We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great home cooking”
Review of The Whistle Stop - CLOSED

The Whistle Stop
Price range: $7 - $75
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Creative American Bistro with a International Twist, offering an exciting and eclectic Tapas Menu and formal dinner menu, with His new Bistro concept in a causal atmosphere, offering a new and fresh food at His New City Hall Bistro & Martini Bar, this also includes a new concept to casual dining the new addition to The new City Hall Bistro & Martini Bar, including a garden patio and Blue Cigar Lounge.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Decided to give this place a try after reading trip adviser we wear not disapponted good home cooking we both ordered chicken dishes both really tasty the owner took the trouble to show us a scrap book about what happened when huracan andrew went through town after we took an interest overall nice food nice people

2  Thank jbohun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteLynda, Guest Relations Manager at The Whistle Stop, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thanks is much for taking the time to write a review.
We are so happy that you loved your dining experience with us.
We love our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 128 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

After reading the great reviews on tripadivsor, we decided to see for ourselves. It really was an awesome experience ! The place is a family business and had a great atmosphere. The waitress was super friendly and helpful. We all got the steak as a main course and we absolutely loved it, for me one of the best i ever had.

If you ever pass by Homestead, make sure you make a stop!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SamL1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteLynda, Guest Relations Manager at The Whistle Stop, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

I'm thrilled that you came all the way from Belgium just to eat with us:) it was a pleasure to meet you. I am happy we exceeded your expectations! Thanks again for posting about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

After Reading all those great reviews, we decided to try for ourselves. Great food, extremely friendly waitress and low prices! We all took the steak, which was one of the best i ever had! If Homestead is On your way, make sure you make a stop !

1  Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteLynda, Guest Relations Manager at The Whistle Stop, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thanks for visiting us, since we are off the beaten path I'm glad you found us. We are so pleased that you were thrilled with everything, if you are in the area again please stop by. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Finally made it to this place for dinner, and I must say I was very pleased. It has everything you would expect form a small BnB. The service is friendly and professional with just a touch of informality (just enough to make you feel at home.) While we were there openly one dining area was open (next to the bar), and it was very comfortable, the tables were kinda close but it gave it a very homey feeling. If you are looking for a quaint dinning experience where you can chat with a local this is the place to go. will be back. Based on the size of the area I would not suggest bringing many children.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank steven r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteLynda, Guest Relations Manager at The Whistle Stop, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post, we a really appreciate your business and are thrilled that you are so pleased with your dining experience. We also have another dining room and children are always welcome:) thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Although my fiance and I no longer live in Homestead, we look forward to visiting the Whistle Stop Restaurant located at the corner of Flagler Avenue and Mowry Street inside the Hotel Redland. If you enjoy home- cooked meals, excellent service, a nice atmosphere, and great conversation, you'll love this place! My fiance and I have tried several of the entrees and have savored every bite. They have a full bar and a friendly staff. The owners are usually mingling and conversing with the customers. Just a great experience all around.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ToddLesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteLynda, Guest Relations Manager at The Whistle Stop, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

We are thrilled that you are a satisfied customer. Thank you for your business , we aim to please by providing the freshest and the tastiest food ever! Thanks again and see you soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whistle Stop also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing