We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little local place”

La Quebradita Taqueria
Ranked #28 of 165 Restaurants in Homestead
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great little local place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great chicken with mole. Lots of other genuine Mexican dishes. Simple atmosphere, lots of locals. Great place to stop for a memorable, cheap meal if you're passing through Homestead.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Montrealais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    28
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lots of Food but kind of average flavors...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

In an effort to avoid getting too close to Miami traffic on our way back up to Ft. Myers, we drove through the city of Homestead and espied this greazy little joint just calling to us like a group of drunken Mariachis. It looked like it used to be an old Arby's or Taco Bell from the 70s. We entered and no server...we stood, looked for someone (found out later the sign was behind us that read, Seat Yourself...). Finally, a woman came out and greeted us and instructed us to sit wherever we liked. We ordered sweet teas and some guacamole to start. The server disappeared and we reviewed the menu. The sign outdoors read, "authentic"...why are Mexican restaurants the only ones (usually) that have to say they are "authentic"...I mean, what does that mean? How the hell would anyone know whether it is authentic just because someone is saying it is? I've been to Mexico a number of times and with the new immigrants setting up shop in my city, a lot of this stuff, that people say is "authentic" is not...authentic but somewhere in between or in the case of some of the chains, not really Mexican but using Mexican-style as a base for their menus. At any rate, we received our chips and salsa and the guacamole and we placed our order. I ordered Enchiladas with chicken and my dining companinon ordered a combination plate of a taco, tostada, tamal, beans and rice. As we were waiting for our dinners we started eating the chips and salsa and quacamole. Some of the chips were stale and leathery, not cripsy. The salsa, had a nice rich tomato and spice flavor. The guacamole was not fresh. It was starting to turn gray and was average in flavor. Then, the dinners came out. Mine was 4 red enchiladas. The enchiladas were stuffed with cotija cheese. They were dry and the corn tortillas were leathery. The red sauce was reminescent of mole and delicious. The enchiladas were covered with crema fresca (like sour cream) and lettuce. That was a delicious touch and helped put some moisture into dry enchiladas. Using cotija cheese like this without any sauce inside is like making enchiladas with Parmesan cheese. It didn't melt well and it was gummy and dry. The good thing about this dish was that it was served with a nice tender, flavorful chicken thigh that had been cooked in the red sauce. The chicken was delicious. There was a side of potatoes cooked in the red sauce and they also were delicious. I ended up taking most of this back to our room and I ate it later as a snack. My dining companion said his combination plate was boring, some of it cold and soggy. We don't live here or anywhere near here, so we don't have to consider coming back here again. I would not recommend this place. It also seemed a bit unkempt. One other thing, the restrooms are outside and in the back of the building. No security. Unacceptable in my book and I don't care where the restaurant is.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teauteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Mexican restaurant - we would always come back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

We went for dinner with our two kids. Nice place with very friendly service. The food was very good but way too much!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Onno2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food and great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

after reading previous recommendations here for this small place we decided to venture... we were glad we did. This is place is unpretentious, affordable and authentic. We had a combo platter and chicken mole and both were excellent. We also had Jamaica (hibiscus) water to drink which was out of this world. Tortillas were great and even the rice and beans!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daytraders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMESTEAD
1 review
“fav place to eat in homestead”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2008

Been to all Mexican/Latin restaurants in homestead.
This place tops them all.
Best salsa, fajitas, buritos, authentic mexican dishes...
Pretty good churrasco steak.
All at the best price in town.
Food comes fast.
Even has a drive thru window (call 10 min in advance and order will be ready when you get there).

Helpful?
Thank HOMxEx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Quebradita Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to La Quebradita Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing