We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky and Pleasant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Redland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hotel Redland
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Homestead
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quirky and Pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed 2 nights over New Years and appreciated finding this reasonably priced hotel so close to the Everglades. The decor is definitely Great Aunt Gladys fabulous, clean and homey. Mark kindly allowed us to borrow 2 collapsible chairs we found for our day trip to Key West. Breakfast was a basic and satisfactory continental breakfast.

Our only two very nitpicky observations:
The wifi connection was intermittent at best at night when I imagine all the guests were online at the same time. We ended up just connecting our laptop to my phone for tethered internet when we wanted to watch a Netflix before bed.
The only thing we felt this hotel lacked that a chain hotel provides is a pay washer/dryer. There were several very close by but at the end of the day we didn't feel like spending the time at a laundromat. A small laundry room would be a great amenity.

Overall we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we were to return to the Everglades!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    34
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
20
90
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our room was comfortable but was not cleaned at all the first night. Even when it was cleaned it did not appear to have been vacuumed. We did not receive a bath mat the second night. The owner explained to us that the good mats were in the laundry so rather than give us a ratty mat the cleaner decided to give us no mat at all. The terrace looked adequate but was unusable because of the smell of cat urine.
Despite these issues, I would recommend the hotel for its location and the individuality that distinguishes it from the chain hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwenmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

This historic hotel has the funky charm you would expect from a "designated historical site" in Homestead FL. Family owned, our host was gracious in getting us to our room and settled in. We selected this hotel because is was close to the Everglades and, as it turned out, "Robert is Here", which has the best milk-shakes in the world, is just down the road.

No two rooms are alike and they are decorated with furniture and knick-knacks you would expect to see in your great-grandmother's house. We had a 2nd floor room with access to the terrace and a king bed. The bed was comfy but not "plush". We didn't use the terrace, there is no "view".


The breakfast is continental (fruit and pastries) with ample servings. If you're looking for the eggs, bacon and biscuits, you will be disappointed. The hotel restaurant is closed on Sunday evening so we were not able to sample that menu.

This hotel is "unique" and I would expect it to improve as the owners add more amenities. It's proximity to the Everglades as well as the historical designation, made it desirable for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TxTraveler832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Hotel Redlands in between a visit to Key Largo and Everglades National Park. The rooms are clean, moderately sized and comfortable. The hotel has lots of historic charm. Breakfast was simple (coffee, orange juice, toast, fruit and some cereal). For the price of the room and what they're trying to be this is a nice hotel that has much more charm than the big chains.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank billschicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

This charming family hotel is on a quiet street in Homestead. Rooms were pleasant and clean. The hotel is an excellent value and has a nice welcoming atmosphere. Highly recommended. Breakfast is included in the room price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gosnold10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Manager at The Hotel Redland, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Redland.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We delight in customer satisfaction. Please stay with us again if you get back this way.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Redland and it is a great base for visiting Everglades. We had a warm welcome on arrival and staff were friendly throughout.

Evening meal in Whistle Stop was fine and they had some decent beer (quite a rarity in the USA!)

Just a couple of points that could be improved on.....

- provide tea/coffee making facilities in the room
- get rid of the plastic cutlery and polystyrene cups used at breakfast - for the sake of a bit of washing up, it would give a MUCH better impression!

Overall, though, I would definitely recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MysteryMan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at The Hotel Redland, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with and for posting your review. I will definitely take your suggestions into consideration. We use all glass plates and bowls and only use styrofoam cups for the convenience of our patrons. I will definitely rethink this after reading your suggestion.
Thanks again and if you get back to the US please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked the hotel because of its proximity to the Everglades park entrance, on the strength of its many favourable reviews and interesting website and out of a desire to avoid chain hotels where possible. We had a warm welcome and were shown to our room - but the only thing said after that was as we left: "hope you had a nice stay...".
This is the only hotel we have ever stayed in where there is no facility to make a drink - maybe that's common in the US, but we missed it. We missed a hairdryer too.
We ate once in the restaurant, which was fine. However we'd have appreciated being told it would be closed on Sunday night. It was more than a little disconcerting to arrive back and find the place in total darkness - no bar, no restaurant, no staff (that we could see).
The continental breakfast (included) is, as other reviewers have commented, 'sparse': cereal, fruit, bread, cake accompanied by disposable cutlery and crockery.
Decor is always a matter of taste, but the room was nowhere near as nice as we expected from the website. However, it was clean and the shower room was fine. We paid extra for a room with a shared balcony - but that was a mistake - a flat roof overlooking the car park added nothing to the ambience.
Our criteria for selecting hotels have usually worked out well, but on this occasion we left feeling a bit deflated.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank imaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at The Hotel Redland, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review. We are sorry you were only somewhat satisfied. Someone is always on sight to meet all your needs and requests. The continental breakfast is done as a courtesy and is complimentary and not meant to be a full breakfast. We have a generous supply of fresh fruit, bagels and cream cheese, muffins, cakes, cereals and milk, and coffee and juice. Hair dryers are always available upon request.
We strive to exceed all customer expectations. Thank you kindly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homestead
1.0 mi away
Floridian Hotel
Floridian Hotel
#4 of 14 in Homestead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Miami Homestead
Courtyard Miami Homestead
#2 of 14 in Homestead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gateway to the Keys
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Florida City - Homestead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Redland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Redland

Property: The Hotel Redland
Address: 5 S Flagler Ave, Homestead, FL 33030-7328
Location: United States > Florida > Homestead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Homestead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Redland is an Historic hotel, built in 1904 it is the oldest building in The City of Homestead. We have 12 rooms 11 are located on the 2nd floor, the only hadicap room we have is located on the first floor. located inside the hotel on the first floor is a restaurant and bar called The Whistle Stop Restaurant. We are centraly located between The everglades National Park, The Florida Keys, and Biscayne National Park. This makes our place the perfect spot to stay as you explore South Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hotel Redland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redland Hotel Homestead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing