We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what we needed”
Review of The Gunnisack

The Gunnisack
Ranked #5 of 57 Restaurants in Gunnison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Gunnisack Cowboy Bistro Restaurant and Bar features an original "from-scratch" approach including;Angus Beef Burgers ground fresh in-house and served on house-baked sesame buns, soups, sauces, chili's and dressings all made from scratch. The menu is changed twice yearly and features, Apppetizers, Pastas, Steaks (served sizzling) entree salads like our "Grilled Sockeye Salmon Salad", pot pie, fish & chips, grilled ahi tuna, a full "samich" section featuring our "Southwest Foccacia Club" ,tortilla wraps, vegetarian menu, kids menu, desserts highlighted by our "Gunnisack Cookie" and Bananas Foster en crute. Winner of numerous people's choice awards including "2009 Business of the Year". 2011 "best Restaurant" best chickebn fried steak" & "best place for wings" Serving lunch & dinner Monday through Saturday. Closed Sundays. mc/vis/dis/amex. Reservations accepted. Check us out on facebook!
Reviewed August 14, 2018

we are in retreat in high country, serene, quiet, able to concentrate on home-stretch for our writing project ... we reached a threshold & drove an hour to nearest town to celebrate--asked about best burgers & Gunnisack was recommended: Our informant was right! AND it was burger day! Friendliest server --thanks Isabelle!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank centaur41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 418 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2018

The manager was very visible and she was greeting and seating people, taking orders, etc. Very hands on, and good staff rapport. We sat at the bar and ordered salads..my husband got the chicken taco salad which he said was delicious. It was a pretty large salad. I ordered the BBQ summer salad, and it had a great dressing. It had watermelon in it, jicama, and watermelon radishes, just to name a few of the different things they used to make it the most interesting and delicious salad I've ever had!
They do take credit cards.
They have a pretty large menu, and were very busy while we were there during lunch. Definitely would recommend this restaurant!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roadtrips_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

It was crowded on the weekend for dinner but still seated very quickly. Good food for a good price and friendly service.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank bonnietoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

The wait staff was very friendly and the food very good. I recommend it for a quick diner type lunch.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Mwholli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

Under old and now relatively new management, this restaurant sometimes called "The Cowboy Bistro" on Main Street in Gunnison is a real delight, particularly after a long day of exploring and fly fishing the Lake Fork and the Gunnison. The chief Hostess/Greeter and all of the wait staff seemed to work together to assure patrons of an enjoyable dining experience. A diversified and reasonable priced menu with something for every taste including some original recipes. The staff encourages you to take your time ordering, eating and drinking (Margaritas are quite good). It's a good place to take the family. Three years ago this restaurant was a Godsend after breaking up an eight day hunting camp in a blizzard and traveling 23 miles on snow packed back roads to Gunnison. Hungry, cold, wet and tired we were welcomed. Try it out!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank malc70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gunnisack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing