We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waunita is a wonderful place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gunnison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waunita Hot Springs Ranch
Reviewed August 25, 2008

During the summer, I believe Waunita is more of a place where you stay for the week and participate in various "dude ranch" activities like horseback riding, etc. We, however, were looking for a B&B/Hot Springs and were able to secure a reservation for one night. It was a wonderful stay - everyone who worked at Waunita was so friendly and hospitable. We got to use their hot springs (a pool and jacuzzi), watch some live music performed by the owners, got our own room with private shower, and were given a little gift basket filled with baked goods, toiletries, chocolates, etc. upon our arrival. Even though we weren't one of their guests who were staying for the week, we were still given excellent service and were welcomed as if we were part of the Waunita family. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny_the_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 110 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2007

We are a family of four, and we return from a wonderfull week at the Waunita Ranch. We are French, and it was our first trip in a ranch, and none of us had ever rode a horse.
The Pringles family has welcomed us in such a way, that we were happy to try everything: horse riding, rafting, square dance, eating smores, breakfast in camp out, driving on rough roads, and so on....

The family atmosphere was unique, and we appreciated everything. The country is beautifull, and even if it is remote and not fancy, the ranch is genuine, and the people are great to listen to. We have met very nice people other there.

I highly recommend this place.




  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank clarisse18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2005

We have stayed at Waunita Hot Springs Ranch three times. Each visit was great. We are planning another visit in 2007. Waunita is located at 8946 feet elevation in the Colorado Rockies and app. 22 miles from Gunnison, Colorado. The ranch is family owned and operated by the Pringle family (since 1962). The ranch has an outstanding staff each season.

The ranch experience includes lodging, all meals and snacks, and all activities and adventures for one all-inclusive price. Activities include: horseback riding each day with your own assigned horse, overnight camp trip (gotta do it on your first trip here), high country ride to app. 12000 feet elevation, breakfast ride, whitewater rafting on the Taylor River, 4x4 high country trip to the Alpine Tunnel (Do this trip), cattle penning contest, square dancing and musical show, fishing and much more! The scenery is outstanding.

Most ranch guests are repeats and referrals. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2000
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Elkhart, IN
13
Reviewed April 12, 2004

For couples, families of all ages, friends, this is the vacation to take. You are completely provided for 24 hours a day. The people, the housing, the food, and the activities are all top notch. (We call it a cruise on land -- show up and let someone else take care of everything else.)

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fairhope, Alabama
12
Reviewed December 11, 2003

We have visited Waunita Hot Springs ranch each year for the past four years and will continue to do so for as long as we are able. They made us feel like part of their family.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
19
Reviewed August 25, 2003

I've visited Waunita Hot Springs Ranch 3 times and can not wait to get back again. Great Family vacation for all ages. Wonderful accomodations, food and activities, especially if you like horseback riding, swimming and white water rafting. The rides go to some of the most beautiful country I've seen. The owners and staff are wonderful people who want to make your stay the best week of your life. The ranch has a extremely high percentage of repeating guest.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gunnison hotels
20.9 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
23 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Gunnison
167 reviews
22.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 12 in Gunnison
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
The Alpine Inn
The Alpine Inn
#6 of 12 in Gunnison
191 reviews
22.6 mi away
Quality Inn Gunnison
Quality Inn Gunnison
#9 of 12 in Gunnison
196 reviews
22.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waunita Hot Springs Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waunita Hot Springs Ranch

Address: 8007 County Road 887, Gunnison, CO 81230-9524
Location: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Gunnison
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Waunita Hot Springs Ranch Hotel Gunnison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing