We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG NOOOOOOOOOOO”
Review of El Toro Taco

El Toro Taco
Ranked #46 of 164 Restaurants in Homestead
Price range: $12 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OMG NOOOOOOOOOOO”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This place was highly recommended by a friend. When I visited this place I cannot believe what I saw. As I sat down at a table I noticed a roach crawling up the wall and across the dinning room floor. Upon closer inspection I noticed the walls were caked with old dried food and the place was filthy. Then I discovered that I should have checked this place out before entering. Seems there are two reported deaths contributed to eating the food at this place as well as being closed down repeatedly for critical violations by the health department. Please don't waste your time or your money here. I had to shower and dissenfect everything upon leaving.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    39
    26
    21
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Closed last week by State Health Dept”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Last monday (july 9th) There was an orange sign on door, restaurant was closed. Violation list were discussing, rats, roaches, mice droppings!! People be careful where you eat. I can't believe the good reviews on this place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grassy Key, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Authentic Homemade Mexican”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were lucky to eat here on our last trip to Homestead.
The salsa is homemade from fresh ingredients and perfectly seasoned.
Our taco lunch was great with real, not canned, shredded beef. The food was hot, and nicely presented.
This is a family restaurant, a favorite with locals and the lucky visitors who chose to eat here.
Parking can be a bit of a problem, but the side streets surrounding the restaurant usually have spaces.
We will be back again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Relaxedtravels57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Over-hyped!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I have heard positive word of mouth reviews about this place for years and was excited to try it after our visit to coral castle. The food was average at best. The dining areas & bathroom were dirty. Service below average. BYOB must be the draw

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank odatopt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Keys
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Mexican made right. Family recipes and friendly service.”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was our second trip to Toro Taco and it was even better this time. Great service - tasty, distinctive dishes, freshly made chips and salsas. Our lunch was spectacular. Unique and authentic, Toro Taco stands out from the multitude of bland, basic, boring and just plain bad Mexican eateries. All this and reasonably priced! We will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MysteriousIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Toro Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing