We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed, try somewhere else.”

Marios Family Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 164 Restaurants in Homestead
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
abower83
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed, try somewhere else.”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

My family was open to trying some new im Cuban cuisine, and the food was ok. No knocks there. But from my husband I heard that the men's room was more disgusting than the cabo airport with poo paper on the floor, in the trash, no locking doors. I went in handicapped which wasn't as bad, but wouldn't get a clean stamp from me. And, don't take me the wrong way, but if your restaurant is in the US please have at least one staff person who can help translate for your guests. We could not communicate with our waitstaff which I believed made our server feel bad and us feel rather unwelcome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mahologirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    141
    43
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Locust Grove, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Casual Cuban Dinning”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

While visting South Florida I wanted to try some Cuban food. I did not have any preconseptation of the cuisine but what I found was very good food. Very casual atmosphere and wait staff happy to explain menu. I would make this a regular spot if I were a local.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wrong place”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Are you sure this isn't Mario's Latin Cafe? Please check the address. I think 'Marino's' does not exist. Mario's is EXCELLENT.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I cannot say enough about Mario's! We were forlornly stuck at the Ramada in, Florida City on the night of my husband's birthday. We had driven up from Key West and were enroute to Ft. Myers to visit my mother. It was a long drive so we stopped so that we could spend the next day visiting the Everglades. We asked about a 'good restaurant' at the Ramada and the girl fumbled around until she told us she ate at Mario's but maybe it wasn't fancy enough, it was Cuban, etc.. When she said, 'delicious', I replied that that's the kind of food we like! I eat only fish and vegetables but my husband ordered meat. The portions are huge, the yucca and fish are delicious! The service was not only adorable but efficient. When I told the waitress about the birthday and mentioned my husband liked chocolate cake, the deal was done. The owner and all the adorable staff came out singing, with the best chocolate cake I have had anywhere except maybe Paris. I wish Mario's was in Los Angeles. I'd eat there once a week.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“midnight snack bar”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

there were these things like churros with cheese or guava + cheese that were really good. the waitress was unusually nice compared to most of the people in homestead.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marios Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Marios Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing