We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice evening meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gunnisack

The Gunnisack
Ranked #4 of 50 Restaurants in Gunnison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Gunnisack Cowboy Bistro Restaurant and Bar features an original "from-scratch" approach including;Angus Beef Burgers ground fresh in-house and served on house-baked sesame buns, soups, sauces, chili's and dressings all made from scratch. The menu is changed twice yearly and features, Apppetizers, Pastas, Steaks (served sizzling) entree salads like our "Grilled Sockeye Salmon Salad", pot pie, fish & chips, grilled ahi tuna, a full "samich" section featuring our "Southwest Foccacia Club" ,tortilla wraps, vegetarian menu, kids menu, desserts highlighted by our "Gunnisack Cookie" and Bananas Foster en crute. Winner of numerous people's choice awards including "2009 Business of the Year". 2011 "best Restaurant" best chickebn fried steak" & "best place for wings" Serving lunch & dinner Monday through Saturday. Closed Sundays. mc/vis/dis/amex. Reservations accepted. Check us out on facebook!
Denton, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice evening meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Restaurant was recommended by the clerk at the Motel we stayed. Wife & myself, 60 plus yrs., and our 12 yr. old granddaughter had a very nice and relaxing meal. I had a hamburger & fries, the wife had a Mexican dish and I can't remember what the granddaughter had(which happens sometimes when you are over 60). I do remember that she did like her meal. The wife and granddaughter got desserts to take back to the motel. Both desserts were great according to them. The only dislike we had was that one of the desserts, which was the cookie, was half price on that particular night. The dislike was that the half price cookie was only half price when dinning in, not for carryout. I could understand that if people dropping in and just ordering the cookie and nothing else but I think since we had just ate three meals there that we should have been allowed to get a half price cookie to go. Even at the full price it was still a very good cookie. These cookies are not precooked. They are made and baked fresh when you order.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    110
    40
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“First class food ..... But ....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We went here after a morning rafting trip ... Didn't get in until around 2ish in the afternoon. Didn't get out until about 4ish. The food was excellent and the service was friendly .... but in my opinion it took too long for burgers and fries. So, if time is of the essence I would recommend you go elsewhere. If not - this is a great place to sit relax and eat very good food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I'll be skipping it next time...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I'll start by saying that we only went there after dinner at another place. We were drawn in by the peach bread pudding on the menu posted in the window. Since it was also half price cookie day, we were sold. We were directed to sit at the bar by the hostess and told that someone would take our order shortly, which turned into almost 10 mins. We were then told that the half price cookie was dine in only, so we opted out of that. The waitress left without putting in our order b/c she wasn't sure we still wanted the bread pudding so we sat there for another 5-10 mins until she confirmed why we were still sitting there taking up bar space. After looking at the receipt and seeing that we were charged extra for a take out order, I was totally annoyed, especially when I watched a guy at the bar eat an entire meal in the time we sat there waiting for our take out. The bread pudding...meh. Mushy and fairly flavorless, including the peaches and the sauce. So for $10, I got an average size, below average dessert and high blood pressure. I'll skip the whole experience next time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunshineDaydream73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nv
Level Contributor
145 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“I was a Bustling Scene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a small restaurant that was very busy on a Tuesday night. Maybe the fact that kids eat free on Tuesday brings in more, but the proprietor said they are always busy. The staff moved at high speed all the time we were there and they were all very friendly. We wanted a hamburger; their standard is half-pound and offer a quarter-pound at a reduced price or a full pound burger if you have the appetite of a ranch hand. They also give you the option of adding extras to the burgers at a small additional charge. The burgers we got were cooked just the way we ordered and were the right size for us. They also sell wine by the glass.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arniepalmerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, nice prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

If you want a decent (American) meal, with friendly service; this is the place in Gunnison to go to.
You can choose from a really extended card (so lot's of options). Something for everyones taste.
Not on the menu: cocktails... However; they DO have em, if you ask for it! (Margarita tasted good, was big, and at a great price).
Nuff said; enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GieSound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gunnisack also viewed

 

Been to The Gunnisack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing