surprised to find that the one banana pancake that we got to share was the highlight of our meal. Light and naturally sweet with the bananas, you didn't really need syrup. The pancake was the size of a dinner plate. All in all, a great breakfast and we would go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jpeg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
“Great in Gunnison”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Great breakfast in a cafe that's been in business according to the sign on the window since 1949. After having breakfast here on a recent Sunday I can understand why you can expect to wait 20-40 minutes on any given morning unless you arrive early(worth the wait). Breakfast is excellent here and served all the time during business hours. The pancakes are just what you would expect flavorful and fluffly. Skillet dishes are hearty and flavorful making a great start to the day for whatever you have in store unless you're planning to lie around all day and then there's probably way to many calories in anything you will get for breakfast here. I would have tried one of their cinnamon rolls but they were all out which may attest to how good they are (maybe next time). The coffee isn't anything special, just about what you would expect in a typical diner in 1949, but it's not bad either. Service was excellent. If you're looking for a great breakfast in the Gunnison area you will do no better than the W Cafe.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Disappointing - we expected better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

The roast beef on my wife's sandwich was so tough she had trouble cutting it and trouble chewing it. The side of fruit I paid extra for had the toughest kiwi I've ever encountered as well as some tough honeydew melon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoefromOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“GOOD”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

It was a cute older restaurant, had a good (down home type)menu to choose from and good service. Food was good but not fantastic. It got good reviews so we tried it. Would probably go again on our next trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bndchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing