We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Historic Hotel Redland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Redland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hotel Redland
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Homestead
Sigourney, Iowa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel Redland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a great historic hotel with lots of history. So much better than chain hotels, the owner is happy to help and share stories of his hotel and the area. He suggested places to go to and eat. Very quiet neighborhood not far from the main road and the Everglades National Park and Coral Castle. Clean Room, Internet Access, Refrigerator,TV and patio. Terrific place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at The Hotel Redland, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm so thrilled you enjoyed your stay,
We aim to please and I hope you can come back and visit us again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    29
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
69
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rowhedge, Essex
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Booked this hotel based on TA reviews and it deserves it's high ranking. So much better than a chain hotel, more like an old fashioned homely B&B with an interested, on site owner who goes the extra mile. My husband was unwell upon our arrival and I was immediately offered assistance to unpack our car. Our room was clean and comfortable, the air con quiet. We ate in on our first night, the food was really 'home cooked' the chicken soup was so good my husband started to feel better soon after.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back overlooking the car park, they are probably quieter, although the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RowhedgeRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at The Hotel Redland, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
I'm so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us,
I happy you loved the food so much! we pride ourselves in good home cooking!!
I hope you will come back and visit us again!!
Our chicken soup is better than penicillin :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We found this lovely hotel on Trip Advisor and booked it based upon the great reviews we read and we are very glad that we did. We were met by the owner, Mark, who took us to our room and later spent time to explain the history of this fine old hotel. If you are looking for a "cookie cutter" motel then this place is not for you, The room was clean and comfortable with television, telephone and a small apt. size refridgerator much like a modern hotel but at the same time exuded character only found in a bed and breakfast or historic hotel from a by gone era. The location of the hotel in the historic downtown and proximity to the Everglades Park via back roads iwere added bonuses. If we are ever to revisit Homestead we will look no further than this pleasant establishment.

Room Tip: Room 201 at the rear with patio door to balcony is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveandMatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I just needed a quiet place to stay on my way to the keys. This place was perfect. It had a quaint feel like a bed and breakfast.
Clean and comfortable with a historic touch. The owner was very personable. This was just what I needed after staying in the big name hotels. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beagleb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We reserved this hotel after reading the reviews, and it is everything they say. Mark, the owner checked us in and then walked upstairs with us to our room to ensure we were acquainted with the AC, the door locks, the rear entrance and balcony, etc. and that everything was satisfactory.
That's a first for us and we do a lot of traveling. We've never had an owner, manager, or anyone go that much above and beyond.
It is a very comfortable, well decorated, quaint hotel built in 1904.
We had a light fare in the Bar/Dinning Room before retiring and afterwards Mark answered our questions about some of the local history. He is very knowledgeable and friendly. We are here for 2 nights, and I am sure we will be coming back. It would be nice to sit on the front porch and enjoy nice conversation.

Room Tip: We asked for one of the rooms with a balcony. Our room has a rear entrance out to the balcony, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phillywill1863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
168 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This historic hotel has a quaint feel and is in a quiet location. The room was well lit and had good AC and a fan over the bed. There was a large mini-fridge with freezer and a small table with two hard chairs. The common balcony was not appealing. We noticed little things that bothered us: no kleenex, no hand lotion, a stain on the sheets, no cups, no bath mat, a squeaky bathroom door that springs shut so that the bathroom gets very hot. The bed was fairly comfortable. The shower head was adequate and there was plenty of hot water. We had a good home-cooked dinner at the downstairs restaurant at a reasonable price, but we were disappointed in the key lime pie (not at all tart). There was a limited free continental breakfast of cold cereal, toast, and good fresh fruit.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 4 Joyful Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This stop was a pleasant change from the Holiday Inn type hotels possessing history and individuality with an excellent host and good restaurant and bar attached. Unfortunately our room was a little noisy from an air conditioning unit nearby and a hairdryer and kettle would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lloyd b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homestead
1.0 mi away
Floridian Hotel
Floridian Hotel
#3 of 17 in Homestead
3.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Miami Homestead
Courtyard Miami Homestead
#1 of 17 in Homestead
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
1.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Florida City - Homestead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Redland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Redland

Property: The Hotel Redland
Address: 5 S Flagler Ave, Homestead, FL 33030-7328
Location: United States > Florida > Homestead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Homestead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Redland is an Historic hotel, built in 1904 it is the oldest building in The City of Homestead. We have 12 rooms 11 are located on the 2nd floor, the only hadicap room we have is located on the first floor. located inside the hotel on the first floor is a restaurant and bar called The Whistle Stop Restaurant. We are centraly located between The everglades National Park, The Florida Keys, and Biscayne National Park. This makes our place the perfect spot to stay as you explore South Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel Redland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redland Hotel Homestead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing