We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of W Cafe

W Cafe
Ranked #5 of 50 Restaurants in Gunnison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

My husband and I went through Gunnison yesterday (05.21.14) and stopped at the W Cafe for lunch. What an incredible find. Friendly staff, cute place, reasonable prices, and best of all, great food. My husband had the BLT and I had the Reuben. Both were huge and very good. After I ordered I looked around and another table was having breakfast (served all day) and everything looked wonderful, made me wish I'd ordered a waffle. However, my sandwich was so good, I soon forgot the breakfast offerings. If you find yourself in the very cute town of Gunnison, CO, and you're hungry, visit the W Cafe. Only open for breakfast and lunch. Nice, clean bathroom too. :D

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    59
    22
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
322 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Happy Mother's Day breakfast”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This place is awesome! Reasonable prices, good food and friendly staff. We went there for breakfast on Mother's Day and it was pretty crowded but Gunnison is limited in it's breakfast places and this one is really good so we waited. The estimate of time was right on and they got us seated within 15 minutes even though we had asked for a table for 7 people. They have the most awesome biscuits and gravy! If you don't have a huge appetite I suggest just ordering one biscuit because the order with 2 fills the whole plate! Their French Toast is to die for, the skillets are huge and filled to the top and their breakfast burritos are enormous! The service was spot on even though they were extremely busy and we didn't have to wait long for our food. Awesome, awesome breakfast and a great way to start off Mother's Day!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyldecamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The huevos rancheros are the best!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I have to say I'm very partial to the small diner but this one has great food fast. I Love the eggs benedict and they serve the best huevos rancheros are the best I have ever had. This is a terrific small town restaurant serving great food fast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank THETRUTH1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Huevos rancheros!!!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Anyone can slap some sauce on a couple of egg-topped tortillas and call them "huevos rancheros". Many try, few succeed. The W Cafe if one of the few that succeed. I'll be going back the next time I'm passing through Gunni. Service was quick and friendly and the price seemed right.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bogateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

I've never had a bad meal at the W, neve had a great one either but maybe i have high expectations for diners. It is the only diner in town and that's why the locals eat there, including myself sometimes, because it's the only option! Portions do not even compare to the Denver diner or other diners I've been to! For the quality and size of the meals I would say if prices were a dollar or two less it would be a better place/deal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alimanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed W Cafe also viewed

 

Been to W Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing