We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taste of home!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casavana Cuban Cuisine

Casavana Cuban Cuisine
Ranked #25 of 165 Restaurants in Homestead
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Cuban, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taste of home!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I'm born and raised in Miami, now living in Washington DC. I visited Casavana on a recent trip back home and I will make it a must visit stop on my next trips! I had the Pork with mango sauce and boiled yuca with garlic sauce and every bite literally brought me back to my childhood. Being in DC area I do not ever see Cuban restaurants, so I might be biased, but Casavan atmosphere and variety offers something for everyone. The toasted and buttered Cuban Bread you get upon seating is worth the trip alone! The prices will keep you coming back over and over! Try it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank techprincesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    81
    31
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Food is quite expensive compared to other Cuban restaurants, and it isn't worth it for that price. The pan con bistec were dry, and the Cuban sandwiches were okay. Nothing out of the ordinary. Save money and go to Sergio's. Much better, I also thought it was overcrowded.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amaury Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Bad service!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

When you call for a pick up order, please check everything! The service outside window is horrible! They are rude if you tell them that the order is wrong, little things that make the restaurant look bad.,I order a big "cafe con leche" and they serve me half cup and the rest was all foam !!! My complete order was all wrong. The ladies that work outside window are horrible!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oceanssand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
196 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

We wanted good Cuban food. I really wanted a Cuban sandwich. The empanadas were good. Our cuban sandwiches were tasteless. There were ants on the wall by where our daughter was sitting. We told the waitress and they didn't seem to care very much. The place overall looked a bit dirty. Best thing was the fries. That's not saying much. Lost my appetite with the ants. I will never go back.

Helpful?
Thank GburgfoodieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad service; Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

There food is very good. Everything in the back of the house is done perfectly. The place is clean and modern. I have to say one thing. From the server to the to busser are super bad. They won't even bother to greet you. I found myself having to finish my order while the waiter was walking off because she didn't even bother to stand there and listen to me. If it weren't for the great food, I don't think I would ever return. Also, the waiters need to learn English!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chellyalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casavana Cuban Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Casavana Cuban Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing