We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tastes like canned food”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of El Toro Taco

El Toro Taco
Ranked #68 of 165 Restaurants in Homestead
Price range: $12 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tastes like canned food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Just awful
Dirty
Canned food
Nothing to do with real Mexican
Go to taqueria Morelia instead
Nothing tastes fresh
Very greasy
Like Mexican day at your high school lunchroom

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sagamore123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    38
    24
    21
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Horrible Place, Service - STAY AWAY”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

This was a few months ago I had been meaning to write this and forgot all about it until yesterday that I drove by the place. We went looking for some Mexican food..... We had high hopes for this place. But our first impression , The waiter looked like dirty, he was wearing a sweaty shirt, shorts and a big gold chain around his neck. It is ok if its a family restaurant, but at least try to present yourself decently. They took our order and it took them a whole 20 minutes to figure out they did not have one of the dishes available. It took them around 45 minutes to get our food to us. The food was mediocre at best, it seemed like frozen microwaved food. Not to make the story long, in conclusion DO NOT come here unless you are a health inspector, in which case I am pretty sure you will find a lot of health code violations, because these people definitely do not know how to run or manage a restaurant. I have eaten at food trucks that had better food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DennisR35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
182 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food in good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

El Toro Taco is one of our favorite restaurants in the area of S. Florida. The food tastes fabulous. There is much choice. The Fiesta Platter is always popular. Many customers live in the area. It is always nnice to talk to the owner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Willem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do no go there!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Last saturday Me, my wife and some friends went to this place to try real mexican food. That same night we found out how a mexican bathroom looks like. We all got stomachache we could not hold liquid of foods. In spanish diarrea y vomito all night long. The 4 of us got sick after eating there. For your own help DO NO IT THERE.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonatan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Family Owned Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Over the years I've eaten at El Toro Taco numerous times. The owners always make you feel at home. The dishes are authentic and taste great. In the past they didn't have an alcohol license so you would have to bring your own beer and they would keep it cold for you. But no worries it's still a great spot to eat.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank captainrichsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Taco also viewed

 

Been to El Toro Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing