We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gunnison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Acres Resort Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Gunnison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Read the reviews and really expected to love this place. Our beds were very comfortable, but the room was not very clean. There was no microwave and no hangers. People were allowed to grill right by the rooms so the smoke came in the windows. The walls are very thin so we could hear every conversation and movement next door. Went to sit under the shade trees and most of the benches and tables were broken and in need of repair. Maybe a few years ago it was a nice place, but things are run down now.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank SJN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwilly_58, Owner at Island Acres Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

We have 17 units with kitchens, fourteen with full kitchens. It is true that in our three smallest units, which we advertise as kitchenettes, do have apartment-sized four burner stoves with ovens but do not have microwaves as there is limited counter space. We have made changes to our website to make that more clear.

We apologize that previous quests removed the hangers from your unit. We always keep a back stock of any such items in the front office and would of happily provided you with as many as you needed.

We have tried to encourage people to grill in the park instead of in front of their units. However, people find it more convenient to be close to their kitchens and own dining areas. People also enjoy the ‘front porch’ experience and engaging in conversations their neighbors. If others are close, especially if the windows are open, they will overhear these conversations. It sounds like you would have had a better experience had you had a different unit. Our website does provide a property map which shows the placement of the buildings on our 3.5 acres.

Our outdoor space is a feature that our guests find very enjoyable. We have 19 outdoor dining sets, approximately six picnic tables including one large group table, two wooden swings and hammocks, and three park benches by one of the fire pits. Our maintenance team regularly inspects and either repairs or replace any damage items.

In the last several years, we have replaced many items including all of the screen doors, mattresses, carpeting, bedding, linens, furnishings and curtains. We added many small features that our guests have requested to maximize the functionality of the units and to increase their comfort. We have also replaced many of the appliances and added microwaves to the larger kitchens. All of kitchens and kitchenettes had been entirely restocked with new dishes, pots and pans, wine glasses, etc.

We appreciate your feedback. As we are a small, family run business; our guests’ experience and comfort is our priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 71 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

I really do like this place! DOG FRIENDLY for those of you looking. Pam makes every effort to accommodate you.

Stayed 5 nights, fully enjoyed the entire time. COMFY BEDS!!!, nice bedding, kitchens, WONDERFUL TOWELS!!!

The only 'bad' thing, is I wish it weren't quite so expensive....but YES, I'd stay there again and again!!! Try it, especially if you have a dog!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwilly_58, Owner at Island Acres Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

We love the Bean as well!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Our efficiency unit was absolutely spotless, and this lovely little motel in a quiet location is cooled by large shade trees and breezes from the Gunnison River. It's so nice to be able to bring our dog along and have large grassy areas for "walkies", as well as being a five minute drive from espressos at The Bean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Spent one night at Island Acres and loved it. The owners are the friendliest couple around. Their motel has been decorated in a great retro style. The amenities were all you could ask for. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadCaptainRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This is a great lodging choice if you have children and pets. We had a unit with TWO SEPARATE BEDROOMS and a kitchenette for only $79.00! We have not found a better value than this anywhere we have travelled. The bedrooms were small but very adequate, beds were extremely comfortable with duvets and FOUR pillows on each bed!! The pet fee was only $5.00 for BOTH dogs. There is a nice outdoor patio setee for each room, and pleasant green space to enjoy morning coffee. If you are travelling with children and would like to find a place with some privacy that doesn't cost a fortune--this is definitely your best choice in Colorado!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sewaneeprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwilly_58, Owner at Island Acres Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful words. Island Acres continues to be a fun place for family, children and pets.Unfortunately, for our upcoming season, our pet rate must be adjusted due to some expensive pet repairs. For 2013, the pet fees will be $10 for one pet and $15 for two.

Thank you for your continued support of Island Acres.

Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We spent 8 days at Island Acres, and we are so glad we did. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The small kitchen had dishes and utensils too. It was the quietest most relaxing place we have ever stayed. The owners were very kind and helpful. I would recommend this motel to anyone, from families with small children to senior citizens.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShellyH45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

This is the 4th time that we have stayed at Island Acres and if we can we plan on always staying their when we head up to Gunnison (we live in Denver).
Great Location – Its just mile outside of town but what my Husband loves is that it’s right across Hwy 50 to the trail head of “Heart Man Rocks” (Mountain biking and 4 wheeling). What I love is that it’s just far enough outside of town that it’s super quite and peaceful. They only have 24 rooms but a great open space for camp fires, grilling or just letting the kids run around. Also if we want to head to Crested Butte it’s a very pretty 25 minute drive.
Clean rooms – I think that the place was built around the 50s and it reminds me of what you would have seen in an old movie but they have done a great job of updating while keeping the cute 50s charm. The rooms have always been very clean and well kept and the beds are nice and comfy.
Local owners- I like the idea that this a Mom and Pop place and not a big chain. Every time we have been the owners (normally running the front desk) have been super nice. They have grills they let you use, have given great recommendation on where to eat, what to do and where to go. One time when we were up in late fall the owner clued me in on the Big Sales that were going on at the local shops – now that’s service!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Summer tend to book up fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindseyjws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwilly_58, Owner at Island Acres Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

We have just recently signed up with Tripadvisory so we apologize for the delay in thanking you for your wonderful comments. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stays with us. And no doubt, you are happy with all the new trails at Hartman's!

Thank you for your continued support of Island Acres.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gunnison hotels
3.3 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
1.7 mi away
The Western Motel
The Western Motel
#2 of 5 in Gunnison
102 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Gunnison
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 12 in Gunnison
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Alpine Inn
The Alpine Inn
#6 of 12 in Gunnison
191 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gunnison
Quality Inn Gunnison
#9 of 12 in Gunnison
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Acres Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Acres Resort Motel

Address: 38339 US Highway 50, Gunnison, CO 81230-8730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gunnison
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a stay at a 1950s throwback. Recently renovated, this 1954 tourist court motel offers vintage charm, large open parks and sunny porches. Picnic tables, grills and a firepit for a campfire are available. Check our online calendar for availability. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing