We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Town”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gunnison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Acres Resort Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Gunnison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2014

If you like open space around your motel with a full kitchen and a great rustic feel this is the place. My family has been coming to Gunnison every year for over 15 yeas and this is the only place we stay. We have a boat that is easy to park next to the unit, you can grab a grill and use the outside yards to build a fire or BBQ. It's like being at a cabin near the Gunnison River with more to do than you'll have time for. The owner Pam is wonderful and this is truly a comfortable and relaxing place to hang out while planning your next activity. A big plus is that dogs are welcome and most units are large so you have space for everyone.

Room Tip: Any room with a kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMI1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 71 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a classic 1950's style motel with fantastic rates. We spent the night in a large room with two queen beds and a fully equipped kitchen with a chrome formica dinette. The beds were comfortable with nice linens. Bathroom is period with plenty of hot water and the towels are big and soft. Simple and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have had the pleasure of 2 extended stays (7-10) days here at the Island Acres since June of this year. Pam, the owner/proprietor is the best at keeping her Inn above the board!! Her dedication and hard work are evident in every aspect of Island Acres, she will accommodate your every need..., blow dryer, more hangers, uh oh, left my key elsewhere at 9:30 p.m....no problem, Pam met me in her fluffy bathrobe & scruffy's with a smile on her face !!! It is a bit of a throwback to the 50's in décor, a bit rustic & charming as well & I love it. The main office brings back many childhood memories in the way it is decorated, & the games being offered. The kitchens in the units are well stocked, full size fridge, I could make a meal or just have morning tea. The sun rises,& the day begins after a well rested sleep on comfy beds & pillows, what a treat !!. New toweling & rooms cleaned daily, it is a welcome haven after long days of visiting & exploration. I have stayed in three different rooms/cottages & loved them all. My grand dogger stayed a few nights this past trip, what wonderful walks we had under the spectacular Colorado evening stars, & the guests are respectful of cleaning the dooty left behind. Any season is a wonderful stay, love the Fall bon fires each nite & all the Summertime fun... SOOOOOOOOOOOO much better than any chain hotel....Love you Pam & the great service you provide to travellers, will see you again, Happy Thanksgiving to you & yours. Don't care how TripAdvisor ranks you...You are absolutely # 1 for accommodation's & customer care in the Gunnison Valley of Colorado!!!
Sincerely,
Judy Kelly & Family

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustGrammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwilly_58, Owner at Island Acres Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Judy,

Thank you for your kind words. It tickles us that you think we should be #1 on Tripadvisor. You will be happy to know that they did give us an award of excellence!

Thank you for your repeat stays. We always love to see returning guests!

Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in August, and it was a delight. We were so happy to find someplace with a kitchen for such a reasonable price!

We had a room with a king-sized bed and a kitchen. It was small, but happy. The "small" factor is probably the only one that would bother some people - the bathroom was small, the shower was small, the closet was the most adorable closet I've ever seen (read: small) - but it didn't bother us at all. Everything was super clean.

We were there in the middle of the week, so things were extra quiet, which suited us just fine. Gunnison ended up being an excellent jumping-off point - we were able to spend a day at Black Canyon of the Gunnison, and another exploring the Alpine Loop around Lake City. My husband loved being so close to Hartman Rocks, as well - he mountain biked there every morning.

The website for this hotel was easy to use and includes a map so you can see pretty much exactly where your room is going to be. This motel had all the charm of the old-time roadside motels with all the modern amenities.

Definitely recommend this as a place to stay - we hope to stay here again next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PenguinCoffeeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have stayed at Island Acres twice so far and love it! They have the most comfortable beds of any motel/hotel I have ever stayed in! The rooms are clean, spacious, & comfortable. An amazing value, too. We will definitely always choose Island Acres when we are in the area!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spantl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is an AWESOME place to stay. Very quiet. Always a clean room to return to every night. Very Comfortable bed. And in the early morning you might get to see a family of Deer running through the property. I enjoyed watching Pam & Tim and some of the other guest sit around the fire pit, Enjoying the cool evening and enjoying all the stars. I must say we will be back. Thanks again for a GREAT stay..♥

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Island Acres Motel is probably the best experience I have had. The place was clean, comfortable and the beds and pillows were wonderful. Pam will get you anything you need. In our case we really didn't need anything. Just help with our WiFi. Fully equiped with dishes, pot and pans, flat ware, you name it. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All one level. The units on the east side are more shady.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwilly_58, Owner at Island Acres Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We are so happy that Island Acres worked out well for you. And please do come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gunnison hotels
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 12 in Gunnison
168 reviews
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 12 in Gunnison
96 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gunnison
Quality Inn Gunnison
#9 of 12 in Gunnison
196 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Alpine Inn
The Alpine Inn
#7 of 12 in Gunnison
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Acres Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Acres Resort Motel

Address: 38339 US Highway 50, Gunnison, CO 81230-8730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gunnison
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a stay at a 1950s throwback. Recently renovated, this 1954 tourist court motel offers vintage charm, large open parks and sunny porches. Picnic tables, grills and a firepit for a campfire are available. Check our online calendar for availability. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing