We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb.....Homecooking!!”
Review of The Whistle Stop - CLOSED

The Whistle Stop
Price range: $7 - $75
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Creative American Bistro with a International Twist, offering an exciting and eclectic Tapas Menu and formal dinner menu, with His new Bistro concept in a causal atmosphere, offering a new and fresh food at His New City Hall Bistro & Martini Bar, this also includes a new concept to casual dining the new addition to The new City Hall Bistro & Martini Bar, including a garden patio and Blue Cigar Lounge.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

With the recommendations from TripAdvisor, we decided to try The Whistle Stop. What a GREAT choice. A little difficult to find, we were pleasantly surprised with the quaint "train stop" atmosphere of the dining room. Our meals were perfect....the wait staff polite....and even the owner took the time to stop at our table and chat with us. We'll be back!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RangeleyCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteLynda, Guest Relations Manager at The Whistle Stop, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

We re so pleased that you had a great experience at the Whistle Stop!
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience, we appreciate it so much,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for The Whistle Stop
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 128 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stopped on our way to Key West. The service was warm and friendly. Our lunch choices came out hot and fresh. Better than fast food. They have daily specials so your choices are different depending on the day.

Thank Cinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteLynda, Guest Relations Manager at The Whistle Stop, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

We re so pleased that you had a great experience at the Whistle Stop!
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience, we appreciate it so much,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful find for myself in my life. The Whistle Stop is a great place to have dinner if you're on your way to and from the Keys. Home style cooking to die for. Wonderful ambiance. Reasonably priced.

Thank 1kenjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteLynda, Guest Relations Manager at The Whistle Stop, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. We at the Whistle Stop are so thrilled that you enjoyed our homecooking! It's our pleasure to make you happy,
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Because of the high rating in Trip Advisor we went for dinner. We took the special, meatloaf and we thoroughly enjoyed it, It was not "Haute Cuisine", no frills, just a good meal and the taste was excellent. The service was fantastic.
They are closed on Mondays. We decides we'll come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Willem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteLynda, Guest Relations Manager at The Whistle Stop, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

We are so thrilled that you loved your meals with us. Thank you for coming and visiting us.
Thank you for taking the time to tell about your experience, please do come back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Good food, nothing fancy and nothing very special. My husband loved the chicken and dumplings. I had a fish dish that tasted good but one could not taste the fish. A good dish for non fish lovers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gwenmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteLynda, Guest Relations Manager at The Whistle Stop, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

I am pleased that your husband loved the chicken and dumplings and you thought the fish was good, i am both sorry and surprised that you weren't 100% satisfied. The fish you ordered was the friday fish fry so you don't taste the fish as much as if you had ordered the grilled fish with the mango salsa. I thank you for taking the time to post .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whistle Stop also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing