We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Name, Same Great Southern Favorites”
Review of Bobbie Jo's Diner Inc - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bobbie Jo's Diner Inc
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“New Name, Same Great Southern Favorites”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This used to be Sam's Kitchen so if you remember that, you'll love Bobbie Jo's. Good comfort food, waitresses with attitude (in a good way), out of date atmosphere and that's just the way we love it. Stay away Robert Irvine! We come for breakfast, lunch and dinner and it's all tasty. Breafast favorites are the cheeseburger omelet and the skillet egg dishes. Good grits! Lunch sandwiches are good, love the tuna and there are plenty of side dishes to choose from like fries, slaw, corn, beans...all like grandma used to make. Again, nothing fancy, but grandma wasn't fancy. We love the corn bread, bet you will, too. Wash it all down with southern style fresh brewed iced tea. Yes, you can get unsweet as well. And the chocolate pie is a winner. Pray they have some left. Bring a date, bring the kids, bring grandma. It's casual, comfortable and you won't leave hungry.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank southmiamijill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Harmony
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Like cold food? Go to Bobbie Jo's”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Reviews were good for this place for some reason. I think it's because it's only non-Mexican food, staff and customers in town. Food was adequate, but barely warm. Breakfast too. When noted, waitress replied owner would not buy a warming light even though customers complain. Try the huevos rancheros somewhere else.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Down home.”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

This was the absolute best food I have ever had the chıcken and dumplings were just like gramma made.Then the tea in mason jars was great m waitress fran and all the girls here were so great I had a great time watching fran and nicole ttogether.The best thing was that it felt like home when I go back for christmas I look forward to eating here I have to tell this don't eat out elsewhere stop in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jd14540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Country Cooking in Homestead!”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We landed in Miami and on our way to the Keys took a detour drive through old Homestead. Then, we went looking for a place named "Sam's", but found it under the management of Bobbie Jo. Had a good country-fried steak and fried okra. Just your basic down-home cookin' local diner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckles2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Country Home atmosphere and wholesome Good food”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

When we drove down Krome Ave into the town of Homestead, FL we saw the big letters on a building with a high wall on the west side of the road just south of 14th street with a sign reading “Restaurant” and we saw a place with tinting and sun shades. The place looks closed. We decided to take a look and maybe check it out. Wow, we did not know such a warm and friendly family restaurant existed so close to home. Bobbie Jo’s Diner is big enough for large groups but small enough for a warm and friendly atmosphere. The tinting was on the windows to keep the morning glare of the sun off the eyes of the customers. While we were there a nice size group of VFW members were there celebrating a birthday of one of their members. There were plenty of seats available. The first item that really caught our attention is the coffee, it is very good, and we were served some right away. The service was excellent and they made us feel like we were part of their family. We were going out for breakfast and found everything we ordered was perfect. The menu says they “Breakfast Served All Day.” The options on the menu are enough that we took a while before ordering but the waitress was very friendly and not pushy. At Bobbie Jo’s they offer at least nine different omelets, hotcakes, waffles and list at least six different combinations of meat and eggs with one or two eggs. You will find something you like if you want breakfast, lunch, or dinner. The lunch menu looks great and even the dinner menu sounds appetizing but is really a country menu, we will go back soon to check out the other meals.
The eggs and omelet we ordered were just as we requested and the sides were made “just right”. One member of our groups, who is a senior citizen from northern Georgia, commented that the grits were made the way she grew up with and she loved them. The freshly made home fires and the homemade biscuits were as good as we have found anywhere. The service was special. We will be going to go back as often as we can. This place is a wonderful little country family restaurant and we actually discussed if we should keep it secret. It was not even listed in Trip advisor. We are hesitant about writing this review because we found it not crowded and a great review may bring in more customers. Is that good or bad? I hope you enjoy this wonderful country place with good food. We think it is definitely worth detouring off US1 to enjoy wholesome food and wonderful friendly service.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fisherman221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing